We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Hidden Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bar Acuda

Bar Acuda
5 Kuhio Hwy 5161, Hanalei, Kauai, HI 96714
808-826-7081
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 37 Restaurants in Hanalei
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

After our first night we decided to eat there 4 or our 7 nights and we were not disappointed.
Bar Acuda has a great fresh and inventive menu with very nice pairings of wine ,
One of my favorites was the Honeycomb appetizer !! Just Splendid !

I am a little late with the review we ate there the first week of January !

Make it your first dinner and sat at the bar or at the kitchen table

Watching them make the food is just as fun !!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

774 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    425
    221
    81
    28
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Tasty Tiny Tapas Make a Huge Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I've been told that "Less is More". My family is by no means overweight. In fact, my nine year old is extremely tall for her age (5'4") and has a size 5T waist. However, we like to eat - especially in a restaurant. Bar Acuda serves tapas or Spanish for appetizers. That's all besides the bar drinks. We ordered a lot of food and still left hungry. Each "course" was a tiny portion that definitely did not feed the recommended 4 people. It would not have satisfied a Munchkin from the Wizard of Oz or a Lilliputian from Gulliver's Travels and did not satisfy our family either. However, the types of tapas was extremely pleasing. The pork and polenta combination was fabulous as well as the Mesclun salad with goat cheese. Pass on the chorizo and apples though - I'm from Texas and we do chorizo right here. Afterwards, we watched our children lick clean the chocolate pots de creme while we drank espresso. After 14 different tapas and dessert and a few drinks, we came away empty in our bellies and our wallets. Be prepared to grab a burger on the way back to your hotel.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Why?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

Really not sure why this restaurant thinks they can charge so much for so little. The food was very good but oh so overpriced for the portion you got. You will leave hungry or you will spend $200 for two people (two drinks included).

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Really good fresh and inventive Tapas!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

We sat outside and enjoyed maybe 5 tapas (they suggest 4-6 for two) and then had to try 2 more!! Very creative flavor combos and influences....one of the best in Kauai for a casual and fun night out in Hanalei!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Not sure what all the hype is about”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

I guess there just aren't that many places to eat on the north shore of Kauai.

Bar Acuda's food is average to good.

The service is not awesome.

And, it's crazy expensive.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar Acuda also viewed

 

Been to Bar Acuda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bar Acuda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.