We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great drinks and nachos” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hanalei Gourmet

Hanalei Gourmet
5-5161 Kuhio Hwy #5, Hanalei, Kauai, HI 96714
808.826.2524
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 37 Restaurants in Hanalei
Price range: $12 - $20
Cuisines: American, Diner, Delicatessen, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great drinks and nachos”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Our first visit to this place, and we were quite happy with it. We grabbed seats at the bar and struck up a nice conversation with the bartender who, like us, hailed from Chicago. He whipped us up a nice batch of mai tais, which we found to be our favorite on the island after much strenuous research, and put in an order of nachos for us. They had football on, as it was a Sunday around 2 pm. Unfortunately we missed the fish tacos (which were served after 6), but the nachos were pretty tasty, and it wasn't too busy. Good experience, and we will go back next time we're on Kauai.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    229
    90
    27
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Eclectic atmosphere and great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Cozy, busy restaurant with really good food. Unique menu items that are fairly priced. Efficient servers.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parabiago, Italia
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Nice location and food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We went to Hanalei gourmet restaurant for lunch. It was not planned, we just happened to be in Hanalei at lunchtime and picked this nice, unpretentious place. You can dine either inside, or outside, in their nice patio.
They have an American menu with salads, burgers, sandwiches and main courses, adding a Hawaiian twist with fresh island fish and tropical fruit.
My husband had the nachos and I had a veggie burger. The nachos were huge and tasty. Mu veggie burger was very good, although the French fries were average. The service was excellent, our waiter was always coming and asking if we liked everything and if she could help us somehow.
Summing up, the quality is good but not excellent; however, they do apply good prices for what they offer.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Try the specials!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from lunch and thoroughly enjoyed both the food and the atmosphere. We tried the. Fish and chips special and the daily fish sandwich. Both were opa, one grilled, one fried - both delicious! Today's appetizer special was a stuffed portabella - crab, feta, spinach and onion - wonderful and a bargain. Kind of a sports bar atmosphere as we got to see the end of a football game while waiting. We hope to return.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Didn't live up to expectations”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

This was another place that Lonely Planet recommends but didn't meet our expectations. Unusual for Kawaii we found the waiting staff to be less than friendly, helpful or attentive. It took a while to be served and then quite a while to get our bill at the end. Maybe we just picked a bad night.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hanalei Gourmet also viewed

 

Been to Hanalei Gourmet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hanalei Gourmet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.