We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hanalei Gourmet

Hanalei Gourmet
5-5161 Kuhio Hwy #5, Hanalei, Kauai, HI 96714
808.826.2524
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 35 restaurants in Hanalei
Price range: $12 - $20
Cuisines: American, Diner, Delicatessen, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Austin, TX
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We showed up on a Saturday night, and the place was packed. There was a 3-piece band playing Hawaiian style (a ukelele, upright acoustic bass, and guitar), with a repertoire of familiar tunes, and most of the people in the place were singing along. The joy was infectious. There was a wait, but we gamed the system and found 2 empty seats at the bar and seated ourselves. They didn't mind. They just took our names off the waiting list. We ordered drinks, then ordered dinner right there at the bar. We both had pasta dishes, and they were both very good. The price was average for dinner on Kauai (low to mid $20's), but the food, the atmosphere, and the service by the bartender were all far above average, so a great value for the money.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

75% Recommend
    154
    203
    83
    25
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Best Meal on Kauai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We enjoyed our fish and chips so much that even though we were full enough (the portions were ample) we couldn't resist ordering more. This WAS the best meal we had on Kauai; better than Hukilau which was supposed to be so great and wasn't. Good price here at the HG for a very delicious lunch. Just a tip though--we had trouble finding it because everyone there in Hanalei calls it The Deli, not the Hanalei Gourmet and the "Gourmet" on the sign is very tiny so you won't see it. So ask where the Hanalei Deli is, not the Hanalei Gourmet if you need directions.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“casual island experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

If you are looking for a casual experience, this is your place. The service is friendly and the atmosphere is relaxed. There is covered outside area to eat as well. Full bar available with a happy hour.Great salads, shrimp, burgers etc.They serve both lunch and dinner. One side is for takeout as well.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Eat elsewhere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

My catch of the day @ $26.95, swordfish came smeared with a mayonnaise based sauce that vaguely reminded me of tartar sauce. When I asked if the sauce was mentioned on the menu our server said no/ she didn't know and offered to get me a new one without sauce; minutes later the plate arrived again with the sauce wiped off, evidence of sauce remaining. The food was average as were the other dishes. Save your money or eat elsewhere!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upland, ca
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Lots of great choices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

This little place makes their own breads for great sandwiches and salads. I tried the Waldorf salad and the turkey sandwich, both yummy.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hanalei Gourmet also viewed

 

Been to Hanalei Gourmet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hanalei Gourmet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.