We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hanalei Dolphin” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hanalei Dolphin

Hanalei Dolphin
Hanalei Trader Building, 5-5016 Kuhio Hwy., Hanalei, Kauai, HI 96714
808-826-6113
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 37 Restaurants in Hanalei
Price range: $20 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Naples, Italy
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Hanalei Dolphin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

This restaurant never disappoints. I have been to Kauai many times and I have to say that the food has always been consistently fantastic. It has great atmosphere, sitting along the Hanalei river where, during the lunch hour, you can watch paddle boarders and kayakers glide up and down the river. Only down side is Mosquitos, so, just spray on the bug juice and enjoy the fresh Opah, Ahi, or choose from their many sushi and sashimi items.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    444
    365
    172
    87
    53
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Value your time and money? Eat somewhere else”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

High prices, long wait time, subpar food. I had the "fresh" fish and chips, $24 for one piece of fish and fries. Definitely not worth it, poorly cooked and essentially tasteless. We rolled the dice and took a chance after reading the mixed reviews.... the poor and negative reviews seem spot on per our experience.

Our waitress did tried hard but she seemed overwhelmed in a busy and noisy environment. $70 for a couple who ate fish and chicken.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Loved the Seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We love the seafood at the Dolphin and stop for at least one meal whenever we visit Hanalei. No reservations, so you often have to wait, but well worth it. Nice location along the river, too.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“If you want fish, you need to go here.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Ate here twice with the family while we were on Kauai. My favorites were the calamari and scallops. The Parmesan sauce is amazing. My husband and older daughter loved the sashimi. To finish off your meal, order the brownie.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“June 2013”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Stick to the sushi at this place. Fun atmosphere and setting, but the entrees are not great. Great bar, and drink menu, and the sushi is delicious. No reservations are accepted, and it gets crowded!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hanalei Dolphin also viewed

 

Been to Hanalei Dolphin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hanalei Dolphin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.