We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hanalei Dolphin

Hanalei Dolphin
Hanalei Trader Building, 5-5016 Kuhio Hwy., Hanalei, Kauai, HI 96714
808-826-6113
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 37 Restaurants in Hanalei
Price range: $20 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
los angeles
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Good food reasonably priced.Island decor enhanced my feeling of and island vacation.Had dinner with family on 2 evenings.would go back

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    445
    367
    172
    87
    53
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Round Rock, Texas, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Meh”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

The place was packed and I had high expectations Service was slow, but it was busy. I ordered the shrimp and beef tenderloins combo ($46) The shrimp was great, THE BEEF IS NOT LOCAL! Burnt on the outside and mushy on the inside. I am from Texas and I know my beef and it is frozen. At the end of my meal I asked the waitress if the beef was local and she told me they sell local beef in the market behind the restaurant, but the beef served was not local (frozen) such a shame for how much I spent. My wife ordered rainbow poke that had a few ingredients included that were not listed on the menu and made it taste exactly like onions... even the fresh fish could not make up for the taste. We sent it back and the waitress did take it off of the bill but it took her over 15 minutes to bring a menu over to order something else. By that time we had already been in the restaurant over 90 minutes and we just decided to leave. It took her another 15 minutes to bring us the bill and then it wasn't correct.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic Sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

On our last night in Kauai, my wife and went to the Hanalei Dolphin for sushi. The sushi that we had was fantastic, incredibly fresh and chock full of tasty fish. The sushi was definitely better than the sushi we had at Makana Terrace at the St. Regis; the St. Regis may have the view, but the sushi pales sin comparison to the Dolphin!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good Sushi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Hanalei Dolphin has great sushi and a really fun atmosphere. It gets very busy though and they don't take reservations unfortunately. If you're only a few people, you can sit at the sushi bar.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Disappointed by former great restaurant”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We are frequent visitors to Kauai, and have eaten many times over the years at Hanalei Dolphin, and it has been one of our favorites. Known for great local fish and terrific service. Well, last night was none of the above. Menu had changed, as well as ownership! Waiter was very indifferent, not on top of his customers! My wife ordered one of the fresh fish, she had asked for a flakey and moist fish, turned out so dry it was totally indelible, and for $32 entree only, expected a lot more. Waiter asked how dinner was, so my wife told him, he said he would have to get the assistant manager, well he didn't feel it was worth talking to her, however did offer her fish complimentary. My Hawaiin chicken was OK! Scratch this from our local favorites!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hanalei Dolphin also viewed

 

Been to Hanalei Dolphin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hanalei Dolphin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.