We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't go back” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bouchons

Bouchons
5-5190 Kuhio Hwy., Hanalei, Hanalei, Kauai, HI 96714
808 826 9701
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 37 Restaurants in Hanalei
Price range: $9 - $30
Cuisines: Sushi, Seafood, Pacific Rim
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Our relaxed and spacious second story, open-air restaurant has a great ambiance and best picture taking views of Hanalei's mountains and waterfalls. Visitors and locals come time and time again for Bouchon's Pacific-American menu that's filled with a great selection of fresh homemade pupus, local caught seafood, teriyaki chicken, ribs and a premier sushi bar second to none. The famous Copper Bar serves up everything from soft drinks to Saki, including our very popular Mai-Tai. Located in the heart of Hanalei, we have the perfect gathering place to enjoy with family and friends.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Wouldn't go back”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

The atmosphere is nice: an open-air bar on the second floor overlooking Hanalei Center. But the food was only ok. I had the ono wrap and my husband had the fish tacos (also ono). The fish was way overcooked and nothing had much flavor. Prices were pretty standard for the area (about $15/plate). There must be something better on the area (although I admit we certainly didn't find it).

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    147
    97
    53
    53
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“The old Sushi & Blues restaurant - just as good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Great variety on the menu and great service. Was going to have the sakai sampler and our waitress suggested something better. So glad she did. Great fresh fish and sushi.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Very good food reasonably priced”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Have eaten lunch here several times in the past few years. The lunch special is always dellicious and served hot. Sandwiches are also excellent. Fish and ribs recommended as the ribs are wonderful here. We're not sushi people so can't say about that. Service can sometimes (but not always) be on "Hawaiian time" but all the food is worth waiting for. An elevator or steps take you upstairs to the restaurant. It's your vacation, slow down, enjoy the food here and the view. You won't be disappointed.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joussard, Alberta
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Mandatory gratuities- seriously?!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Maybe it is because we are Canadian and know the value and practice of well deserved tipping for decent food and service. In fact, there are times we have tipped for service alone as the food was not worthy of a tip. Bouchons has the most amazing service, I will admit that. The food was good and the drinks were above average. What happened at the time of payment was not. We were 3 couples and the average for each couple was around $40. We all chipped in and then each couple threw in enough money to leave a $20 tip. The waiter caught us as we were exiting to request an extra $5 as the 'gratuity' had been levied at $25! We ate out many times and this was the only restaurant that imposed a set % for us to tip. The experience was embarrassing and left a very bad taste in our mouths. Did we return to Bouchons. I think not.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

Great atmosphere, food and hospitality! Sushi was amazing and the rolls were huge! We were there to celebrate two of our friend's birthdays. A woman with a wonderful voice sang for them. Overall great restaurant. Would love to go again if we have time.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bouchons also viewed

 

Been to Bouchons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bouchons, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.