We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fish tacos, beautiful views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bouchons

Bouchons
5-5190 Kuhio Hwy., Hanalei, Hanalei, Kauai, HI 96714
808 826 9701
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 37 Restaurants in Hanalei
Price range: $9 - $30
Cuisines: Sushi, Seafood, Pacific Rim
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Our relaxed and spacious second story, open-air restaurant has a great ambiance and best picture taking views of Hanalei's mountains and waterfalls. Visitors and locals come time and time again for Bouchon's Pacific-American menu that's filled with a great selection of fresh homemade pupus, local caught seafood, teriyaki chicken, ribs and a premier sushi bar second to none. The famous Copper Bar serves up everything from soft drinks to Saki, including our very popular Mai-Tai. Located in the heart of Hanalei, we have the perfect gathering place to enjoy with family and friends.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great fish tacos, beautiful views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

While visiting Hanalei we decided to check out this restuarant for lunch. We got there right as they were opening for lunch, so got a table at the window looking down over the parking lot and street below. The view was beautiful and fresh air refreshing.

My husband and I both ordered their fish taco specialty - delicious! The fish tasted very fresh and the tacos had a great combination of seasonings.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    147
    97
    53
    53
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
reno
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“meh”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

service was kind of slow, probably because there was a large party of people. my pork chop was very tough--impossible to cut with a regular knife. the waiter finally noticed and brought me a steak knife. I was hungry so I ate it anyway with lots and lots of chewing. my husband enjoyed his fish and chips. appetizer about $15, entrees about $22 each, drinks about $9. the server, Cody, was friendly and pleasant.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairview, Oregon
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Food great, service slow”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

Crab cakes were very good tonight and my husband said the rainbow roll was great! Our waiter seemed to be having a bad night, he forgot to bring our drinks and took FOREVER to bring our miso soup. We would still go back but hopefully have a different waiter. My husband also had the hot saki which he said was very smooth.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somers, Montana
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“One of the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

We spend six+ weeks a year in Princeville. We have been going to Bouchon for several years and plan to continue going as often as possible, usually for lunch. The owner is gracious. The service is friendly and efficient. The food is generally excellent. The scenery is great. I have bought gift certificates for people going to Kauai and will refer people there any time. They really should offer a Sunday brunch. It would be definite draw in the area.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
305 reviews 305 reviews
198 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
257 helpful votes 257 helpful votes
“Great waiter, great fish and chips!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Spent the day at gorgeous area beaches, cleaned up and headed to dinner. We had no idea where to go, and happened upon Bouchons, at 8pm on a Friday night. Very nice atmsophere;laid back and even a bit romantic.
We were lucky enough to have Bill as our waiter. He was fun, friendly and knew the menu very well. We had two great martinis, and then shared an appetizer. Bill suggested the fish and chips, as they make their own tartar sauce. We were so glad we went with his selection, as this Was the best fish we'd had our entire trip, and the sauce was fresh and delicious.
The menu here is eclectic, and you can have a serious meal or just a bite; everything was very good.
Be sure to ask that Bill be your waiter; he really took our great experience here up a notch!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bouchons also viewed

 

Been to Bouchons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bouchons, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.