We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where's the beef?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bubba's

Bubba's
5-5183 Kuhio Highway, Hanalei, Kauai, HI 96714
808 826 7839
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 40 Restaurants in Hanalei
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Hamburgers
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Ladera Ranch, California
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Where's the beef?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I've never understood the hype with Bubba's. It's not even close to In N Out or Five Guys. Maybe because it's the only real burger place on the island. Don't get me wrong it's not bad, but I think you are paying more for the hype than you are for actual quality. Burgers patties are 1/6 of a pound. lol

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    122
    90
    36
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
seattle
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“skip this one”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

The south Bubba's in Poipou has pretty good burgers but the one in Hanalei isn't up to it. Ordered a burger for takes out and all I got was the bun and 2 patties, nothing else, Maybe it was a goof up, maybe not but I did hear the north Bubba's was not as good as the one in the south.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enumclaw, Washington
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Not sure what all the hype is about”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

This is just an average, higher cost burger joint. The hamburger is just any old hamburger (but pricey), the fries were only ok, the hotdog tasted and looked like a store brand hot dog and the mango milkshake left a lot to be desired. The good thing about Bubba's is the outside seating where you can people watch.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puyallup, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Really Great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Well, a hamburger is a hamburger, right? No! This was recommended to me by a friend and so we tried it out. Got the double patty burger, with cheese and grilled onions. I was genuinely surprised at how great it was. I would definitely go back!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo Grove, Illinois
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Bubba Burger”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

It's not a trip to Kauai for our son without Bubba! We make sure we hit Hanalei, Kapa'a, and Poipu. Pretty good burgers, fries, and milkshakes.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bubba's also viewed

 

Been to Bubba's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bubba's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.