We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“better good then most restaurants” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Opakapaka Gourmet Food Truck

Opakapaka Gourmet Food Truck
4997 Weke Rd, Hanalei Beach Park, Hanalei, Kauai, HI 96714
808-634-6711
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 37 Restaurants in Hanalei
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Seafood, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch
Description: Opakapaka Food Truck believes that good food starts with quality ingredients. Our menu reflects this philosophy and each dish is handmade from scratch using premium quality meats, Hawaiian seafood and the freshest local and organic vegetables in season. We aim to create hand crafted gourmet food that is convenient, affordable and above all delicious. Every dish is made and delivered with care and a smile from chef A.J. Irons and his partner Jessi Anderson. Our menu is meant to delight everyone from foodies, to hungry surfers, or to just about anyone lucky enough to be here on this beautiful island of Kauai. Opakapaka’s mission is about inspiring and satisfying our customers with bold, fresh and exciting cuisine.Healthy, Delicious and Affordable Food on Kauai.Our end goal is to grow as an outstanding business by serving extraordinary yet affordable gourmet food that supports other local businesses while being extremely aware of our environmental responsibility. Our success is measured when we see people really enjoying their food and coming back again and again.Consistent Food + Consistent Flavor.By setting our standards high and paying attention to detail our patrons can be assured that the flavor of our food will be the same every time — no matter what time of day it is, or even what day it is. Every bite of our scrumptious food will be layered with ono* flavors inside and out and will taste the same every time you order it. Bring your appetite and we’ll see you on the street.* Ono – Hawaiian word for good
rutherford
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“better good then most restaurants”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

there food is truly gourmet!! I had organic brown rice with a sizable piece of grilled fish cooked to
perfection with amazing fresh green beans in a spicy mustard sauce. I hate,, hate, hate tarter sauce but theirs was truly amazing!! all for $13!!! their in a crazy location so either call them for directions which I did or follow these: weke rd to hanalei pier make a right into a street that looks like you shouldn't go down looks like a construction area with some yellow dividers off to the side then make your first left into a lot where kayakers go off the river and there they are !!! I can't wait to go back !!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    0
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Walnut Creek, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Seek this place out. After a great, long day on the river, what a great surprise. Awesome sliders..probably the best we've ever had. Quick service and nice people. Will definitely be back.

Highly recommended!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent food at bargain prices!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We had one of the best meals of our trip at Opakapaka Gourmet Food Truck at the end of Weke Rd. in Hanalei. My husband and I both had the delicious fresh ahi and coconut rice. I had mine with salad that came with some of the best dressing I've ever had. My husband had his with green beans that were cooked to perfection. At $13 a plate, the food was better than many of our dinners where we paid twice as much or more. Give it a try. They're open from 11:30-3:30, Tues.-Fri.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Awesome! The most beautiful location and great food!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

What an experience!! The new location is well off the beaten path, but totally worth it! Undoubtedly the most beautifully scenic location for a food truck, it's unbelievable, the Hanalei river, the mountains, heaven.
The tomatillo sauce on the fresh catch is perfect, refreshing and delicious. Coconut rice is mild and nice. Salad dressing was freakin awesome!! Great meal, tell your friends so they stay here.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Coast CA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Gourmet Food along the Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

If you are driving North from Kapa'a stop along the road (right side) just before you reach the Mahelona Medical Center and look for the Blue Food Truck. I do not know what they have inside but what comes out is spectacular!! My wife and I stumbled across their offerings on the way back from a great bike ride and we both enjoyed two different Hawaiian Snapper (Opakapaka) dishes. Every element from the Haricot Vert beans (french green beans) to the coconut rice, local farm fresh greens and tomatoes - AHHH!!! INCREDIBLE!!! Every dressing and sauce was made fresh and unique to the dish. SKIP the visit to Postcards, and stop here three times instead. Your tastebuds will sing praises and you won't have to wait hours for your food.

Outdoor seating on multi-colored picnic benches with an incredible view of the ocean - what could be better??

Many thanks to the young couple who are setting out with this food truck. Your efforts and food are appreciated!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Opakapaka Gourmet Food Truck also viewed

 

Been to Opakapaka Gourmet Food Truck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Opakapaka Gourmet Food Truck, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.