We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casual Yum!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L & L Barbecue

L & L Barbecue
5-5190 Kuhio Hwy., Hanalei, Kauai, HI 96714
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 37 Restaurants in Hanalei
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Boise, Idaho
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Casual Yum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Excellent price, great food, local flavor and not a fancy tourist deal. We ordered a ton after playing on the beach - we all loved the food. Everything from cheeseburgers for the kids, to teryaki chicken and fish. Chicken was actually better than the fish - which was a first for me, I kept looking for excellent fish!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    21
    13
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

the service was quick, lots of food choices, food was great and cheap. another plus...location right in the center of Hanalei.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good, fast, cheap option”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

My husband wanted a quick "snack" one night (I wasn't hungry) so he grabbed a plate at L&L Hawaiian BBQ. He knew what to expect since we have one in San Diego. The L&L in Hanalei is small, and was popular with locals and tourists alike (especially teenagers) so you might want to plan on taking it to go and make a picnic of it on Hanalei Bay. All the basics. Nothing special, but a decent, inexpensive meal when you need a quick fix!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Bad food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

This place was the worst food I have ever eaten. There is nothing good to say. The mixed plate was just plain bad.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester (LA), CA
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Good BBQ, quick service-fits the bill in Hanalei”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

This fairly recent addition to Hanalei has friendly service, authentic Hawaiian style-(consistent w/SoCal locations) made to order and good value! I love the BBQ ribs even though they are thin cut, the sauce/spices are addicting and this location has a "mini-plate" with small scoops macaroni salad & rice, so if you are in the mood for a heavy snack between lunch and a late dinner - it fits the bill. They were happy to come out and wipe off an outdoor table that had just been left by a patron and served my food really quick. Grab some good BBQ on the North shore!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L & L Barbecue also viewed

 

Been to L & L Barbecue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L & L Barbecue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.