We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hands down, bar none, this place is THE PLACE” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pat's Taqueria

Pat's Taqueria
Hanalei Pier, Black Pot Beach Park, Hanalei, Kauai, HI
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 37 Restaurants in Hanalei
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch
Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Hands down, bar none, this place is THE PLACE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Well, it's not really a place, just a spot in the parking lot at the Hanalei pier. But, our entire group of 7 went several times and it was 14 thumbs up. Yep, it's as basic as it sounds, only open from noon-3; but, food is delicious, fresh and totally fits with the beach, laid-back style of Hanalei.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    26
    4
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ventura, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Finally!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Kauai is not known for authentic mex food, but Pat's is soooo good, and I had many authentic tacos in Mexico...
Went to Tropical tacos for fish tacos...yuck, then proceeded to Pats as my previous taco was fried to death and had terrible salsa...aka tomato sauce!
Keep doin what you do Pat's

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spearwood, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Service? What's that?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

I went to Pat's Taqueria van recently, there were a few people sitting around eating, I chose from the menu, then waited to be served. The girl in the van came to the window, looked at me, then walked away. She came back with some orders, handed them out, then walked away again. I stood there for 5 - 10 minutes waiting to be served... then I walked away.
My partner was disappointed that we didn't at least get a drink, and without any other options in the immediate vicinity, he returned to the van to get drinks. He had the same problem with service. When he asked through the window if anyone was going to serve him, he was rudely told that he "could have asked".

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Tacos in Hanalei”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

We stopped here for lunch yesterday with some family friends who recommended it. Pat's is a truck located near the end of the Hanalei pier. Their menu consists of 4 types of tacos (fish, kalua pork, carne asana and beans & cheese). We order an assorted of fish, kalua pork and carne. All were very yummy. They have a couple of tables next to their truck but they are located right next to the Hanalei bay public park/beach area where there are a number of picnic tables. They wrap their tacos "to go" so you could easily take them to a beach of your choice. There are some reviewers who felt their $4 per taco ($5 for the fish) were a little pricey. I disagree. All of the ingredients are fresh. These are made to order tacos and all varieties are excellent. You'd easily pay twice as much for these tacos in a "sit down" establishment. Pat's is well worth seeking out if you are in the Hanalei area.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Hit the spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Nine of us, ages 10-75, filled up on delicious tacos after the kids worked up an appetite surfing down the beach. We tried the fish, carne, pork and rice and beans tacos and all were super. Fun spot.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pat's Taqueria also viewed

 

Been to Pat's Taqueria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pat's Taqueria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.