We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss this!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mc Master Slack Key Concerts

Mc Master Slack Key Concerts
Malolo Rd., Hanalei Community Center, Hanalei, Kauai, HI
808-826-1469
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 24 Activities in Hanalei
Type: Concerts, Performances
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Doug and Sandy have been giving authentic Hawaiian slack key guitar and ukelele concerts twice a week at Hanalei Community Center since 1999. They're a standard attraction and an excellent way for visitors to learn about the history of Hawaii's slack key music as well as old stories that inspired the music - Sandy also relates some of the cultural connections of the survival of this native Hawaiian music. Their primary purpose is to make people aware of the history and cultural importance of this type of music. Concerts are one of the most affordable things to do on Kauai and appeal to both the individual visitor as well as to groups or families.
Sebastopol, California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Don't miss this!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Slack key guitar came to Hawaii via the Mexicans who were imported to help with the cattle ranching. When they left, they left their guitars, but the Hawaiians didn't know how to tune or play them -- so they invented their own system. The thumb plays the rhythm or bass line, and the other fingers play melody and harmony. Not an easy task! Doug and Sandy win awards all over the place, and the afternoon has a lots of TalkStory. Get there EARLY to get seats.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    10
    3
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lititz, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Doug and Sandy McMaster Slack Key and Ukelele concert”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

we attended their concert in Kapaa' at the community center and was thouroughly entertained and educated about the island and the history of slack key music. We would highly recommend it to other visitors to the Kauai Island. They perform in Kapaa' and Princeville weekly. You will enjoy!!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Put this on your itenerary. Leave it there. Here's why.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We spent three weeks in Hawaii, three different islands. We went out of our way to find a slack key performance and this one was available.... WOW, what a treat! These guys are amazing. They can do things with a guitar and ukelele I didn't know could be done. Beautiful sounds. Very laid back... expect to hear some story and laugh. Honest. You will laugh at their real life stories about living in Hawaii. (Bad day today? "Well, my papaya was bruised at breakfast, so no, I guess we have not a lot to complain about.") Family friendly, well worth every single second and then some.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis, Oregon
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Wonderful, relaxing music and good conversation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Doug and Sandy have been performing real slack-key guitar for years. They have two concerts at the Community Center in Hanalei, and they've added a concert in a room under the clock tower near Safeway in Kapaa. I would recommend attending a concert in Hanalei, but if you can't, try the one in Kapaa. There is a drawback to the Kapaa venue, and that's the sounds of water rushing through pipes at the natural food store next door. It's somewhat distracting.

Doug and Sandy are Hawaiian treasures. If you are at all interested in the original form of slack key, you won't be disappointed at one of their concerts. (AND, if you attend more than one, you get a discount on admission)

We've purchased and given many of their CDs to folks who need to relax, or are going through difficult times. The music is wonderful. You won't be disappointed.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sayre, PA
Top Contributor
234 reviews 234 reviews
64 attraction reviews
Reviews in 112 cities Reviews in 112 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
“A Big Bang for your bucks!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

This couple is very interesting and share their story and music for almost 2 hours. You need to attend a concert to really learn about Hawaiian music and price is right for what you get, including the cookies.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mc Master Slack Key Concerts also viewed

 

Been to Mc Master Slack Key Concerts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mc Master Slack Key Concerts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.