We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's down to taste, and I didn't like the taste!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hanalei Pizza - CLOSED

Hanalei Pizza
5-5150 Kuhio Hwy, #D-2, Hanalei, Kauai, HI 96722
808-826-1300
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $5 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Takeout
Seattle
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“It's down to taste, and I didn't like the taste!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

I guess we were just unlucky based on the other positive reviews we've seen but my husband and I each had a slice of a different type and we both disliked our pizza. To be clear, we did not order a fresh pizza. We bought slices, since it was later in the evening. I ended up throwing most of mine out. I didn't like the taste of the crust or the sauce. Perhaps it really comes down to personal preference because my review is one of the only negative reviews of this restaurant. So, if you order a slice instead of a whole pie, you might not like it. Not sure if that was the difference.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

328 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    201
    75
    38
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Linden, California, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Long wait for a poor pizza”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

Crust was burnt and the topping had no flavor. I love pizza but you would have to pay me to eat this one again.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moab, Utah
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“It's all in the dough”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Coconut water in the dough? Maybe it was what made one of the best pizza crusts I've ever had. Thin, crisp, light yet able to support the toppings and brushed with a wonderful garlic olive oil mix. Sublime. The main guy was passionate about toppings and his creations. At $4.25 a slice it is pricy so for two people get a medium pie and have leftovers for later.... Such as at the beach with a beer post snorkel. Toppings are fresh and varied. Brick oven pizza in Kalaheo used to be my favourite pizza anywhere but now its number 2.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Very good pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

This pizza place is in an outdoor shopping mall. They have cool original pizzas. The slices are big. The piece I had was very good.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great for a night at the condo!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

My husband and I carried out a pizza from here on our honeymoon when we first arrived on Kauai for a low-key night at the condo. We had the veggie deluxe-- one of the best pizzas we've had in a long time! And that's really saying something for us, considering my aunt owned a pizza restaurant when I was growing up :) Great atmosphere, friendly service, and excellent food!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hanalei Pizza also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hanalei Pizza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.