We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food was great, chickens and roosters not so much!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hanalei Taro & Juice Company

Hanalei Taro & Juice Company
5-5070 Kuhio Highway, Hanalei, Kauai, HI
(808)826-1059
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 40 Restaurants in Hanalei
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch
Lakeland, Florida
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
“Food was great, chickens and roosters not so much!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stopped by this little food truck during a photo tour that we took. My first introduction to local Hawaiian food, and the food was fantastic, I had the kalua pork sandwich, which Id love to have again! They were busy, I could tell a lot of locals go here and love the place. I, personally, dont like all the roosters and chickens that stare you down while you eat, but my son did and he chased them around, so at least they kept him busy while I stuffed my gut. We would go back here!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    49
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
England
Top Contributor
280 reviews 280 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
“Not the cleanest of places. Food was pot luck hit or miss.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stopped by here for lunch as part of a photo tour. To be honest, if there were other options open at the time or opportunities later on, i would have eaten elsewhere.

I lucked out with my choice (bbq kalua sandwich) as it was actually very tasty. However most others in the group were disappointed and said their food was tasteless. It didn't feel too hygenic that roosters were up on the tables pecking etc so I would have preferred to grab and go!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mokena, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best Hawaiian Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This is a must stop when I am in Kauai. This trip I went for the chicken lau lau plate, but was talked into the Shoyu Chicken Special. When I asked what is was the girl explained that it is a local favorite and they slow cook in this sauce and it falls right off bone. I decided to try it.....OMG this is fantastic!! If someowe asked me what it tasted like I would say - Thanksgiving. It was so good, I am driving myself crazy looking for this recipe. My husband raves about the kalua pork, he says it is the best he has had on the island.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopewell, New York
Top Contributor
286 reviews 286 reviews
192 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“Nice local food truck”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We had lunch here as a stop on our Kauai Photo Tour excursion.
The plate lunches and daily specials are good.
We got the lau-lau and the Kalua pork plate, tried poi again, the results were the same it doesn't add to the experience but you gottat give it a shot.
The lunches here are a good value and chickens are ready to scoop up anything you might drop.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Stevens, Washington
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Plate lunch Hanalei Style”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Both times I've visited Kauai, I've had lunch at the Hanalei Taro & Juice Company. Last week I stopped for lunch during my Kauai Photo Tour. Delicious food as usual. Great plate lunch selection. Like other customers have mentioned super friendly service with a smile. Ate at the picnic tables. Where else in the world can you enjoy a Hawaiian plate lunch with a rooster or two walking across the tables??? Didn't try any of the juices, but looked like they were a big hit with other folks. Promise I'll be back again someday.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hanalei Taro & Juice Company also viewed

 

Been to Hanalei Taro & Juice Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hanalei Taro & Juice Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.