We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“terrific food in Hanalei. taro is really good. don't fear the poi.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hanalei Taro & Juice Company

Hanalei Taro & Juice Company
5-5070 Kuhio Highway, Hanalei, Kauai, HI
(808)826-1059
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 40 Restaurants in Hanalei
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch
WASHINGTON
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“terrific food in Hanalei. taro is really good. don't fear the poi.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

great roadside truck in Hanalei for Hawaiian fare. perfect pork, taro smoothies, sides, taro cake, super nice girls at work. can't wait to get back. open only 11 to 3 I think, so time it right!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    49
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best food on the road”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Good vegetarian sandwiches. The watermelon lemonade was made so fresh.. must have...Perfect for a sunny afternoon..

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Service great, food ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stopped here after finding that Pat's Taqueria was closed. I had the kalua pork and my husband had the fish tacos. I just did the mini-bowl instead of the plate which worked fine. The pork was tender but it was lacking flavor. The fish tacos were small, but there were two of them. My husband said they were ok. We may have went on an off day or maybe we didn't try the right things. The smoothies looked yummy, but we didn't try them.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, California
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Healthy food for a good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

It is hard to find good food in Hanalei that is affordable but this little place was great. Our local friends recommended it and I would too. The taro cake with coconut and the ginger lemonade are to die for :)

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great mixed plate lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

The food at the Taro truck is great, but it isn't very fast if that is what you are looking for. The pork is delicious. Tour buses stop here so it is best to avoid it if a bus is parked in front.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hanalei Taro & Juice Company also viewed

 

Been to Hanalei Taro & Juice Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hanalei Taro & Juice Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.