We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for Lunch Plates” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hanalei Taro & Juice Company

Hanalei Taro & Juice Company
5-5070 Kuhio Highway, Hanalei, Kauai, HI
(808)826-1059
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 35 restaurants in Hanalei
Cuisines: Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch
San Jose, California
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great for Lunch Plates”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I had the Kalua Pork plate and it was very tasty. The pork was a bit on the salty side, but it was countered by the really sticky rice which was not salty at all. Also, the lunch plate was a lot less greasy than any other Hawaiian lunch plate that I've eaten.

It's a take out place that will call your name once your order was ready. Don't expect any table service or anything like that.

The only downside is that this place is only open from 11 AM to 3 PM from Monday to Saturday.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    55
    39
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Crownsville, MD
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good, quick, casual”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Excellent local BBQ pork and the taro smoothies are delicious! Also try the chicken lau lau - chicken cooked in taro leaves. Very flavorful and tender.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Rice Mill and Taro Tour is so fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

It was great to find out more of the local history from a fourth generation taro farmer. We explored the historic Rice Mill after exploring the taro fields that you see from the lookout up in Princeville. we learned about the constant threats to the taro from invading species, and also got to see 5 endangered bird species that inhabit the tarofields. At the mill we were shown the various antique machines, with everything explained in a fun, personal way, interspersed with family anecdotes. We had demonstrations of coconut husking, and expert grating. We tasted fresh coconut mixed with the most amazing taro I've ever tasted, and the poi was beyond incredible. When we returned to the truck in Hanalei, we had a plate lunch that was excellent. It's a little expensive, but if you want to fel more in sync with the ancient taro, this is so worthwhile.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Native Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

We stopped here for a lunch plate before kayaking the Hanalie river. Friendly staff. Picnic tables around to eat at. Really good food. I had the pork cooked inside a leaf (forget what it was called) with poi. Yum! Great to be able to sample some traditional food then paddle by field that grow taro.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
American Canyon, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Part of the Kauai Photo Tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We ate here as part of the Kauai Photo Tour and it was pretty good. Just a small roadside stand with some shaded picnic tables. Service was quick and friendly and the food was quite tasty.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hanalei Taro & Juice Company also viewed

 

Been to Hanalei Taro & Juice Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hanalei Taro & Juice Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.