We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Calm water, great for swimming not snorkeling” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hanalei Beach

Hanalei Beach
Transportation: Just past Tahiti Nui, Hanalei, Kauai, HI 96714
808-241-6670
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Hanalei Beach like an insider
Private Tour
$234*
and up
Private Tour: Kauai Sightseeing Adventure with...
Ranked #1 of 27 things to do in Hanalei
Activities: Surfing
Attraction details
Surprise, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Calm water, great for swimming not snorkeling”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

The water is warm and calm, but not clear enough for snorkeling. It is a great location for swimming and playing on the beach with the kiddos. Bathrooms and showers are located there as well.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    472
    137
    36
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wyckoff, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Stunning Beach!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

We spent two days at this beach during our recent vacation in Kauai. We decided to go back on our last day on the island to enjoy it one more time. The beach is calm and the water very clear this time of year. It was like swimming in a pool. The mountain back drop surrounding the beach is surreal. You can see cascading waterfalls in the mountains. This beach is excellent for families and folks who just want to swim in calm water. The perfect beach for relaxing and swimming.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bakersfield, CA.
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
69 attraction reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
“Beautiful and hardly any people!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Very clean and nice beach. Down a residential side street ending at a good sized pk. lot. We were there in early June and the water was quite calm. Very laid back atmosphere. Loved it!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
45 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Most gorgeous beach ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We had a great trip to this beach and tried paddle boarding here last week. Water was very smooth. We jumped off the pier (my teen son and I together) even though you aren't supposed to. They have a great taco truck in the parking lot. Cheap and yummy. Excellent beach for families since the water was very calm.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Worth a quick visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

3rd time in Kauai and we go to Hanalei Bay every time. The Beach is nice and my son enjoys jumping off the pier. Water is calm and not crystal clear like other beaches but very enjoyable. The view is spectacular and worth the trip down to the pier.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hanalei Beach also viewed

 

Been to Hanalei Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hanalei Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.