We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad if you have never done this before” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hanalei Beach

Hanalei Beach
Transportation: Just past Tahiti Nui, Hanalei, Kauai, HI 96714
808-241-6670
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Private Tour
$176*
and up
Private Tour: Kauai Sightseeing Adventure with...
Ranked #2 of 4 Attractions in Hanalei
Type: Beaches, Outdoors
Activities: Surfing
Attraction details
Mooresville, North Carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Not bad if you have never done this before”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

I went here to snorkel with friends while vacationing in Hawaii for the first time. The snorkeling was ok, but not great. I would reccommend it for those who have never done it before because it's fun and safe there. They run it well and make sure you know what you are looking at. Life guards are on duty and respond quickly if needed. While I was there two people got swept out a little too far and were quickly rescued. As long as you listen to the guards you will have no problems, if you go where they say to stay away from then you might need rescued too. Lots of colorful fish to see, and I even saw a turtle. A little too crowded for my taste though.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    408
    120
    26
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tacoma Wa.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Surfing and sand”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Watching the surfers was great,at the time there were big surf conditions,swimming was out of the question but kicking back in the sand and having a refreshment was perfect,

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
47 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“This is qunitesential Kauai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

This beach has it all, walking, swimming, surfing etc. It is one of the most picturesqe on the island. Parts of " The Decendants" was filmed here. The pier at the end of the beach is fun to jump from and the Hanlei river lets out nearby. You can camp too.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camano Island, Washington
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Secret neighborhood access--away from the congestion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We visited during high surf warnings; saw some big waves, and some crazy surfers who were out in it--but that's what they do, isn't it? We are not surfers, just trying to see all the beautiful and out of the way beaches in the area. We found out by exploring that there are several beach-access roads further south? west? of the Hanalei Pier area. Drive down Kuhio Highway toward Ke'e Beach and turn right at Kalypso's and make a left when you come to the end of that road. You will find a couple of smaller side streets with little green "beach access" signs. Turn right there and you will find smaller neighborhood beaches. The one we found had an awesome view of the sunset. Not as many services (didn't see any restrooms), but this can get you away from the busy-ness of Hanalei Beach.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“An Incredible View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

On an island (Kauai) known for its beautiful beaches and incredible views, there is none better than Hanalei Bay. No matter where you are staying on Kauai, it is worth driving up to Princeville to see this most beautiful Bay. I valeted my car at the St. Regis, walked through its beautiful lobby until I got to the deck where I looked out a a Wow view of the Bay...A must-see

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hanalei Beach also viewed

 

Been to Hanalei Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hanalei Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.