We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“price is right, although no service with a smile” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Village Snack and Bake Shop

Village Snack and Bake Shop
5-5190 Kuhio Hwy, Hanalei, Kauai, HI 96714
808-826-6841
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 37 Restaurants in Hanalei
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: Bakery, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Description: Enjoy hearty breakfasts, quick snacks, local style boxed picnic lunches, and hearty portions of daily lunch specials at this unique restaurant and bakery where you'll find everything from island style favorites to juicy hamburgers and homemade pies and cakes on the menu. Open daily for breakfast and lunch.
Middlesex, New Jersey
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“price is right, although no service with a smile”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

This is a great place for good food at lower prices. The baked goods are too good! The apple cobbler was dreamy and the cookies delicious! Very ONO! The food was good. The staff is not too friendly, and atmosphere is not great, yet for the prce and taste we recommend this place!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    27
    14
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kennewick, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Bad Experience!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stopped in and checked out the pastries and told ourselves we would come back because they looked impressive. We went back for breakfast and were pleased with the prices. They call your name when your food is ready and you pick it up at the counter. My husband thought they called his name so he picked up the order. While it wasn't exactly what we ordered, it was close and we didn't want to complain. Turns out, it was another couple's order in the restaurant. The woman at the counter yelled at us telling us we needed to pay for the food we were eating (in addition to what we already paid). She also said repeatedly, "You should know what you ordered". It was very embarassing and I couldn't believe how rude she was. My husband didn't want to make any waves and obviously wanted the other people to get their food so he paid -again. This was the worst experience we had on the island and it took us a couple days to get over the situation. On top of it all, your are served on styrofoam plates and use plastic utensils. The eggs were not seasoned and tasted strange. I could have cooked a better breakfast at home and not been yelled at!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haena, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best desserts in Hanalei”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

This hole in the wall has the best desserts in Hanalei. Score a piece of haupia pie, apple cobbler or the enormous and aptly named 'world's best cookie' and you will be so happy and dreaming of the next time you can have it again. Great value and friendly service at this local favorite. Unfortunately only open until 4 during the week and 3 on Sundays so you have to plan ahead. So yummy -- Don't miss it!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanalei
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Truck Stop menu ala Hanalei”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Experience Hanalei as it was in 1979, gastronomically speaking!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atascadero, California
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good Plate Lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

Service was friendly. The inside is kind of dirty and zero atmosphere so we took our lunch outside to a picnic table and ate with the chickens. Huge plate lunch. Had Kalua pork (delicious), chicken with string noodles (interesting), small portion of lomi lomi salmon (fishy - not good fishy but off fishy), rice and salad. The best part was the kalua pork by far. Not sure I would eat here again with so many other options.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Village Snack and Bake Shop also viewed

 
 

Been to Village Snack and Bake Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Village Snack and Bake Shop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.