We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great adventure in Kauai” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Falls Ranch

Silver Falls Ranch
P.O. Box 692, Hanalei, Kauai, HI 96754
(808) 828-6718
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 24 Activities in Hanalei
Type: Horseback Riding Stables, Ranch & Farm
Attraction details
Ellicott City, Maryland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great adventure in Kauai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

My family and I decided to do this adventure while in Kauai for family vacation. None of us had ever been horseback riding before. We decided to go for it and did the three hour tour complete with lunch and swimming at the waterfall. It ended up being a lovely afternoon. Jeff was our guide - he was fabulous! Jeff is a great storyteller and took lots of time with us to make sure we were all comfortable and acquainted with our horses, especially our young daughters (ages 9 and 13) who were pretty nervous about riding for the first time! We were in good hands the whole time. The riding was a blast and peaceful at the same time. Lunch was nice and swimming in the private waterfall lagoon was very neat. But our daughters seemed to most enjoy the peacefulness of the ranch. There are many animals on the ranch - in addition to the horses, there are chickens, peacocks, dogs, cats, etc. It is a very tight knit little family on the ranch and they do a really good job of making you feel right at home - my daughters did not want to leave. I would definitely recommend this activity to anyone who is considering.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    31
    10
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
california
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Relaxing and fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Have always wanted to take a nice slow ride to a waterfall and this fit the bill exactly. The horses are extremely healthy looking and ranch is clean and well kept. Three of us started our two hour waterfall ride with some safety tips from our guide who was friendly and fun. The horses were well behaved and our guide pointed out various interesting places and plants. We stopped at a lovely waterfall where there were change huts for us to put on our swimsuits. We were given some time to swim in the cool refreshing water followed by lunch. We were all provided with treats to give to our trusty horses before returning back to the stables.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Jeff was a terrific guide!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

My son, daughter-in-law and I recently did a 3 hour private ride (complete with a picnic lunch and a swim under a waterfall). It was pretty much perfect. My son and I ride but it was my daughter-in-law's first real horseback experience. Jeff took his time, offering her basic riding instruction and explaining the reasons why things are done a certain way. He was great on every level. He is quite the storyteller and we all came away feeling as though we now know much more about Kauai and have a renewed respect for the Hawaiian culture. It is an absolutely breathtaking ranch. The horses are well cared for and beautiful. The ranch itself was magnificent. I honestly don't know how they keep it so clean. The only possible drawback was the lunch. It definitely could have been better. Other than that it was a great way to spend a few hours.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great service, nice ride, waterfalls were very nice.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

Very nice ranch, friendly staff and a clean place. Our guide Bridget was very nice and a well trained equestrian. We had two 7 year old children that had a great time. all the horses are well behaved and follow on a well known trail and it is almost more a train ride than a trail ride but as we have a horse ranch at home it was nice to know we didn't have to worry about the kids. The lunch was nice and the falls were awesome Ina hot day. My only complaint would be that their was no price difference for child or adult or if they could have a family package.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Easy and fun ride!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Been coming to Kauai for years and have always wanted to get off the beach and take a horse ride. Finally did and so glad we did. Silver Falls Ranch was perfect! Mellow and happy horses. Great guides - full of stories about the history of Kauai. We did the 3 hour ride and it was perfect. Ride for a bit then jump off and take a swim in a waterfall and then get back on for a quick ride home. We got lucky with the weather - no rain and not blazing hot - so that also helped. The stables are really pretty and there is of course a friendly stable dog names Celeste!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Silver Falls Ranch also viewed

 

Been to Silver Falls Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Falls Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.