We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place with great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hanalei Colony Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hanalei Colony Resort to your Saves list
Hanalei Colony Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   5-7130 Kuhio Highway, Haena, Kauai, HI 96714-9985   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$240 Ocean View Suites
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Haena
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful place with great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I recently stayed for 3 nights at the HCR and found it absolutley lovely! The location is amazing & set right on the beach. Our room size was huge and had nice decor and it was very clean. The bed was also huge & very comfy. To be honest, at first I was a little worried about the place not having any air conditioning - but even though it was hot during the days (90s F/ 30s C) - the ceiling fans and ocean breezes did their job and it was very pleasant. The staff were incredible helpful and really knew the local area. We arrived late afternoon and Juan at the reception desk was extremely helpful and cleary explained things about the resort and local area to us upon arrival. As my husband and I are avid snorkellers, he even gave us some great tips on when and where to snorkel locally, as there are wonderful snorkel beaches close by with Tunnels and Ke'e beach. He also recommded We had some lovely meals in Hanalei (Hanalei Dolphin was fabulous) and their award winning Zagat recommended -Mediterranean Gourmet resturant on site was also very good. If you are looking to stay on the North Shore of Kauai, I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    89
    29
    10
    7
See reviews for
100
146
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2014

This resort has a very interesting concept in that is a cross between a hotel and a short-term apartment/condominium rental. It has a very Hawaiian feel to it which is nice considering that you can hardly get that at many other hotels.

Staff are very friendly and relaxed. The beach is not the best for swimming but great for sunbathing, also you can walk along the coast to better beaches (for swimming) which can be a cool experience because you can stumble over a resting sea lion.

The rooms are well-spaced, the furniture is perhaps abit dated but the kitchen is well equipped.
The only small weakness is housekeeping - in our room the showr had not been descaled for months at least. If they can fix that, this is a very quaint place to stay (also, they have a cool complimentary shuttle service durcing the day to any beach within a 10 mile radius).

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

The pro's are:

The pictures on the website are accurate.

The oceanfront units are very close to the ocean but not "on" the beach.

The setting is beautiful.

Close proximity to Tunnels Beach (best surfing in winter, best snorkeling in summer).

Food at the only restaurant is very good but expensive even for Hawaii standards.

The con's are:

The beach, while beautiful is made up of little glass like beads instead of traditional "sand" which is difficult to walk on. You sink down up to your ankles whether it is wet or dry.

The beach is also very steep so, while we didm;t try to swim in it you could tell from the shore it was rough surf. (not like the beach at Hanalei bay.

These were items on the invoice:
*We do not have any televisions, phones, or air conditioning in the unit
*We are approximately an hour away from the airport
*The closest gas station to us is in Princeville and it closes at 7:30 PM.
*There are 2 groceries store in our general area

You go over 4 or five only lane bridges from Hanalei Town to get to the Resort. This may get a little tiring if you plan a lot of sightseeing. If you plan a lot of sightseeing the may not be the best (most centrally located) location.

The unit was pretty much all one big room but the master and second "bedroom" can be "closed off" with sliding louvered doors. So no sound privacy from the other bedroom unless you count the roaring surf noise.
Lastly the WI-FI is pretty slow (lowest broadband DSL speed) and you have to keep logging back in EACH time. sometimes it remembers your logon sometimes not.

Room Tip: The management does not let you choose between a ground floor or second floor room. Book an ocean fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kapaa, Hawaii
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

Not enough times does the advertising promise of a slogan match the actual reality that you experience.

Fortunately we just experienced one that delivers 100%!

The Hanalei Colony Resort on the North Shore of Kauai bills itself as “Unspoiled, Unplugged, and Unforgettable”. True, true, and true.

The location is lush and peaceful with direct access to beaches and there is a pervading calm to the entire property. You never seem to feel crowded and the sounds of wind in the trees, soothing green colors and the comforting sound of surf helps to create a very relaxing environment. Everything seems oriented towards providing an opportunity and environment to chill out and be at peace.

There are no TVs or telephones in the rooms so you have an opportunity to put aside the cacophony and distractions of the 24-7 media deluge. You do have the option (through the courtesy and understanding of the resort) to connect through complimentary wireless service as needed if connection with the outside world is paramount to being able to enjoy the time off. But I do have to say that the area presents enough to do to offset any panic or frenzy from not being plugged in. The outdoor things to do and just the comfort of being in the room or on the lanai reading or listening was more than sufficient.

The buildings are arranged so that every room has something of a view and conversations from other rooms never seemed to intrude into your personal space. The room itself was immaculate. The attention to detail in the arrangement of the space and the décor was “feng shui” perfect. The furniture was very comfortable and all the desired appliances and amenities were present.

There are a variety of natural and historic attractions in the area like hiking trails, snorkeling, botanical gardens, world class sunset locations, etc.; all within the Haena area which didn’t require any major effort to enjoy. In fact, the resort will help arrange complimentary transportation in many cases or assistance with booking more extensive excursions. We never felt at a loss for something to do and found that “doing nothing” was often the most fun thing to do.

Last, but FAR from least was the excellent culinary surprise of the Mediterranean Gourmet restaurant. Again, impeccable customer service coupled with generous portions and a surprising area of choices. The cooks excelled at each phase of our meal and the tastes were always distinctive, yet never overpowering or bland. Superb blending of spices and textures was in every dish. We were treated to family recipes taught and handed down by the owner’s mother from the “old country” which did not disappoint. All the ingredients were fresh and every dish was made from scratch. Combine that with the jovial personalities of the wait-staff and you have an excellent culinary evening.

The entire staff was very warm and genuine with their friendliness and the service was first rate. All in all the most uncomfortable moment was when we had to leave. Mahalo Nui Loa for a great time off and an unforgettable adventure.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

The sunset on the beach was lovely and the rock pools reflecting the light of the sunset! Seeing turtles was amazing in the water at sunset! The food at the restaurant was tasty and staff friendly. Our view from our room was great!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We had a second-floor ocean view room but still the ocean was only a rock throw to the beach. We were two fifty-something gals who have known each other since junior high school and still keep in touch even though we live on different coasts. The two bedroom, two bath set up was perfect for us.

Days and nights were cool enough that we never missed A/C due to ocean breezes. Our unit was immaculately clean. Kitchen was more than ample with a coffeemaker, blender, dishes and flatware; decent pots and fry pans and sharp chef's knives making it easy to cook our fish from the Dolphin Fish Market and veggies from the farm market every night. Definitely try the Opah fish! Stopped in the wonderful Mediterranean Gourmet most nights for a Hawaiian drink and maybe a bite and to be entertained by guitarists or a ukelele player and a lovely hula dancer.

Spent our days at beaches: Anini, Tunnels, Ke'e but mostly at Tunnels snorkeling with the fish and turtles. One day at Tunnels a monk seal swam right up and beached itself right in front of us. This is the beach that many people staying in Hanalei and Princeville come to snorkel and it is only a few minutes up the road from HCR. One cloudy morning we went up to the lighthouse. Another day we took a helicopter ride out of Princeville with Sunshine Helicopters and our pilot, Bogart, was a source of historical knowledge about the island and the incomparable NaPali coast.

The shuttle service and local color provided by Rick, Joe and Mike were absolutely the best amenity at HCR as it is nearly impossible to park at Tunnels and we could go into Hanalei for lunch or have a drink at night without having to negotiate the road back. They were always on time to pick us up. We went as far as the St Regis on the shuttle just to see how the other half live. As one of the other HCR vacationers who was there on an expense account and could have stayed anywhere on the island including the St Regis said, "I'd rather stay at Hanalei Colony Resort!"

The front desk was always helpful the one or two times we interacted with them and there are books and games to borrow there. Each room has an umbrella in case of showers. Bring a flashlight so you can go out on the beach at night to see the stars.

Go. Listen to the surf. Look up at the amazing stars in the sky. Relax.

Room Tip: Second floor for best view of ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Very nice condo on a wild ocean beach only two or three miles from the end of the road at the Na Pali Coast. Beautiful, deserted beach with strong surf and ocean breeze all day. We had a very nice one bedroom unit on the second floor with large living room-dining room area, fully equipped kitchen and a spacious deck with a great ocean view. Probably 50 feet from the beach. Two bathrooms and a small partitioned area with a second bed. Lot's of dresser space, shelves, cabinets, which I find lacking at so many places. Very clean and well maintained, beautiful grounds. Close to Hanalei Bay, Tunnels Beach, Kalalau Trail, Ke'e Beach, Lumahilli Gardens. No AC, but don't need it with the cross breeze from the ocean through the louvered windows. Our flight from the mainland was cancelled and we were a day late getting there. The hotel did not charge us for the miissed night, even though they couldn't rent it out. Not many hotels would do that.

Room Tip: Ask for a second floor room for ocean view and breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hanalei Colony Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanalei Colony Resort

Address: 5-7130 Kuhio Highway, Haena, Kauai, HI 96714-9985
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Haena
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Haena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hanalei Colony Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kauai's only north shore beachfront resort is nestled on a gentle curve of white sand beach. These spacious 2-bedroom, 2-bath condominiums with complete kitchens are magically serene and bounded by Kauai's untamed beauty. Gourmet restaurant, day spa, pool, hot tub and coffee shop are all located on the beautifully menicured grounds. Located at the gateway to the famous Na Pali coast, Hanalei Colony Resort is totally unspoiled, unplugged and unforgetable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hanalei Colony Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanalei Colony Hotel Hanalei
Hanalei Colony Resort Kauai/Haena, HI

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hanalei Colony Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.