We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed resort in a superb location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hanalei Colony Resort

Save Saved
You added Hanalei Colony Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hanalei Colony Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   5-7130 Kuhio Highway, Haena, Kauai, HI 96714-9985   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Rainbow of Savings!
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Haena
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Relaxed resort in a superb location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

The stunning location and sense of isolation at HCR makes for immediate relaxation. This was our first trip to Kauai and I tossed up between staying at Princeville or HCR. We were so glad we chose HCR as Princeville would have been a very different experience. HCR is a low-key, low rise, laid back resort. Yes, the rooms are a little dated but what does that matter? They are spacious and comfortable. We splurged on a premium ocean front room and it was so worth it. Panoramic views from the huge windows and lanai, including back to Princeville - very pretty in the evenings as the lights came on along the cliff top. Nothing between you and the horizon except the ocean and the waves breaking on the shore. No need for a/c as those "gentle ocean breezes" keep the room cool.

The staff at reception are very pleasant and helpful. There is even a small lending library of good quality books for those days when it's just too wet to be outside.

Very handy to have the coffee bar and restaurant next door for times when we didn't want to drive back to Hanalei. A couple of times we bought fresh tuna from the fish market at Hanalei and cooked a simple meal. Also had good meals at the Mediterranean Gourmet restaurant. When we come back we will know that we can shop at the supermarket at Princeville on the way in, and also get supplies at the organic food store in Hanalei, just 10 minutes drive back down the road. Really enjoyed Hanalei township with its original wooden buildings, shops, some good casual eating places and beautiful setting. Plus Hanalei Bay is beautiful and the beach is great for swimming and body surfing, or surfing and stand up paddle boarders.

Had a traditional Hawaiian lomi-lomi massage at the spa next door - this was an amazing experience and as described, the perfect massage style for emotional rebalancing.

We wanted somewhere for a chill-out, relaxing holiday - HCR was perfect for this.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    179
    87
    29
    10
    7
See reviews for
98
144
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Once again HCR is a stunning place. Lots of upgrades and the pool area with BBQ facilities is great. I stay at a lot of hotels and the staff here is outstanding. true Aloha. The restaurant Mediterian gourmet is on the property and is right on the Ocean. Very convenient. They have added a new service A beach shuttle FREE to guests. No more parking hassle to go to Kee and Tunnels Beach. Also free t Hanalei and Princeville during the day. . Only $10.00 for a night trip to the North Shore restaurants. I will return.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms. Check out the Ocean Front or Ocean View units.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

This place is incredibly relaxing. The views from our large lanai allowed for both a mountain and ocean view. The proximity to the ocean means that you can hear the ocean waves crashing onto the beach 24 hours a day, falling asleep to the sound of the ocean and waking to it.
Several wonderful beaches (Ke'e Beach, Tunnels Beach) are a very short drive away. We hiked the Kalahau Trail which also is just a short drive away. However, you could stay out on the lanai the whole day and leave refreshed and at peace with the world.
The only negative I can think of is that the furnishings and rooms were a bit dated, but really, that means very little when most of your time will be spent enjoying the ocean and beaches.
We found the nearby restaurant (Mediterranean Gourmet) to be absolutely terrific.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bordentown, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

My husband and I discovered HCR in 1986 and have been back there many times since. It takes just one look out the window or the lanai doors and we are flooded with the feelings of relaxation. The beauty of the island is everywhere. Additionally, the staff is very welcoming
and always helpful. Kauai is such a beautiful island and the colony is the perfect place to
enjoy that beauty.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I have never been as relaxed as I was while staying at HCR. I stayed with 2 friends and we had a wonderful time, we could have stayed forever. It IS a bit of a trek from the airport and Lihue but don't let this deter you. It is isolated, but that's part of the beauty of the place. Hire a car and go exploring. You won't regret it, you'll come across some of the most beautiful scenery you've ever seen.
HCR has an amazing concierge, Stephen and he is one of the friendliest and most helpful people we came across on our entire trip. He made some fantastic suggestions for places we should check out and went above and beyond to make sure we had the best time. I can't say enough good things about Stephen, he was a delight!
The rooms are clean and very comfortable, like a home away from home. Oh, and you won't miss having a television or phone at all because the area is so pretty. We spent most evenings on the balcony, watching the sunset and having a glass of wine. It was exactly the getaway we had imagined.
I can't imagine anyone leaving here without having a wonderful time. A great experience overall. Go here. You'll love it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Colorado
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed at HCR for 3 nights of our 10 night trip to Kauai. I'm glad we waited until the end of the trip to stay here or else we would have never stayed anywhere else. Large deck off the room with beautiful sunsets over the ocean. No A/C, no worries. The ocean breeze through the openly designed rooms with ceiling fans keeps the place at just the right temperature. Convenient kitchen and great layout of the room. Service was great and the facility is in tip top shape. Thank you HCR.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

This is a special part of the world and the Colony fits in well. It is the perfect place to escape and unwind. No TV or phone is perfect for a part of the world that is so relaxed and calm. Services are good. Rooms clean, great beach. Staff are very friendly and helpful in assisting with tours and activities. There is a shuttle service to town, but a car is really a necessity on this island. We had a great stay here and will come back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hanalei Colony Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanalei Colony Resort

Address: 5-7130 Kuhio Highway, Haena, Kauai, HI 96714-9985
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Haena
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Haena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hanalei Colony Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kauai's only north shore beachfront resort is nestled on a gentle curve of white sand beach. These spacious 2-bedroom, 2-bath condominiums with complete kitchens are magically serene and bounded by Kauai's untamed beauty. Gourmet restaurant, day spa, pool, hot tub and coffee shop are all located on the beautifully menicured grounds. Located at the gateway to the famous Na Pali coast, Hanalei Colony Resort is totally unspoiled, unplugged and unforgetable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hanalei Colony Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanalei Colony Hotel Hanalei
Hanalei Colony Resort Kauai/Haena, HI

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hanalei Colony Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.