We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hanalei Colony Day Spa.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hanalei Colony Resort

Save Saved
You added Hanalei Colony Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hanalei Colony Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   5-7130 Kuhio Highway, Haena, Kauai, HI 96714-9985   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Rainbow of Savings!
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Haena
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Hanalei Colony Day Spa.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

My husband and I have enjoyed a romantic couples massage on the beach here the past five times we've been on the island. I strongly encourage you to book a massage for just after you arrive because it will set the tone for your entire trip. Imagine being in an A-frame hut on the beach, listening to the ocean and feeling the breeze, while an experienced masseuse/masseur rids your body of all post-travel aches and pains. You feel me here? It's not only relaxing, it encourages you to slow down and start concentrating on what Kauai is really all about -- a break from the real world. Professional, courteous and laid back. And it doesn't hurt that they have a coffee shop next door where you can pop in for a post-massage mocha:)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    179
    87
    29
    10
    7
See reviews for
98
144
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We loved our time at this resort. The location is simply amazing. We stayed in J1 which is an oceanfront condo and it had to be one of the best (if not THE best) views in the bunch. Beach is steps from the room and the views are amazing. Lots of space for four of us and we spent a lot of time on the deck. You will not find marbled bathrooms and a state of the art kitchen, but everything was comfortable and clean. The kitchen was equipped with everything we needed (except for a dishwasher). The restaurant looked a bit rundown from the front, but the inside was nicely decorated and the food was very good. We would definitely stay here again! The resort is somewhat remote and about 5 miles from grocery stores and other restaurants. But, it is very close to great hiking and wonderful beaches for snorkeling. The lack of A/C was not a problem for us, but the weather was somewhat cloudy and cool when we were there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stayed here in February and loved every minute of it. The location is beautiful, and just remote enough to be romantic and relaxing. The rooms were clean and nicely decorated and the staff was helpful and friendly. The town of Hanalei, our hands down favorite on Kauai, is a ten minute drive and features many good restaurants, surf shops, and a great yoga studio. Come to Kauai and stay at Hanalei Colony!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun City West, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We have stayed at the Colony Resort three times and I am looking forward to a return visit soon!
The condos are lovely- They each have their own décor and are very clean and bright without feeling overly stuffy. You feel right at home right away!
We love getting a condo with a view because the weather can be a little unpredictable so you can use their lovely private beach for sunning and snorkeling and then if it gets grey and you know it's going to rain for a little while, it's paradise to go and snuggle up on a couch and see the waves and listen and watch a great passing storm. Curl up with a book or plan your next hike.
I LOVE this place and someone mentioned that the private beach is not good for swimming?
I don't get that at all. Some of the best swimming and snorkeling has been spent on that beach.
Snorkeling without the masses spending so much time with sea turtles alone.
The restaurant is great and the coffee house pulls a great espresso. The gift shop is also nice with a nice selection of art and jewelry.
The pool is a little small but it's quaint and usually you'll have it to yourselves.
The staff is wonderful and we fell in love with the cats that live on property. Can't remember the name of the cat with the short tail but he spent a few nights with us which was great for us because we missed our kitty at home.
We booked the first part of our trip on the South Shore and every morning at 7am the mowers and leaf blowers would start. It's very noisy and too many people. The only plus to the south shore are the restaurants. We left the south shore early and checked in early at the Colony.
You can catch the farmer's market in Hanalei and come home to the Colony resort and make the most delicious meals.
When I'm stressed and think of a place I'd like to be it's always the Hanalei Colony Resort.
It's location, it's laid back feeling and staff combine to make perfection.
Check it out and you won't want to go anywhere else. You really feel like you have been on vacation after a stay here!
Aloha! See you soon and cannot wait!

Room Tip: Because the weather changes quickly on the North Shore, splurge and get a room with a view. It's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

My husband, daughter, and I loved our time at Hanalei Colony Resort! Arriving a few days before Christmas, we enjoyed a low-key holiday which included this wonderful condo in front of which palms swayed over a lovely grass courtyard that led to the beautiful sandy beach. The on-site restaurant was fabulous, and we were close to many wonderful parks, trails, and beaches.. Little Hanalei is right down the road, with a Saturday market, grocery stores, shops, restaurants and a historic church where we attended the Christmas Eve service. This resort gives you the privacy that you desire, along with options for getting to know other people. There were crafts, a brunch, and a cocktail hour scheduled during our week. The condo is fully equipped for cooking and barbecuing, with a wonderful deck and two large bedrooms. A real gem!

Room Tip: We were in the Hibiscus unit, which was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Kauai is a special place. The North end of the island is much different than the south end where the large resorts are located.

The North end is very laid back on the island that is the most laid back of all of Hawaii. Make sure you check out the Farmers Market. Very colorful and local produce can be purchased. The Farmers Market also has many vendors that are selling crafts for less than the local gift shops.

The Hanalei Colony Resort is off by itself on the North end of Kauai. It is an older property set up in a condo arrangement. The kitchen allows preparation of some meals which saves on the travel budget. There is a restaurant associated with the property, but it was expensive.

Out stay at the Hanalei Colony Resort was very relaxing. Nothing fancy, but it delivered good value for the money. This is not a place where you would stay for just one night. It is a property where you would stay for several days soaking in the local color and great weather. We had a much different experience at Hanalei Colony than we experienced at a Kauai resort on the south end of the island.

Kauai is famous for wild chickens wondering all over the island. The chickens are colorful, but can be very irritating when they start crowing at 4AM. We did not experience that problem at Hanalei Colony, because there is a population of “working cats” on the property that keep the chickens away. After your first trip to Kauai you will understand the chicken problem more clearly.

Room Tip: Close Highways: If rain is forecasted the day you plan on returning home or the day before you leav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

On our first vacation together, pre-marriage, my beloved and I stayed in Princeville; thirty years later, we decided to revisit the North Shore of Kaua'i and picked this place. It is remote, compared to Poipu or Kapa'a, and some of the food establishments are very, very popular. I'll review a few outside of this one.

The staff was gracious and the rooms were very spacious. We had some qualms about a lack of air conditioning, but with louvers and plentiful ceiling fans, the temps were not a problem. The bed was very comfortable, but the pillows were a bit lumpy/old. Still, we slept well!

The grounds are well-maintained, but not with the fanatic leaf-blowing, tweezer-mentality of some properties. You won't get awoken at 7am, "rest" assured.

Beaches: the local one isn't for swimming, but it's pretty. Luckily, Haen'a and Tunnels are a short drive and there is superb snorkeling at both. Ke'e was high surf in Late April, and so crowded that we didn't go there - just bypassed it on a drive. We'd hiked the Kalalau Trail multiple times, and we weren't in the mood for a fifth this trip, though it is very worth the effort if you haven't accomplished it previously.

The local restaurant is quite good, perhaps the only one on Kaua'i that has a Mediterranean menu. Their Ultimate Mai Tai is really, really good. Don't forget that you get a drink free - on Thursdays - as a guest. We also had two GREAT massages at their spa. Did I say GREAT? Go there. The Gift Shop has some very nice jewelry and fossils - we got a pair of split Ammonites for a very nice price - though I had my eyes on Maori jewelry, we decided that I had a sufficient 'gallery'..

Room Tip: Don't spend too much time in your room - you are in Kaua'i not to be in a room! All are fin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hanalei Colony Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanalei Colony Resort

Address: 5-7130 Kuhio Highway, Haena, Kauai, HI 96714-9985
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Haena
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Haena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hanalei Colony Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kauai's only north shore beachfront resort is nestled on a gentle curve of white sand beach. These spacious 2-bedroom, 2-bath condominiums with complete kitchens are magically serene and bounded by Kauai's untamed beauty. Gourmet restaurant, day spa, pool, hot tub and coffee shop are all located on the beautifully menicured grounds. Located at the gateway to the famous Na Pali coast, Hanalei Colony Resort is totally unspoiled, unplugged and unforgetable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hanalei Colony Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanalei Colony Hotel Hanalei
Hanalei Colony Resort Kauai/Haena, HI

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hanalei Colony Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.