We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A '70's era beach resort with outstanding views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hanalei Colony Resort

Save Saved
You added Hanalei Colony Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hanalei Colony Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   5-7130 Kuhio Highway, Haena, Kauai, HI 96714-9985   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Rainbow of Savings!
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Haena
Kingwood, Texas
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“A '70's era beach resort with outstanding views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

A long drive (over one hour) from Lihu'e and over several one way bridges brings you close to the ocean for this remote island resort. Our flight was 5 hours delayed (see my review on Go Airlines) thus we came in at midnight and you just keep going on Hwy 560 in the dark until you see the sign. Coming in late was no problem as the office has a lock box which had our room key and a map. It is a walk and up the stairs for second floor rooms so carrying your own luggage is a must. Also, be sure and stop at the Safeway on your way out of Lihu'e. Open 24 hours with all the selection that you get on the mainland if a bit pricier. We even found our favorite champagne. The rooms are not new (built in the 70's) and there was a mildew smell when you first walked in, but the location was absolutely perfect with views and sounds of the ocean. The beach, just a few steps away, went on and on. Kitchen had all the utensils needed and grills outside were perfect. Four days latter we left wanting to spend a few more days for hiking and sunning. No TV's or radios but Wi-fi throughout so you could connect to the outside world. Grounds are very well maintained though the doors of the units are old hollow core and anything with metal (screen doors) are corroded due to the high salt concentration in the air. Loved the sliding doors that split in the middle so you could open it up to bring in the breeze off the patio. Lovely location for couples or families who want to spend time together.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    89
    29
    10
    7
See reviews for
100
145
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We spent four nights here recently. The location on the north shore is spectacular, and we liked the relative isolation and simplicity of the place. It's a place for quiet walks on an isolated beach, not to see and be seen. Proximity to Tunnels and Ke'e beaches is great, as well as the Kalalau trail.

Stock up on groceries before you arrive (there's a grocer in Hanalei that isn't terribly expensive, but I'm sure Lihu'e has better deals). The resort has gas and charcoal grilling available, which is a nice way to stay outside a little longer.

The rooms are large but quite simple. I think the price is a little steep, but it sure is nice to hear the waves from your room.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

we spent for the second time a week in this resort, and it is just amazing!
nice, well equipped units, open to the Pacific, it feels at night as if you were sleeping on the beach.
close to the Beach from where youcan walk approx. 5 KM to mmet the end of it, where the cliffs fall into the Pacific. If you have seen The Island, or Jurassic Park, these movies were featured on Kauai, to give you an idea of the landscape.

Room Tip: the Ocean Front rooms are not the cheapest ones, but well... they are ocean FRONT!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

This is the place to stay if you want to take in the wonders of Kauai's beautifully dramatic north shore. There is no better location in the area; some of the best beaches in Hawaii (which hotels cannot build on), are a mile or so away -- a lovely walk -- and you feel like you're in the midst of a Gauguin painting, surrounded by all the lush tropical scenery.

The resort is low-key and perfectly laid out; there are views of the beach from almost every room. Our ocean-view room was further away from the beach than most, but our view -- over the expansive lawns to the sea -- was wonderful. In particular, I liked the creative layout of our accommodations; the wooden partitions that separated the two bedrooms from the living room area made the space feel large and airy, and not like a typical condo unit.

I'd also add that the room was modern, totally up to date, and furnished in a classic tropical style that played to the beauty of the surrounding area.

Sure, you could go to the huge marble slab that is the St. Regis Princeville, and have a tiny, unspectacular beach at your doorstep. Or you could rent one of the dozens of generic-looking condos in the Princeville complex, and feel like you never left California. But Hanalei is not Waikiki, or even Maui. This is not a good destination if all you want to do is lie in the sun. If you're going to go all the way to the north shore, you need to experience it first-hand, and be prepared to do some exploring. Hanelei Colony Resort is a perfect base for such activities. It's true that you can't swim at the beach in front of the hotel. But think of the trade-offs: Ke'e and Tunnels beaches are a leisurely 20 minute walk away. It doesn't get much better than this anywhere in the world.

Room Tip: Only rooms I wouldn't want would be the few garden-view rooms, though the setting is still lovel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey, USA
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed in a second floor oceanfront room and the view of the ocean (50' from the balcony) is just spectacular. The rooms are a little tired but basically clean. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Easy access to all the beaches and attractions in the Hanalei area. Not sure we would have been as happy in a first floor room - lots of windows and people walking by.

Room Tip: Second floor, ocean front
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Michigan, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

The Hanalei Colony Resort is a great place to unplug from everything. No TV's in the room. Went for a friends wedding and the resort put on a great ceremony and the Luau was amazing. A bit tricky getting there, but well worth the effort.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

While the other reviews represent this “resort” well, I just realized I could add my amateur video so you could see an ocean front room. In real life, the wind and ocean aren’t usually as loud as they seem here.

http://youtu.be/PMcGCrB-aok

We have stayed at HCR multiple times, one time accompanied by three other couples – we occupied four units that trip. Some things I didn’t notice on a quick read of some other reviews:

- This isn’t a resort in the sense of a lot of high end luxury. Much better than that, this is a comfortable bit of Kauai, and I believe it is the last multi-unit property on the island before you run out of road. Enjoy it as you would your own condominium.
- Getting here requires driving across several one-lane bridges. More than anything else, these quickly teach you that you are no longer in a hurry. You are really in the wrong place if want to rush to anything or anywhere.
- The outdoor grills are a significant part of the appeal here. Fresh fish from the market side of the Hanalei Dolphin restaurant is awesome. I’m not very social, but wholly enjoyed talking to the people I met at the grills – sometimes you have to wait a few minutes for one to free up.
- You’ll read that you can walk to Tunnels – but it’s too far for many or if you’re carrying a large cooler. If you drive, you’ll see that there’s very little parking by the beach, part of what keeps the crowds down, I’m sure. Drop off everything and everyone else in the car and drive on to Ha'ena Beach Park, walk back along the sand.

I consider this an ideal vacation for couples who enjoy quiet, but it’s short on things to do for most families with children, who will likely be better served in Kapa’a or Poipu – or, really, Maui or Oahu.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hanalei Colony Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanalei Colony Resort

Address: 5-7130 Kuhio Highway, Haena, Kauai, HI 96714-9985
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Haena
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Haena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hanalei Colony Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kauai's only north shore beachfront resort is nestled on a gentle curve of white sand beach. These spacious 2-bedroom, 2-bath condominiums with complete kitchens are magically serene and bounded by Kauai's untamed beauty. Gourmet restaurant, day spa, pool, hot tub and coffee shop are all located on the beautifully menicured grounds. Located at the gateway to the famous Na Pali coast, Hanalei Colony Resort is totally unspoiled, unplugged and unforgetable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Otel, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Hanalei Colony Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanalei Colony Hotel Hanalei
Hanalei Colony Resort Kauai/Haena, HI

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hanalei Colony Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;