We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“simple pleasure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hanalei Colony Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hanalei Colony Resort to your Saves list
Hanalei Colony Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   5-7130 Kuhio Highway, Haena, Kauai, HI 96714-9985   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Haena
Inverness
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“simple pleasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

This place is comfortable and affordable. We have stayed at Hanalei Colony Resort now four years in a row. We always seem to come during the winter time which is the windy season on the North Shore but still we love it. Sometimes it is even too rainy or windy to go to the beach so we just stay in and read good books. We really enjoy having no TV or radio or air-conditioning. You don't need it. The North shore is so lush and green and full of life. Staying out in the rooms facing the Ocean can sometimes feel like you are in the center of a storm but still warm and cozy. The rooms are clean and spacious. The kitchens are small but more than adequate. We usually stop off at costco for a full weeks groceries before checking in. Meals cooked in the room can be augmented with an occasional purchase or fresh poke in the grocery store or lunch from our favorite food truck,"the Hanalei taro and juice company". We especially love greeting Thumper the cat every morning when we go to the office to get the paper. it is wonderful to take early morning walks down to Tunnels beach to go snorkeling or a brief drive down to Kee'e beach at the end of the road, to lie in the sun, snorkel and occasionally feed the baby chickens from our lunch. With so many wonderful beaches the pool is redundant. There is LOTS to do and see on Kauai but for simple pleasure we love the Hanalei Colony Resort.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    95
    30
    10
    7
See reviews for
105
152
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

Stayed from 1/15/13 to 1/22/13. Loved this place. Clean rooms with everything you need. Rent beach chairs at Paddle & Pedal, on your way because they aren't provided there. The pool is nice, but you can hear the road noise. Coffee and gift shop is great! The dinner place is so, so. Would be nice if they had some lunch options for during the day. Looking forward to the next stay!

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I read the reviews, and it gets real confusing. This is where you go to get away. A Shama Thrush, Doves, Bullfrogs and roosters are our alarm clock. To hit the snooze button, just yell something. Our garden view is perfect. We had an odor for an afternoon due to a natural fertilizer being used. We only noticed it because of no breeze. The pool is almost unused. The beach is vacant. The waves are large, but the Tunnels beach is calmer and a short drive. Bring your food with you. Kitchen is well equipped, but you might need to ask for some items from HK. Nice restaurant on site, and lots of places to eat about a 15 minute drive away. Give the people in Hanalei and the North End your business. If you like all night parties and sirens and crowds, this might not be for you. Staff are outstanding and warm people. I can only say this about the people we have been in contact with here.

Room Tip: If you like ocean front. Try the premium rooms and you will not be disappointed. I like to be back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

Our stay was very nice but resort lacked some on amenities. We were greeted by cockroaches and a cat. Perhaps they should let the infamous Kauai chickens patrol for insects.... we loved the solitude and beaches but a small store or vending machines, instead of a art gallery/coffee shop would be nice. Its a hike go town. Fish was great in restaurant. Continental breakfast Fridays was pretty mediocre. Don't think I'd return.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stayed in early january during a storm and it was very windy and exposed- not surprising for this time of year on the north shore. It's really one simple room with folding screens to divide 2 sleeping areas and the kitchen area, so it's not private or quiet, especially with the howling wind. Good access to beach. Our room was more worn than the other ones in our party. To get to pool area you have to walk across worn-down lawn and down a somewhat grubby driveway, and it's locked so you have to remember to bring a key. The pool itself is right on the road so it's noisy and just not that inviting.
Restaurant is surprisingly good, and the spa offered excellent massages.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We spent 10 nights at HCR (well, with one exception when we were camping at Kalalau Beach). Highlights: Delightful staff (thank you Cissie and Stephen Steven?) for all your help and many answers to our questions). Serene location - we wanted to get away from it all. Conveniences of home - loved cooking eggs and making coffee, then sitting out on the lanai and watching the waves; were able to do (cheap) laundry during our long stay. AMAZINGLY comfortable bed. Conveniently close to Hanalei for surfing, kayaking, restaurants, groceries. Also conveniently close to gorgeous beaches and the Kalalau Trail - definitely one of the reasons we looked in that area. Be advised: it might rain, a lot. We were totally fine with the rain and had expected it. The noise from the wind at night was a bit of a problem and kept us awake most of the night twice in a row, but it was an unusual circumstance. Overall, I would love to stay here again and think it's wonderfully appropriate for couples looking for a quiet getaway or for families looking for a more spacious way to stay together near fun activities.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed 3 nights here. We had a Premium Ocean Front Room and the view was amazing. We could walk right out to the beach/ocean.

The room was average; dated and showed signs of age, but very clean. We did not like the accordion style doors either(another review mentioned this), they were hard to open. The staff was friendly but I noticed the on-site manager to be extra friendly.

A couple things to note, they do not have a concierge on Sunday or Monday which was disappointing (We arrived Sunday and left Wednesday morning). Also, apparently the spa books up in advance so book ahead of time if you want a massage. The restaurant was nice and had good food. This resort also has a little coffee/art shop on the premises. I found the woman who works there a bit abrasive (with a smile) but the man that works with her was very accommodating to our special request (a chocolate milkshake vs a mocha shake for my daughter). He was a bit more willing to go that extra mile (:

I thought it had a very romantic atmosphere. My young kids thought the view was nice but prefer hotels that have more things to do (exciting pools with slides, etc).

It is close to beaches and tourist attractions (dry cave and wet caves). The North Shore is a must see. I found the resort a bit expensive for what you get but the view is really amazing.

Don't grocery shop in Princeville, it is very expensive. The shops in Hanalei are worth a look.

Room Tip: Premier Ocean front was worth it!! Just keep in mind the ocean is very loud, even with the windows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hanalei Colony Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanalei Colony Resort

Address: 5-7130 Kuhio Highway, Haena, Kauai, HI 96714-9985
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Haena
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Haena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hanalei Colony Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kauai's only north shore beachfront resort is nestled on a gentle curve of white sand beach. These spacious 2-bedroom, 2-bath condominiums with complete kitchens are magically serene and bounded by Kauai's untamed beauty. Gourmet restaurant, day spa, pool, hot tub and coffee shop are all located on the beautifully menicured grounds. Located at the gateway to the famous Na Pali coast, Hanalei Colony Resort is totally unspoiled, unplugged and unforgetable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hanalei Colony Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanalei Colony Hotel Hanalei
Hanalei Colony Resort Kauai/Haena, HI

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hanalei Colony Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.