We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hanalei Colony Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hanalei Colony Resort to your Saves list
Hanalei Colony Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   5-7130 Kuhio Highway, Haena, Kauai, HI 96714-9985   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$240 Ocean View Suites
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Haena
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Location, location, location.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

Our stay was very nice but resort lacked some on amenities. We were greeted by cockroaches and a cat. Perhaps they should let the infamous Kauai chickens patrol for insects.... we loved the solitude and beaches but a small store or vending machines, instead of a art gallery/coffee shop would be nice. Its a hike go town. Fish was great in restaurant. Continental breakfast Fridays was pretty mediocre. Don't think I'd return.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    92
    30
    10
    7
See reviews for
102
150
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stayed in early january during a storm and it was very windy and exposed- not surprising for this time of year on the north shore. It's really one simple room with folding screens to divide 2 sleeping areas and the kitchen area, so it's not private or quiet, especially with the howling wind. Good access to beach. Our room was more worn than the other ones in our party. To get to pool area you have to walk across worn-down lawn and down a somewhat grubby driveway, and it's locked so you have to remember to bring a key. The pool itself is right on the road so it's noisy and just not that inviting.
Restaurant is surprisingly good, and the spa offered excellent massages.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We spent 10 nights at HCR (well, with one exception when we were camping at Kalalau Beach). Highlights: Delightful staff (thank you Cissie and Stephen Steven?) for all your help and many answers to our questions). Serene location - we wanted to get away from it all. Conveniences of home - loved cooking eggs and making coffee, then sitting out on the lanai and watching the waves; were able to do (cheap) laundry during our long stay. AMAZINGLY comfortable bed. Conveniently close to Hanalei for surfing, kayaking, restaurants, groceries. Also conveniently close to gorgeous beaches and the Kalalau Trail - definitely one of the reasons we looked in that area. Be advised: it might rain, a lot. We were totally fine with the rain and had expected it. The noise from the wind at night was a bit of a problem and kept us awake most of the night twice in a row, but it was an unusual circumstance. Overall, I would love to stay here again and think it's wonderfully appropriate for couples looking for a quiet getaway or for families looking for a more spacious way to stay together near fun activities.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed 3 nights here. We had a Premium Ocean Front Room and the view was amazing. We could walk right out to the beach/ocean.

The room was average; dated and showed signs of age, but very clean. We did not like the accordion style doors either(another review mentioned this), they were hard to open. The staff was friendly but I noticed the on-site manager to be extra friendly.

A couple things to note, they do not have a concierge on Sunday or Monday which was disappointing (We arrived Sunday and left Wednesday morning). Also, apparently the spa books up in advance so book ahead of time if you want a massage. The restaurant was nice and had good food. This resort also has a little coffee/art shop on the premises. I found the woman who works there a bit abrasive (with a smile) but the man that works with her was very accommodating to our special request (a chocolate milkshake vs a mocha shake for my daughter). He was a bit more willing to go that extra mile (:

I thought it had a very romantic atmosphere. My young kids thought the view was nice but prefer hotels that have more things to do (exciting pools with slides, etc).

It is close to beaches and tourist attractions (dry cave and wet caves). The North Shore is a must see. I found the resort a bit expensive for what you get but the view is really amazing.

Don't grocery shop in Princeville, it is very expensive. The shops in Hanalei are worth a look.

Room Tip: Premier Ocean front was worth it!! Just keep in mind the ocean is very loud, even with the windows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

I was expecting beautiful accommodations for the price we paid and the reviews I read. I was very disappointed. The Premium Oceanfront was smaller than we expected. There are no actual rooms, just accordion style doors that did not reach the ceiling and afforded very little privacy. The bathroom had rust on the fixtures and the bathtub was stained. Not what you would expect for such a highly rated hotel. Also, this area is very windy which makes it loud at night as the wind whips around the building (although there is not much the resort could do about this issue).

On the plus side, I will say the views were stunning. The pool area was also quite spectacular with two grills, nice tables and chairs, and a nice reprieve from the wind.

The onsite restaurant Mediterranean Gourmet was a pleasant surprise and we had a wonderful dinner here. And the location was good if you plan to hit the trailhead nearby.

However, In all honesty, I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCRManagement, Public Relations Manager at Hanalei Colony Resort, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
-- Aloha and thank you for taking the time to write and share about your recent experience at Hanalei Colony Resort. We are delighted that you enjoyed the stunning views our property had to offer and we are also glad that you had a wonderful dinner at our on-site restaurant, The Mediterranean Gourmet. It is also great that you were able to make use of our wonderful pool area and find some refuge from the windy weather we were experiencing! However, we are most disappointed to hear that your stay was not only disappointing and less then exceptional, but that the weather was not cooperating as well. Our 850 square foot units were designed with the mahogany louvered doors as dividers, that do not reach floor to ceiling, to allow the natural trade winds and island breezes to move through out the units for maximum comfort. We apologize that this was not made clear to you upon booking your reservation. We welcome further discussion regarding your stay and encourage you to connect with us at 808-826-6235. We wish you a wonderful 2013!

Warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasper, Alberta, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

The appartments are in great shap, very well equipped and very clean. Don't go for anything else than a Premier Oceanfront Appartment: The first view in the morning is the sunrise over the mountains and last "noise" you hear is the roaring of the waves on the coast - 20 yards away from your patio. It is a romantic, individual place - not a big hotel. The restaurant next door as well as the coffeeshop are great options (go to the Luau in the restaurant, $20 cheaper than on the East or South coast and much more authentic!). Staff at the resort is very friendly and accommodating. It is a great value for your money and one of the most perfect spots on Kauai!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

I booked our room online and even spoke to someone at the resort prior to our arrival for some recommendations on a helicopter tour. We arrived and check-in was a breeze. I was so excited to see our Deluxe Ocean front condo. And my husband was completely blown away, as was I and our daughters. Our view was breathtaking. It was everything we had hoped for and more. We stayed for 3 days; I wish it could have been longer, but we were headed to a President's club trip on Maui.

We prepared some of our meals in our place, enjoyed happy hour on the property and had the most wonderful time ever!! We did not miss the tv and the sound of the ocean was an awesome way to fall asleep every night. The pool area is great, complete with a covered area for dining, a waterfall, showers and a BBQ grill for preparing your food poolside. We will recommend this amazing resort to anyone we know heading to Kauai!! And, best of all, we know that we will be back one day. We have stayed in some pretty amazing hotels and resorts, in fact, when we left Kauai and headed to Maui, we stayed at the Grand Wailea, which was spectacular. But, honestly, this is more my cup of tea and I loved every single minute in this little piece of paradise!!

Room Tip: We chose the Deluxe Ocean Front Room - worth every penny!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hanalei Colony Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanalei Colony Resort

Address: 5-7130 Kuhio Highway, Haena, Kauai, HI 96714-9985
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Haena
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Haena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hanalei Colony Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kauai's only north shore beachfront resort is nestled on a gentle curve of white sand beach. These spacious 2-bedroom, 2-bath condominiums with complete kitchens are magically serene and bounded by Kauai's untamed beauty. Gourmet restaurant, day spa, pool, hot tub and coffee shop are all located on the beautifully menicured grounds. Located at the gateway to the famous Na Pali coast, Hanalei Colony Resort is totally unspoiled, unplugged and unforgetable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hanalei Colony Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanalei Colony Hotel Hanalei
Hanalei Colony Resort Kauai/Haena, HI

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hanalei Colony Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.