We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Oceanfront, great facilities and peaceful location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hanalei Colony Resort

Save Saved
You added Hanalei Colony Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hanalei Colony Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   5-7130 Kuhio Highway, Haena, Kauai, HI 96714-9985   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
June
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Haena
Jasper, Alberta, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful Oceanfront, great facilities and peaceful location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

The appartments are in great shap, very well equipped and very clean. Don't go for anything else than a Premier Oceanfront Appartment: The first view in the morning is the sunrise over the mountains and last "noise" you hear is the roaring of the waves on the coast - 20 yards away from your patio. It is a romantic, individual place - not a big hotel. The restaurant next door as well as the coffeeshop are great options (go to the Luau in the restaurant, $20 cheaper than on the East or South coast and much more authentic!). Staff at the resort is very friendly and accommodating. It is a great value for your money and one of the most perfect spots on Kauai!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    174
    82
    29
    11
    7
See reviews for
91
142
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hudson, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

I booked our room online and even spoke to someone at the resort prior to our arrival for some recommendations on a helicopter tour. We arrived and check-in was a breeze. I was so excited to see our Deluxe Ocean front condo. And my husband was completely blown away, as was I and our daughters. Our view was breathtaking. It was everything we had hoped for and more. We stayed for 3 days; I wish it could have been longer, but we were headed to a President's club trip on Maui.

We prepared some of our meals in our place, enjoyed happy hour on the property and had the most wonderful time ever!! We did not miss the tv and the sound of the ocean was an awesome way to fall asleep every night. The pool area is great, complete with a covered area for dining, a waterfall, showers and a BBQ grill for preparing your food poolside. We will recommend this amazing resort to anyone we know heading to Kauai!! And, best of all, we know that we will be back one day. We have stayed in some pretty amazing hotels and resorts, in fact, when we left Kauai and headed to Maui, we stayed at the Grand Wailea, which was spectacular. But, honestly, this is more my cup of tea and I loved every single minute in this little piece of paradise!!

Room Tip: We chose the Deluxe Ocean Front Room - worth every penny!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

My husband and I stayed at HCR last February 2012 for our Babymoon. Being about 6 months pregnant I wasn’t sure what my stamina and tolerance (of everything …people, places things) would be like. This condo was perfect, especially for a moody preggers girl. The reviews I read were accurate and so is their website. It was a quiet, mellow property. Sure, it was a bit weathered but that is normal being so close to the ocean. It felt like being in your own home vs a guest in a hotel. The cleaning people didn’t come every day which was nice.. It felt more private. The kitchen had all the basics that you need. There were no phones or TV which worked out great…we spent our time looking at the photos/videos we took during the day. There was wireless internet so we did get our digital ‘fix’ when we fired up our laptops. The staff basically consisted of 2 front desk people and they were both so personable, it was like talking to friends. It’s also right on the beach which from what I recall is hard to find in this area of the island. I’m not much of spiritual “zenny” type person but this property (and the Island) really put me in that frame of mind. So ya, if you are looking for a chill place to stay, you will be happy here.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We love this place! We have stayed her over a dozen times and would never consider any other place in Kauai. We bring new friends and they always fall in love with it as well. The atmosphere is welcoming and very casual. The restaurant on the property is a treat and has a wonderful authentic luau which we really enjoyed. Great place for kids too.

Room Tip: There is nothing better than a premium oceanfront. Ocean breeze and wave noise is all you hear. Wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

HCR is an incredibly beautiful tribute to the innate beauty of Kauai. The resort captures the raw energy and majestic scenery of Kauai, packaging it in a very comfortable, nurturing environment to relax, recharge and rejuvenate. The units are clean, comfortable and provide amazing views of the ocean, with the sound of the waves lulling you off to sleep at night. Yes, you really can hear the ocean from your bedroom! The staff if very helpful and friendly. THe best part about this place is that it encourages you to disconnect from the busy world of TV, loud noises and overpriced hotel commodities. You get basic, top notch service for the best experience on the island. We've stayed at HCR for the past two years and plan to do the same for many, many more!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We are on our last day at HCR. We used the "Ultimate Kauai Guidebook" to help with our decision to stay here and it has met our expectation in every way. Location: dropped out but not too dropped out; ocean steps away and a short drive to good snorkeling; You can't swim directly out front but the beach is beautiful for walking. The wind is a constant and it will probably rain at some time each day - we knew that by doing our homework; a drive into Hanalei is an adventure in itself on narrow roads hugging the cliffs, navigating one lane bridges, etc. Pick up groceries along the way here.
Facility: We stayed in unit K3 which had a great view of the ocean. It is open, breezy, usually quiet. I think these units must be individually owned as there were pictures of the grandkids. It was clean - tile and "wood" laminate flooring (easy to keep clean) - everything else in the pictures is accurate - King and two twins, one full bath near the twin beds, half bath (with small shower) off the main entry. Kitchen had every utensil you can think of (including BBQ utensils), cheese grater, collanders, bowls, pots and pans, blender, toaster, coffee maker (a few filters and couple pkg of decaf coffee, sugar, creamers, tea), salt/pepper - and a "Brisker"- looks like a breadbox - you plug it in and put your crackers and other items you want to stay crisp in it. If you leave food out here, you will have ants, just like any place in the tropics. Bring Zip lock bags or keep everything in the fridge. They have recycling bins - rinse your cans or take them out right away. The king size bed was a little too soft for me, my husband thought it was okay - I think it may need replacing. Pool/kitchen BBQ and jacuzzi area very nice - never anyone there the times I went over. Tried the Mediterranean restaurant one night. It was fine, we just didn't want to spend too much on food. Hot Mama's made the best burritos we'd ever had - just back down the road a piece. There are lounge chairs on the grass around the complex. Our unit had a beach chair in it - when we used it, it was marked for another condo so returned it to it's home. Beach chairs were $30 each at the grocery store we stopped at if you think you need one. On Tuesday afternoons there is a nearby farmer's market, Tuesday nights there is a Luau at the restaurant; live music and half price bottled wine on Wednesday nights, a free Mai Tai and pupus (appetizers) with belly dancing on Thursday nights, free continental breakfast on Friday mornings. There is an onsight spa and the massage was pretty good - only men masseuse and didn't realize that until it was too late but he was very professional.
Housekeeping comes after your third night. This was perfectly fine. You can always go to the housekeeping office and exchange towels/linens if you need. They also have coffee packages and additional toiletries if you need - we never like hotel soap/lotion anyway and bring our own. There are a couple beach towels in the condo and you can pick up more/exchange for clean there if you need.
Snorkeling: It all depends on the weather and planetary alignment for the day. Tunnels was average, Anini not good at all although a couple people on the beach said they saw a turtle - Ke'e was the best but you have to be there by 0800 to get a place to park and by noon it is pretty crowded (there on Wednesday). Walk on down the beach a ways and you'll get away from the herd. My husband hiked the first two miles of the Kalaulau trail that starts there and thought it was pretty - but again, crowded. (it is strenuous and a lot of rock scrambling involved so he was surprised so many people were on the trail - if you go the full 11 miles -one way- you'll have more of the place to yourself - permit required to go beyond the 2 mile point).
We've been happy with our choice and thought it was a good value.

Room Tip: Top floor - look at the complex layout - most rooms have an ocean view. The K building is nice as it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

The resort is definitely not for those seeking entertainment or swimming at the beach with kids.
The surf is rough and dangerous in front of the condo. The only close restaurant is the Mediterranean restaurant next door and the food is way overrated there. We've eaten three times here and have been disappointed. The only other place to eat is down in Hanalei about 15 minutes drive and when you come back at night, it's rather unnerving to drive because of the dark narrow road and oncoming traffic headlights shining in your eyes.
All this said, it's a beautiful and remote area, but the rates they charge are too much for the accommodations. The kitchens are outdated as well as the bathrooms and even though the resort says the condos have 2 bedrooms, it's not that private as the other bedroom is only separated by folding shutters that close off from the living room. There are 2 single beds that slide under a large end table. Personally, I wouldn't feel comfortable sharing this condo with others. It's really best for 2 people. No housekeeping if you stay less than 3 days. The soap and shampoo provided in the bathroom is cheap and minimal. Not what you expect for the luxury prices you pay, but I suppose they can demand the high prices for the location.
It's not within walking distance to tunnels beach and when you drive up there, it's impossible to find a parking space unless you're willing to pay $10 to a local to park in his yard.

When you arrive, you're expected to haul your own luggage up the steps to your condo but they will loan you a wagon to pull it in.

They do have 2 computers and a TV over in the small room inside the restaurant.

Don't come here for swimming, snorkeling, entertainment, good restaurant food, TVs and lots of sun. But do come here if you don't mind paying the price for quiet respite from the usual busy resorts, cool constant tradewinds, some rain, isolation and uncrowded beaches.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCRManagement, Manager at Hanalei Colony Resort, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Aloha and Mahalo for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We appreciate your kind comment on our beautiful and remote area. However, we are greatly disappointed that your stay was less then exceptional. Thank you for stating clearly your challenges with the property. Your comments and feedback have been shared with our management team. We hope that you will return and allow us another opportunity to demonstrate the hospitality and aloha that Hanalei Colony Resort is known for.

With Aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hanalei Colony Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanalei Colony Resort

Address: 5-7130 Kuhio Highway, Haena, Kauai, HI 96714-9985
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Haena
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Haena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hanalei Colony Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kauai's only north shore beachfront resort is nestled on a gentle curve of white sand beach. These spacious 2-bedroom, 2-bath condominiums with complete kitchens are magically serene and bounded by Kauai's untamed beauty. Gourmet restaurant, day spa, pool, hot tub and coffee shop are all located on the beautifully menicured grounds. Located at the gateway to the famous Na Pali coast, Hanalei Colony Resort is totally unspoiled, unplugged and unforgetable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Hanalei Colony Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanalei Colony Hotel Hanalei
Hanalei Colony Resort Kauai/Haena, HI

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hanalei Colony Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.