We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hanalei Colony Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hanalei Colony Resort to your Saves list
Hanalei Colony Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   5-7130 Kuhio Highway, Haena, Kauai, HI 96714-9985   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$240 Ocean View Suites
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Haena
Redondo Beach, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“beautiful.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

We had a GREAT experience at this resort...the view was crazy beautiful. We spent the first night in a nice condo onsite..and then the next 3 nights in a premium oceanfront condo in the G condos...we chose the bottom floor-G-1 and that was HANDSDOWN the best upgrade I've ever done...the sand was 10 feet in front of us and the ocean just steps furthur..the place was beautiful..well kept..the kitchen was well stocked with cooking utensils. The pics of the pool area do not do it justice....there is a great barbeque area-2 nice big clean bbq's-2 big tables enough to fit 8 at each table...sofa and lounge chairs...refridge...bathrooms...all really clean and nice...with the pool and jacuzzi in front of you..a waterfall and koi fish pond..we just really loved this area and would have spent more time there if the condo's views hadn't been so spectacular!! Loved the porch...it was a little windy but it was a warm wind...The beach was beautiful...the ocean a little rougher than expected...directly in front was rocky...swimming shoes were needed directly in front...down the road there was some beachfront that looked better for wading... The staff was EXCELLENT. Very helpful and courteous...everyone we encountered was just really nice!! Again..the view was unbelieveable...so beautiful...loved this place..we all did.

Room Tip: Go for the premium beachfront if possible....it was worth the upgrade...hands down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    92
    30
    10
    7
See reviews for
102
150
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

Excellent room, very spacious, with great views out of many windows. Nice grounds. Awesome tropical setting with a remote feel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore, California
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

The north shore of Kauai is a magical place. And Hanalei Colony Resort is perfect for a couple or a couple with one or two children. In the past 20 years we stayed all over the island in either expensive hotels or uber expensive houses (with bedrooms we didn't need) and love the option of cooking for ourselves, so we leaned toward the expensive houses until we found HRC. They are well maintained and literally right on the ocean. Only four units to a building. Small, well equipped kitchens and cozy bathrooms. Decor is Hawaiian (not the Westin, but remember the location and the price point). If you need to be in the center of things, this isn't your hotel.

Oh and all of the fuss about not being able to swim here? One minutes north by foot (around the bend) is the most amazing reef protected stretch of beach on the North shore! In fact we decided to check out HRC because we kept driving to this beach and passing HRC! obviously the reviewers grousing about the swimming didn't walk along the beach very far. Of course the north shore has rough water in the winter, so take that into consideration when planning your trip to wonderful HRC!

Room Tip: If you want to hear the ocean then opt for Premimum Ocean Front or Ocean Front. If listening to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

I stayed in my cousin's premium oceanfront villa (J-4) for 2 weeks. To say that it was one of the most special places on the planet would be an understatement. This second floor unit is the one prominently displayed on the HCR website and it was a moving experience. The sunrises and sunsets were sublime. However being right on top of the beach... the roar of the surf was way too loud at night. My earplugs came in handy. Every night I would throw a steak or a nice piece of fish on the communal grill and got to know the nice guests and owners...Hawaiian style. Bring a small radio and tune-in KKCR the North Shore's public radio station for some old-school Hawaiian music. Inside the "Colony" are the Mediterranean Gourmet and the Hanalei Day Spa. Both authentic, healthy and unpretentious experiences not to be missed. Ask Darci at the spa for the Lomi Lomi massage...only in Hawaii. Superlatives can't quite describe my whole experience. This is one of the most spiritual places in the world.

Room Tip: Go Premium Oceanfront and ask for the second floor. Don't skimp on this feature.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

We stayed in the Hanalei Colony Resort in December 2011. We were 2 families of four. The 2 bedroom ocean front condo is truly paradise. The view is magnificent. You are as close to the beach as you can get. I loved sitting on the little balcony watching the ocean or reading a book. This resort represents the true feeling of Aloha. It is well maintained and comfortable. They bring you beach towels which you can exchange as you please. You have access to the pool, Jacuzzi and barbecues in the pool area. There are great beaches nearby, but the surf can be quite rough during the December month. There is a restaurant on the premises called Mediterranean Gourmet. The food is good, but pricy. The grocery store is nearby and the unit we stayed in had a full kitchen with every amenity you needed to cook. You can also barbecue at the pool area. The area is really picturesque with bridges and a narrow roadway. it can be treacherous to travel the roads at night. The restaurants nearby are typically pricey and overrated. We ate at Postcards Cafe. Despite a reservation, we had to wait quite a while for our table and the food was overpriced and average. We spent time at different parts of Kauai, but I highly recommend Hanalei colony resort deluxe ocean view units if you want to spend a few nights on the north shore.

Room Tip: Spend a little extra for the ocean front units. It's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

...unless you want to be in the centre of a vibrant town, which the resort is not - or unless you want TV (there are no TVs - but there is free wifi) or unless you want to be able to swim off your own beach (its too rough here)(but there is a pool).

But if you want to be nestled at the foot of the amazing mountains, with the wild sea lulling you to sleep at night, a very long beach for walks and sun bathing, and very comfortable accommodation - this is the place for you. Oh and the views from the condos are amazing too (depending which type you pick to stay in - which depends on how much you pay!). AND THERE ARE NO ROOSTERS! (Well done to the Resort for keeping them out!)
Hanalei town is a 5 minutes drive, but the resort has its own v good restaurant, a bar and a coffee shop as well as a BBQ area you can use - all v clean and well maintained. They offer housekeeping if you want it, which is a nice touch.
In the condos, kitchens are very well equipped. The beds are empire size i think, the linen good quality, beach towels are provided. All condos are spacious and have a terrace or a balcony (although not all face South for those amongst you who are sun worshippers). the decor is typically Hawaiian -bamboo furniture, big flower patterns on the fabrics - but its done with good taste.
You really cant go wrong with this place. Message me if you want more info.

Room Tip: You get what you pay for according to the views. The most expensive Condos face the beach, and are r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

Title says it all. It truly is an amazing location. We had a "premium oceanfront" villa, which had one of the best views I've ever seen in my life. That said, the Ocean View properties were also rather nice and at most 200 yards from the beach.

Definitely do: visit all the north shore beaches if you can: Ke'e, Tunnels, Anini. Go to Kalypso in Hanalei. Drink off the amazing wine selection at the Mediterranean Gourmet Restaurant next to Hanalei Colony Resort. Go boogie boarding here: http://maps.google.com/maps?q=kauai&hl=en&ll=22.09919,-159.30422&spn=0.002977,0.004823&sll=37.0625,-95.677068&sspn=41.546728,79.013672&hnear=Kauai&t=h&z=18

Don't: Waste your money on the wednesday Luau at the Mediterranean Gourmet Restaurant. Or if you do go, only show up for the last 60 minute when the Tahitian theme kicks in. Otherwise you'll need to drink coffee to stay awake!

Food: buy at big save in Hanalei and cook at your room or dine out at Kalypso for local surfer dive bar flavor. Avoid Bar Acuda. Overpriced and not worth it.

Things to know: Rooms are very huge but are somewhat dated. Good for all ages from honeymooners to seasoned citizens. Fires are OK on the beach!!! With a northern wind, the beach can be unusable. It's about 60' from LIH. Ke'e beach has some of the most amazing stargazing on this planet. Rent a convertible and hang out there at night.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for an upstairs room. If they have it they'll set you up. A/C is 100% not need...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hanalei Colony Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanalei Colony Resort

Address: 5-7130 Kuhio Highway, Haena, Kauai, HI 96714-9985
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Haena
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Haena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hanalei Colony Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kauai's only north shore beachfront resort is nestled on a gentle curve of white sand beach. These spacious 2-bedroom, 2-bath condominiums with complete kitchens are magically serene and bounded by Kauai's untamed beauty. Gourmet restaurant, day spa, pool, hot tub and coffee shop are all located on the beautifully menicured grounds. Located at the gateway to the famous Na Pali coast, Hanalei Colony Resort is totally unspoiled, unplugged and unforgetable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hanalei Colony Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanalei Colony Hotel Hanalei
Hanalei Colony Resort Kauai/Haena, HI

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hanalei Colony Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.