We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pass this one by” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Grinds Cafe & Espresso

Grinds Cafe & Espresso
4469 Waialo Rd., Eleele, Kauai, HI
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 9 Restaurants in Eleele
Cuisines: Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night
claremont, california
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Pass this one by”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

The menu looked good, but the food failed to meet expectations. My husband had breakfast, which was okay, but I had the hamburger, which was so tough I couldn't even chew it. The prices are high, and you get no sides with the meal as priced. An egg and toast, and a hamburger, no fries, cost over $20, and it wasn't even good. Go down the road to the Port Allen Sunset Bar and get a good meal for much less money.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    58
    13
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Not so loco moco!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

This place rocked! The loco moco and the not so loco moco were both so good, even now that I am back on the mainland its all I want! Their bakery items were also great, the apple roll, oatmeal raisin bar and their fresh bread were items worth their price!
Service was also great

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
513 reviews 513 reviews
406 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
174 helpful votes 174 helpful votes
“The Raod to Waimea”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

We were hungry for breakfast after getting a late start outta' Poipu. Read where this place served breakfast all day and decided to stop in. Small little shopping center restaurant with a mom & pop feel. Service was a little slow, but we were not in a terrible hurry. The coffee was good. It's hot chocolaty smell and the infusion of caffeine lifted spirits again after they had soared just a little too high the nite before. Blast those sneaky, fruity drinks!!
A big plate of fluffy scrambled eggs, so-so sausage, and well lubricated skillet potatoes had us refueled and feeling alive again. Others had the hash which they said was good, but a little too odoriferous and venturesome for me given a "woodhead" condition. The menu was full of omelette selections which looked good when other customers were served though none of us tried one.
Happy to feel almost human again, the road to Waimea Canyon suddenly seemed less daunting and we were glad to have found this little roadside life saver of a lonesome cafe.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Big portions, tasty!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

My husband and I stopped in for lunch. He had the loco moco which he said was the best on Kauai. That is saying something because he has had his favorite for years. I had the kalua pork skillet and it was fantastic. The staff was very friendly and we stopped by another time and got food to go and went to Salt Ponds for the sunset. For Kauai the prices were probably a little below average. Also, they serve breakfast all day long.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Top Contributor
269 reviews 269 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Great Homemade Food and Great Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

This is a Kaua'i eatery that has its act put together! There is great attentive service and the homemade food is wonderful! The area in the back of the cafe has a beautiful view! A true Kaua'i gem!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grinds Cafe & Espresso also viewed

 

Been to Grinds Cafe & Espresso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grinds Cafe & Espresso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.