We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an amazing experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holo Holo Charters

Holo Holo Charters
4353 Waialo Road, Suite 5A, Eleele, Kauai, HI 96705
808 335-0815
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$106*
and up
Ranked #2 of 13 Attractions in Eleele
Type: Tours, Adventure
Attraction details
Aurora
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“What an amazing experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Never did I imagine seeing all the amazing things we saw. First, seeing the Napoli coast from a boat instead of the helicopter put things into perspective. It was awesome going into one of the caves. Seeing the Napoli coast would have been enough and made the trip worth it. But then we headed over to the forbidden island for some snorkeling. I have never seen such an awesome sight. The corals and fish were so clear. We were able to see an octopus, an eel, and so many different fish. Lunch was just fine. I didnt expect fine dining but it wasnt but It was standard sandwiches and they had plenty if variety. So on the way back while I think everyone was happy with there trip we was a whale. I topped off the trip. The family cannot wait to do the trip again the next time we visit.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoloHoloCharters, Guest Relations Manager at Holo Holo Charters, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for sharing your fabulous day with us! We are so happy to know the tour went above and beyond your expectations. Thanks for bringing up a valid point, we are slightly biased, but we agree, seeing the Napali Coast from the sea is a completely different experience then seeing it from the air. Both offer a unique viewing perspective, seeing it from sea level really helps you feel the enormity of the massive 4,000 foot sea cliffs. Plus the caves, waterfalls, and all the marine life make it a trip not to be missed. Thanks for joining us and we look forward to your next visit! Mahalo and aloha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    515
    97
    29
    9
    21
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
el cerrito, california
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“On the “Leila”, the fastest catamaran in the trade.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Tours to the “wild” Napali Coast are major attractions in the tourist trade in Kauai. There are about a dozen companies offering a variety of these tours, most of them leaving from Port Allen. The most well-known outfit with the biggest advertising budget is “Captain Andy’s Tours”. Hence, they also get most of the trade. Captain Andy touts their two new luxury boats, which are also equipped with sails. But talking to the locals, they feel that the differences between these operators are small. The sails on these new boats are mostly for show. You need powerful engines to get there fast and back. Yes, you can use the sails when you are at your destinations, but sails would just decrease stability of the catamarans in a rough sea. And the seas there are usually rough.

From Port Allen the boats go south at high speed to go around the southeast corner of the island to get to the rugged Napali Coast. There they slow down to cruise and to allow the passengers to enjoy the scenery.

We took the sightseeing sunset trip from Holo Holo Charters, because “Captain Andy” was fully booked for the day we wanted to go. Which was probably just as well, because with “Holo Holo”, we boarded the “Leila”, a 65’ catamaran, which was touted as the fastest catamaran of all the charter companies operating in these waters. She can go as fast as 28 knots and indeed, going to the Napali Coast and back we were overtaking all the other catamarans. We needed about an hour and a half to get from Port Allen to our destination, a distance of about 38 nautical miles. If the seas are choppy, it is not necessarily a very pleasant trip. So cutting down the time of the trip is useful. By the way, a knot is equivalent to 1 nautical mile/hour, and a nautical mile is around 1.15 statute miles.

The scenery of the Napali is amazing but, with all the advertising hype, you would expect more. There was the big valley of Kalalau, steep cliffs thousands of feet high, hanging valleys, sea caves, not much visible wildlife, waterfalls, etc. There is a small creek falling down from a ledge about 50’ above sea level, creating a thin spray. Terry, our captain, claims that you should get wet from this spray if you want to get pregnant and then maneuvered her boat to allow those interested to get in the spray. Amazing how many of the female passengers tried to avoid the water.

On our way back we were served dinner, which was vegetarian lasagna, salad, and cookies. During the whole journey, right from the beginning, beer, wine, soft drinks, water, weak maitais and margaritas were freely available and served rapidly by the surefooted crew. Most of the passengers certainly couldn’t walk around without holding on to something, not even when they are sober. The boat stopped for a few minutes for us to enjoy the sunset, and off we went again. It was dark when we disembarked; it was a very enjoyable tour, after all.

The next day we drove up the Waimea Canyon State Park, and after a short hike we arrived at the Pu’u o Kita lookout, 5400’ above the coast, where we saw Kalalau, the big valley again. But this time the view was from high above, seeing the valley rolling out to the sea, where the sightseeing catamarans were cruising around.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoloHoloCharters, Guest Relations Manager at Holo Holo Charters, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share this detailed review! We always appreciate hearing from our guests. Sorry for any confusion, but just to clarify, you were on the vessel “HoloHolo”, which is our 65 foot powered catamaran and operates the Sunset Sightsee Dinner Tour daily. “Leila” is HoloHolo’s sister ship, she is a 50 foot powered sailing catamaran. Both of our vessels were designed and built here in Hawaii, specifically for our ocean and weather conditions. We hope you had a memorable journey and look forward to a future visit. Mahalo and aloha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lihue, Hawaii
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Must do while visiting Kauai!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Absolutely wonderful trips, the adventure to Ni`ihau with Wendal as our captain was one of the best things my wife and I have ever done, and we live here! We have been several times on the Napali trip both in the morning and afternoon, the boat is clean, food is great, and the captains and crew that we have dealt with have been outstanding! I highly recommend this to be on your "must do while in Kauai" list.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoloHoloCharters, Guest Relations Manager at Holo Holo Charters, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Guest,
Mahalo for sharing your experience! We especially appreciate your recommendation, it sounds like you have some experience for comparison. Thanks for joining us; it is always a pleasure to have kama’aina on board, we are glad you took advantage of this unique tour. Please join us again soon! Mahalo and aloha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenson Ranch, California, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Holo holo all the way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Very deliberate from the beginning about safety and totally dedicated to the cause of maximum tourist enjoyment. My wife, as some other passengers, were getting queasy when we got close to the Napali coast (higher waves), and they tried every remedy, including total sympathy, to make them feel as good as they could. Food was OK, not fantastic, but enough, as were the drinks.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoloHoloCharters, Guest Relations Manager at Holo Holo Charters, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Guest,
Mahalo for taking the time to share your honest thoughts with us and other readers, we always appreciate hearing from our guests. Unfortunately motion sickness can occur, even though our vessels are large and stable, we are touring on the open ocean. Hope your wife was still able to enjoy the spectacular views. Thanks for joining us. Mahalo and aloha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Catamaran Tour of the Napali Coast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

My husband and I were in Kauai in early October 2013. We chose Holo Holo Charters for a catamaran tour over a helicopter tour. We spent 2 weeks in Hawaii on 3 islands and this tour was my favorite part of the entire vacation. The crew was great, they make you feel welcome and tell you stories and give you history of what you are seeing. They also take pictures for you so we have some great memories. They provide breakfast and lunch and take you snorkeling. We actually swam with sea turtles! We took the 5 hour tour, when we go back to Hawaii I will definitely book with Holo Holo Charters again! Amazing and unforgettable experience. Also, they allow no more than 37 people on board which definitely makes it a more personable experience!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoloHoloCharters, Guest Relations Manager at Holo Holo Charters, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are so happy to hear our tour was the highlight of your vacation! Thank you! We really take our jobs seriously; our goal is to provide a memorable experience for all of our guests. So glad you have tons of great memories and photos to take home and enjoy for years to come. Thanks for letting our crew show you the true aloha spirit, we look forward to seeing you again as a “repeat offender”! Mahalo and aloha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Holo Holo Charters also viewed

 

Been to Holo Holo Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holo Holo Charters, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.