We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Let's Rock and Roll” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holo Holo Charters

Holo Holo Charters
4353 Waialo Road, Suite 5A, Eleele, Kauai, HI 96705
808 335-0815
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$106*
and up
Ranked #2 of 13 Attractions in Eleele
Type: Tours, Adventure
Attraction details
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Let's Rock and Roll”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We took the morning ride including the coast and the snorkeling for a total of 7 hours trip.

The boat is clean, comfortable and the staff is attentive to passengers.

In the morning when you cruise along the Na apali coast, the sun is in the background not facing the coast. The colors are probably not as spectacular but the landscape remains impressive.

Then we went snorkeing close to Nihau. Crystal clear water, depth of 20-30 feet with the exception of "the wall" where it drops to 120 feet plus deep. Bottom is nice to see and, if you're lucky (I was)' you can get a kiss from an Hawaiian seal !

Going back to Kauaï was an "exciting" ride if you love jumping waves and being rocked from side to side. The captain had told us before we left, so we were warned. When he put the music on (Born to be wild)' we knew it was going to be...mmmmm.....exciting. Ans it was. If you are sensible to motion sickness, it is not the best part of the trip for you. But if you like challenging ride then you'll be served.

I do recommand it.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoloHoloCharters, Guest Relations Manager at Holo Holo Charters, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thanks for your vivid description of your adventure! The Napali Coast is majestic, and truly looks different in all the various lights, we recommend doing a morning and afternoon tour to experience it all. Thanks for joining us and we hope you choose another adventure with Holo on your next visit to Kauai! Mahalo and aloha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    515
    97
    29
    9
    21
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Norman
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“good boat and crew”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

we had a small group snorkel adventure up the Napoli coast, lively crew and safety first. water is cool so wear a rash guard or light wet suit and use plenty of sunscreen

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoloHoloCharters, Guest Relations Manager at Holo Holo Charters, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thanks for sharing your quick observations about your recent tour; we always appreciate hearing from our guests. Glad you had an enjoyable tour and we hope you join us again soon. Mahalo and aloha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodi, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not much there”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Niihau trip...good boat, excellent crew. Three boat legs with a so-so hour snorkeling in the middle. Good narration but not much content. The trip was just too long for such mediocre snorkling

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoloHoloCharters, Guest Relations Manager at Holo Holo Charters, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are very disappointed to hear that your experience did not exceed your expectations. We have designed this tour over to Niihau the “Forbidden Island” and Lehua Crater specifically for the incredible snorkeling it offers. Of course, every day in and on the water is different, however this snorkeling opportunity routinely surpasses any snorkeling you can do off the shore of Kauai. The waters around Niihau offer incredible visibility and more marine life activity, we apologize that you did not experience this on your tour day. Thanks for joining us, hope you had a memorable stay on Kauai. Mahalo and aloha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great crew and experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

The boat was comfortable, the scenery amazing, and the skipper and crew did their best to make sure everyone had a great time. Even the food was pretty good!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoloHoloCharters, Guest Relations Manager at Holo Holo Charters, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Guest,
Mahalo for this short but sweet review! We always appreciate when guests take the time to share their experiences. We are very pleased to hear that you fully enjoyed the trip, thanks for joining us, hope to see you again soon! Mahalo and aloha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Excellent Day and so much fun!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We cruised on Aug. 9th and did the 7 hr. tour to the Napali Coast. We were briefed first thing by crew member Josh, and then walked down to Port Allen to the boat. Captain Glenn and the other crew members greeted us and got us settled. We began with the Napali coast, saw dolphins along the way. One dolphin even did a flip for us. Glenn was very informative and stopped anytime he saw wildlife. The coast was absolutely beautiful and can only be seen by boat or helicopter. After the cliffs, the crew took us all the way in a sea cave. Very cool!!! After this, we traveled to our snokel spot and saw sea turtles and monk seals. As I began to snokel and get off the boat, my camera was attacked to a float around my wrist, which got tangled up and broke. My camera was now in the ocean. Also, another women put her camera on the back of the boat and it sunk. The AWESOME AND WONDERFUL CREW, were able to recover both of them!!!! We got no pictures snokeling, but I was very, very happy to retrieve the camera!!! AWESOME TIME AND WHAT AN ADVENTURE!!! Thank you Glenn and crew! Hope some day we can return.
Jill Flake
Cincinnati, OH

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoloHoloCharters, Guest Relations Manager at Holo Holo Charters, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Jill,
Thanks for sharing your tour experience! We are so happy to hear that the crew was able to retrieve your camera. We are very proud of our hard-working crew members who often go above and beyond the call of duty; we understand how disappointing a camera loss can be, especially on vacation in Hawaii! We will definitely pass on your praises to the well-deserving crew, thanks for joining us and we hope you visit us again so you can get some snorkeling pictures to take home with you! Mahalo and aloha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Holo Holo Charters also viewed

 

Been to Holo Holo Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holo Holo Charters, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.