We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blue Cheese Please.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Duane's Ono Char-Burger

Duane's Ono Char-Burger
4-4350 Kuhio Hwy., Anahola, Kauai, HI 96703
808-822-9181
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 6 Restaurants in Anahola
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Santa Fe Springs, California
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Blue Cheese Please.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

The Blue Cheese Burger here is my favorite island burger that is served from an actual burger joint. A long term favorite of the local and surf community, get here before 6pm if you are looking to get your grub on. No alcohol or restroom available but there is a market next door where you can access both. Generous portions of fries and onion rings are the perfect guilty pleasure complement to your tasty burger. All burgers are served cut in half unless you request otherwise when ordering. Abundant outside dining is available with Kauai's infamous chickens seeking a tasty morsel or two. Great Kauai landmark.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    90
    33
    19
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Make it a point to stop here on your trip to the North shore”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

You don’t need more details than previously stated. It’s a roadside burger joint that delivers great burgers and fries, albeit among some expectant chickens roaming about. (Don’t let that turn you off; I’m a germ-a-phoebe and we happily ate their twice in 6 days). I recommend eating it while it is hot vs. taking it to go, but then I think hot food is always better.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“USed to Rave About this Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Just not as good as I remembered it. I used to get into arguments that Duane's was the best and way better than Bubba Burger. Food is still good, but seemed like the burgers were smaller and just not as good as I remembered. Still, I'd go back and support this local place. The burgers are still good, but I might not be as adamant as I once was about Duane's being the best.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Juicy Local Boy Burger - my husband has dreams about this burger”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Small burger joint tucked away on the side of the highway. Worth the stop, we enjoyed eating this juicy burger with cheese and teriyaki sauce and pineapple - it's so good that my hubbie has dreams about this burger. Definitely recommend. Grab your goods and head to the beach to enjoy your tasty goods with a view.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Service was good, and the food was very good (hey it's road side stand, not a five star restaurant). It is always fun to pick a menu item that you will never find anywhere else; and they have a large selection that you will not find anywhere else.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Duane's Ono Char-Burger also viewed

 

Been to Duane's Ono Char-Burger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Duane's Ono Char-Burger, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.