We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice, but not as nice as King's Land” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Grand Vacations Club at Waikoloa Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Grand Vacations Club at Waikoloa Beach Resort to your Saves list
Hilton Grand Vacations Club at Waikoloa Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   69-550 Waikoloa Beach Drive, Waikoloa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96738   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
AAA Discount
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Waikoloa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Very nice, but not as nice as King's Land”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

This review is for Hilton's Grand Vacation Club property. The other reviews seem to be for the Hotel property. My unit was a two bedroom, two bath with a full kitchen that was overlooking the golf course. Guests staying here have full access to the Hilton Waikoloa Hotel property and amenities. There is a free shuttle bus that takes you to the Hotel, King's Shops, and Queen's Marketplace. Great place for a quiet and relaxing vacation. The downside is if you don't leave the property, the swimming pool is very small, there is no on site fitness center (you have to walk to the Bay Club), and the pool bar closes at 7:00 PM (so no food or drinks available).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    183
    39
    12
    4
See reviews for
322
153
2
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

This resort has everything you need. A variety of classy restaurants, great snorkeling on the hotel grounds, awesome pools. The lagoon they have for snorkeling is really the best feature because you can see coral, sea turtles, all sorts of fish, and other ocean wildlife right there at the hotel. We had a great time watching the sunset every night too. There are a lot of activities you could do like paddle boarding, golf, luaus, etc. that we didn't get a chance to take part of. On an unlimited budget on the big island, there's no better place to go.

Room Tip: The more expensive rooms will have ocean views, but they are all awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We just spent a great week at the Waikoloa. The resort was enormous (hence the nickname "Walkalotta"). The facilities were breathtaking, the entire staff friendly and helpful, and the amenities were first rate.

One of the things that made the trip so enjoyable was the assistance of Carol, part of the Hilton Events and Activities staff. She bent over backwards to help us get the most out of our stay: recommending fun activities, helping us avoid those that weren't as much fun or as good a value, and then calling to coordinate the various activities.

Some other general comments and observations:

- There is an incredibly loud flock of birds that sing at sunrise (i.e. 5;15). Their sound is deafening. The hotel can't do anything about them ; the birds are a protected species. When we mentioned this at the desk, they moved us to another room with no trees nearby, so we slept in silence the rest of our trip.

- There is a neat feature available to guests: since many flights back to the mainland leave around 9 PM, you must checkout at midday, but your privileges on the property continue. Towards evening, you go to the front desk and they give you the key to a room for 45 minutes so that you can shower up for the trip home.

- The breakfast buffet is prohibitively expensive ($30/hd) unless you are able to get one of the package deals that includes breakfast vouchers. With those in hand, it is an enjoyable way to relax at the start of the day.

Our one complaint for the week:

- The Hilton decided that since their attendance was down for the week (it is slow season), they would take one of the two trams out of service, as we were told on several occasions by the staff. As a result, customers had to either walk 1/2 of a mile in the heat and humidity every time they wanted to get from their room to the main activities, or they would have to wait up to 25 minutes for the one tram that was making the rounds. For the price per night of the resort, that is the wrong kind of cost savings to try and achieve.

Room Tip: Do not choose a room in the north towers ("Ocean Towers") due to the incredibly loud and e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna,BC
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We really enjoyed ourselves here. It has everything one needs. The staff are great and everything is clean and nice. Our fav was the lagoon, it is so cool... you can go snorkelling in this lagoon and there are sea turtles, fish,eel(yuck). Bring your snorkel and mask with you, you can rent them but they where a bit dodgy. Our youngest was right in there checking out the turtles (he is 7 ) and it was very safe. The meals at the resort are quite expensive and there is not a lot close by so be aware. We went to the market and picked up basic breakfast for the kids otherwise it would have been around $20 per kid to eat (my kids can not eat $20 worth of food)
The hotel arranged a luau for us to go to and it was awesome totally traditional and very nice. It is the only one the hotel would arrange as they told us it was authentic and it was not that expensive BONUS! I think it was 30$ each most that we went to where 60-100 each so very happy.
The hotel is definitely a great stay although it is expensive. We loved it. I like good service and they had it.
The dolphin experience was not worth the cash it is the (same as everywhere else in Mexico )dolphin kiss click the camera that's it, the swim was us on a platform and dolphins swimming.
Still okay but not what I hoped for.
Great stay!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simsbury, Connecticut, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We were there for the last week of July and it was perfect in every sense. This was our second visit and we have made a pact to come back every two years. I find it hard to believe people were dissapointed with their stays. I can't think of one fault anywhere during our entire stay. From the staff; to transportation; to the big pool at the hotel; everything was wonderful!

As for the person who wants to request a third floor - you can't unless you use extra points like we did. They are premium units that fill up fast.

We are counting the days until we come back!

Thanks, HGVC Waikoloa!

Room Tip: Pay for premium and ask for a pool view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

This is an upscale condo. It is well decorated and clean. Quiet with beautiful view of golf course and lava fields. Lovely pool and close to other Hilton resorts and hotel. Second visit to this location.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We were guests of friends that had purchased a vacation rental here a year ago, we are fans of vacation rental properties so we knew what to expect. The property is very well kept and large with lots of amenities plus the pools have a dividing line between the Kiddies and the Adults which for us with no kids is perfect. There is plenty of diversity on the property and there is something to do for everyone even spend some quality time with some Dolphins if that's your thing. We did he ownership tour and we were very impressed with the knowledge of the sales team we did learn about the Hilton packages and how to spend the points properly plus we got a free drink.
A great weekend without a doubt with dinners at KPC and The Four Seasons and several Lava Flows at the many property bars....... :-)

Room Tip: if you want quiet book away from the pools as they turn on the waterfalls at 8:00am and of course th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Grand Vacations Club at Waikoloa Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Grand Vacations Club at Waikoloa Beach Resort

Address: 69-550 Waikoloa Beach Drive, Waikoloa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96738
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kohala Coast > Waikoloa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Waikoloa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Grand Vacations Club at Waikoloa Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly situated adjacent to championship golf courses, the premier location of the Hilton Grand Vacation Club resort provides an unsurpassed vacation setting. Hotel guests have access and charging privileges to the abundant facilities and amenities of the nearby Hilton Waikoloa Village hotel, including an enticing array of restaurants, boutiques, beaches and water recreation. Complimentary shuttle service is available between the Hilton Grand Vacations Club at Waikoloa Beach Resort, the Hilton Waikoloa Village, and area shops. Hawaii visitors staying at Hilton Grand Vacations Club at Waikoloa Beach Resort will enjoy spacious two-bedroom suites which incorporate a casually elegant tropical style, and feature a superb variety of upscale amenities and furnishings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Hilton Grand Vacations Club at Waikoloa Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Grand Vacations Club At Waikoloa Beach Hotel Waikoloa
Hilton Hotel Waikoloa Beach
Hilton Waikoloa
Waikoloa Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Grand Vacations Club at Waikoloa Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.