We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A week in Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Grand Vacations Club at Waikoloa Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Hilton Grand Vacations Club at Waikoloa Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hilton Grand Vacations Club at Waikoloa Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   69-550 Waikoloa Beach Drive, Waikoloa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96738   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Waikoloa
Redlands, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“A week in Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We had a very comfortable, well stocked accommodation. It was conveniently located. You definitely need to have a car and there is adequate parking. We were right on the golf course with outside access. Everyone was very helpful especially in booking activities and finding restaurants.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    230
    133
    24
    9
    4
See reviews for
223
108
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
brnpoodle
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

we found the experience very disappointing this year. The entertainment poolside has been moved around, deferred maintenance has slipped. repairs to room that were requested were not corrected. The view is terrific and the size of the condo was perfect for 3 people.The room was very comfortable and hey, it IS Hawaii:)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltongrandvacations, Manager at Hilton Grand Vacations Club at Waikoloa Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you for choosing Hilton Grand Vacations as your travel destination. We truly appreciate the valued feedback on your stay. We are sorry we did not meet your expectations.

Phillip Murray
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Stayed here for a week as a guest of a family member. As the other reviews indicate, it is a very nice condo style suite with two bedrooms and two baths. The large master suite has a king size bed with large shower, soaking tub and two sinks. The other bedroom has two full size beds with a separate bath with shower/tub combo and sink. The kitchen is nice with granite counter tops and full size appliances including oven, stovetop, microwave, and fridge with ice maker. There is a small combo washer/dryer in the closet too. Very handy! Each bedroom has a tv plus the living room so no battles over what to watch. The immediate area has a small clubhouse with a nice wading pool and hot tub. There is a small bar/snack area there too but I didn't try the food. Why eat out when you have a kitchen? The units themselves are inland from the coast. You won't see the ocean. they back up on the golf course or the road so you have little privacy. Thankfully there are good curtains in the rooms. Our room was clean and well appointed but the dishwasher didn't work at all well. A look at it revealed most of the jets were clogged with mineral deposits and plastic from improper use. If my home dishwasher was in such shape I'd replace it pronto.

As others have said, as a guest you have access to the Hilton over on the coast. Although with the exception of the swimming lagoon I don't know why you'd want to just wander around a large convention hotel for fun. I see enough of those for work. The tram, boat ride and lagoon are fun but only really worth half a day tops.

There is a good sized shopping district within the resort complex that has mostly high end specialty shops (Jewelry) and typical resort shops like sunglasses shops and the like. There is one small convenience/grocery store that stocks many items you will need for your kitchen (including beer and wine) but a real grocery is down in Kona 30+ minutes away. There are a few restaurants in the shopping center but we were not impressed. Macaroni Grill? Really? Why not just put in an Applebee's and be done with it.

The major, and I do mean major, disadvantage of this resort if that it is in the middle of nowhere! I mean nowhere! it is carved out of a barren lava field! There is nothing else within walking distance or even a short drive with the exception of one beach. If you want to see the volcano be prepared for an all day trip (3 hours one way!) on twisty two lane roads to the other side of the island. Want to see the tropical rain forests and the botanical gardens? Again, well over an hour one way. Want to head to Hilo or up Mauna Kea? You'll be on roads that make even this experienced Colorado and Pennsylvania mountain driver nervous. Even a trip down to the heart of old Kailua-Kona will take 35-40 minutes one way. If you want to see any of the big island other than the resort, and there is a lot to see, you'll be spending a lot of time in your rental car so get a good one.

So ask yourself a couple questions. What sort of vacation are you wanting? Do you want to sit by a pool or play a bunch of golf in beautiful weather year round? Do you want to eat at nice hotel restaurants or shop in some high end specialty stores? Then this may be for you. If you want to experience the uniqueness of the big island from swimming with sea turtles to the rainforest to the summit of Mauna Kea to the most active volcano in the world then realize you'll be doing a LOT of driving.

One final comment. The staff was uniformly excellent. Every single person we interacted with was friendly, professional and courteous. I have never experienced the level of excellence I experienced from this staff at any other hotel or resort I have ever been to. It wasn't just a few standouts either, it was everyone. They really hire good folks that take a lot of pride in their work.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trophy Club, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

The ideal place to relax and feeling home away from home. 2-bedroom apartments with two bathrooms and a large living/dining room, 3 TVs, kitchen fully equipped for 6 people, dishwaher, washer, dryer, fridge, micro wave - and all the "toys" you need(coffe machine, blender, toaster, etc.). Nice showers and bathtubs, great beds. Very nice interior of the rooms. Pools and hot tubs are close by, also grill places, tennis courts, gym. Big pools at Hilton hotel (5 minute drive) can be used. Good location for jogging and walking exercise. If you don't have a "plus" unit, you balcony and main bedroomwill face the street. But there is very little traffic, so really no big problem. "Plus" units face the golf course.

Room Tip: Plus rooms are quieter - but since there is hardly any traffic on road all the other rooms are fine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

The Hilton has everything you could need! Great family destination, as there are tins if things for all ages. Beautiful pools, wildlife and activities. The only downside is that there isn't actual ocean each access - really miss that! Overall an excellent getaway!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steamboat Springs, Colorado, USA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

We are owners at King's Land HGVC and used some bonus points to stay here New Years week. This is a spacious 2 bedroom complex. Stayed in bldg 16 which is right on the road. During the day the road noise precludes a peaceful experience on the lanai so beware if you do not opt for a "plus" unit. At the main pool we were dismayed with the excessive number of small pesky flies that like to land on you and literally "bug" you. Further taken aback by the fact that during our stay none of the pool cocktail tables were ever cleaned; glass rings, sand , etc , were there the whole time...maybe this is why there are so many flies? Nice to be able to use pools at the Hilton Waikoloa and King's Land...too bad we aren't polar bears. Water temp in those pools colder than the ocean as confirmed by our infrared thermometer, and we found the water in the apparently unheated Hilton Waikoloa to be un-swimable (their pool was basically devoid of people swimming for undoubtedly the same reason).Frankly we expect more from Hilton which is why we invested in King's land to begin with. HGVC should be a little embarrassed at least.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltongrandvacations, Manager at Hilton Grand Vacations Club at Waikoloa Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for choosing HGVC at Waikoloa as your vacation destination and for the valued feedback from your review. We truly appreciate your time and efforts to provide us the opportunity to continuously improve on our services. We apologize for having caused you any inconvenience and regret having done so. Your concern about the cocktail tables is not typical of our standards and have been addressed with the appropriate team members. In regards to the temperature of the pools at the Hilton Hotel, we have informed their management team of the issue.

Again, thank you for your patronage and feedback. We look forward to your return to our little piece of paradise.

Mahalo & Aloha
Phillip Murray
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

This is easily the best HGVC I have visited. Great condo style accommodation (2br, 2 bath + full kitchen) with all the amenities of a great family resort. The HGVC complex has a couple of nice little pools plus gym, tennis courts, etc., but the main advantage of being a guest at HGVC, is you have access to the Hilton Waikoloa hotel down the street which is the best resort on the island (not my opinion...I heard this from many locals).

The Hilton hotel is an awesome place to take your kids. Huge pools with waterfalls and waterslides plus a lagoon which you have to see to believe. Not world class snorkeling, but a calm pool where you can safely take your kids to see a ton of sea life. We swam with so many sea turtles that my kids got bored of it by the end of the trip.

The only drawback was the Hilton hotel is about a mile down the road. You can walk it, but I wouldn't recommend it with small children. We mostly drove. They will provide you with towels at the hotel with your HGVC card and you can charge food, drinks etc. to your room.

My one complaint about the room would be the (twice weekly) maid service. They did the bedrooms and bathrooms, and not much else. They would hardly touch the kitchen. The suites are quite large and they should devote more time and manpower to cleaning the suites.

Room Tip: Get a building closer to the main reception area. It's closer to the main pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Grand Vacations Club at Waikoloa Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Grand Vacations Club at Waikoloa Beach Resort

Also Known As:
Hilton Grand Vacations Club At Waikoloa Beach Hotel Waikoloa
Hilton Grand Vacations Club At Waikoloa Beach Hotel
Hilton Hotel Waikoloa Beach
Hilton Hotel Waikoloa
Hilton Waikoloa
Waikoloa Hilton
Address: 69-550 Waikoloa Beach Drive, Waikoloa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96738
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kohala Coast > Waikoloa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Waikoloa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Grand Vacations Club at Waikoloa Beach Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly situated adjacent to championship golf courses, the premier location of the Hilton Grand Vacation Club resort provides an unsurpassed vacation setting. Hotel guests have access and charging privileges to the abundant facilities and amenities of the nearby Hilton Waikoloa Village hotel, including an enticing array of restaurants, boutiques, beaches and water recreation. Complimentary shuttle service is available between the Hilton Grand Vacations Club at Waikoloa Beach Resort, the Hilton Waikoloa Village, and area shops. Hawaii visitors staying at Hilton Grand Vacations Club at Waikoloa Beach Resort will enjoy spacious two-bedroom suites which incorporate a casually elegant tropical style, and feature a superb variety of upscale amenities and furnishings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Hilton Grand Vacations Club at Waikoloa Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Grand Vacations Club at Waikoloa Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.