We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish we could have stayed longer!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Grand Vacations Club at Waikoloa Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Grand Vacations Club at Waikoloa Beach Resort to your Saves list
Hilton Grand Vacations Club at Waikoloa Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   69-550 Waikoloa Beach Drive, Waikoloa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96738   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
AAA Member Offer
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Waikoloa
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Wish we could have stayed longer!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

My family of six stayed here in October for four nights and absolutely loved it. We had planned for 3 nights in the Volcano area and 4 in Waikoloa, but we could have easily had another 2 nights in Waikoloa, as there was so much to do! It is so centrally located on the sunny part of the island, and we spent almost all of our time exploring the area--snorkeling, hiking, etc--that we wished we'd also been able to spend more time at the resort enjoying its amazing amenities. Since we had so much fun seeing everything, we don't regret how we spent our time; just wish we'd had a longer vacation!

This resort is amazing! It's close to the Waikoloa Village, and with access passes and parking, it is no big deal (we had originally thought we'd use the shuttle but found we liked the freedom of having our own car). We all loved the pools and water slides over there, but since this review is about the Hilton Grand Vacations resort, I'll save my comments about Waikoloa Village for another review...

Regarding the Hilton Grand Vacations at Waikoloa, we found the rooms to be wonderful--beautifully decorated and nicely appointed. Again, since we spent all our time exploring, We didn't spend much time actually AT this resort; in fact, we never even saw the pool! But the suites were beautiful and the staff was courteous.

We did have one small incident in which our children were being bit by something as they slept (we suspect a spider)...all four of them woke up two mornings in a row with bites on their legs (while my husband and i had none)...the staff was professional and kind and moved rooms for us and the problem was gone.

All in all, it was a terrific stay, and we'd return in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    163
    33
    10
    4
See reviews for
287
137
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

My wife and I visited the Hilton Grand Vacations Club at Waikoloa Beach Resort in Hawaii the first week in October for seven days as part of a Hilton vacation club (timeshare) promotion. The resort itself is large and lovely. We stayed in a condominium (apartment), which was comfortable although the decor seemed somewhat dated. We used it as a base from which to explore the island and do various activities.

Before we went, my wife had numerous phone conversations with Greg, a man who identified himself as our concierge, to book various activities before we arrived. We met with Greg when we arrived and learned that he had failed to make those arrangements. He said he would come up with an itinerary of activities to recommend to us, but we never heard from him again.

The Hilton Hotel on the resort is a beautiful place (we heard it was designed by Disney). We ate at two Hilton restaurants (one at the hotel and one at the golf club). The service at both restaurants was mediocre.

We underwent the two-hour sales pitch, the goal of which was to get us to buy a timeshare. The pressure was fairly high, and we were dismissed by the sales manager and hustled out the door as soon as we made it clear that that was not for us. That experience was worth being able to spend a week at a very nice resort at a relatively reasonable price.

Room Tip: Investigate the various properties/options available
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltongrandvacations, Manager at Hilton Grand Vacations Club at Waikoloa Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for choosing HGVC at Waikoloa as your travel destination. We appreciate your valued comments and feedback and we are pleased to see that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We do apologize for the inconvenience you experienced regarding the concierge service. This is not typical of our high standards and we regret having caused you any concerns. The appropriate management has been notified and will address with the individual.
Again, thank you for your time and feedback and we look forward to having you return to our little piece of paradise.

Mahalo

Phillip Murray
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

Broken dishwasher, massive leak in the shower, "forgot" to send up our honeymoon package, broken DVD player, didn't follow through on simple requests (more laundry detergent).

Stayed 8 nights, awful service. Manager didn't seem to care, offered "to buy us drinks to make up for our trouble"...never got them.
When maintenance barged in our room to fix the leak, I was in a towel and had to stay in the bathroom for 30 min waiting. Awkward. Manager didn't seem to think there was anything wrong with the situation.

I've traveled to hundreds of hotels, many resorts--I will never return to this place and will recommend everyone to go to another place.

Upside: absolutely beautiful. Gorgeous rooms. Lots of space. BBQ on grounds to use. Washer/dryers in room. Full kitchen. Big roman bathtubs.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltongrandvacations, Manager at Hilton Grand Vacations Club at Waikoloa Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to send your review our property. We truly appreciate your valued feedback and comments. This is just one of the tools we use to constantly improve our services.
We are very sorry for the inconvenience you encountered during your recent stay and regret having caused you any concerns about our product. This is not typical of our standards and we again apologize for the disappointment you encountered.

We are pleased to see that Devin was caring and concerned and that you found the grounds and pool to your satisfaction. We hope that you will consider returning to HGVC at Waikoloa in the future as we are sure your confidence will be restored.

Thank you again for your feedback for choosing HGVC at Waikoloa as your travel destination.

Phillip Murray
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

My husband and I just returned from a 6 day stay at the HGVC at Waikoloa (Kohala Suites), and had an amazing time. The resort itself is somewhat small, but very nicely kept, and is close to the full blown Hilton, to which we had full access.

Property: Really nice. The main lobby was a beautiful open air space that looked out onto the main pool and was quite comfortable. The pool area was nice, though very small, and pretty basic. There were 2 other even smaller pools at other locations on the property, but I did not visit them. The golf course was gorgeous - a lovely mix of greenery, palm trees, and lava rocks. Everything looked like it was well cared for - roads were clean, and plants looked fresh and alive. Ample parking - we always got a spot right in front of our building.

Rooms: We stayed in a 2-bed, 2-bath unit (1426). The layout was very nice and flexible, with split rooms, a large living area, and a very nice kitchen. Their was a separate laundry room, which was really nice. The dining area was a bit awkward, with the table pushed up against the wall, but not a big deal. The furniture in the living room was so uncomfortable, I was frankly shocked. The couch was so hard I felt like I was sitting on a log. Luckily we didn't spend too much time watching TV, but this was still annoying. Beds were a bit hard, and there were no feather pillows in the entire unit. Water pressure in both showers was pretty poor, though I don't know if that is a hotel issue, or an issue with the island in general, as the pressure in the sinks was also bad. The lanai was large and nicely furnished, and we had a fantastic view of the golf course and mountains in the distance. Great place to have breakfast.

Food: We didn't have room service, so can't speak to that. We did have lunch at the pool bar one day, which was pretty good. Slightly better than average pool bar food.

Location: Waikoloa is pretty fantastic. It is completely man-made, so do not expect too much natural beauty beyond the rocky beach, but that is not why you stay here. The entire complex was beautiful - all the decorations seemed to blend in well with the natural surroundings, and although it was clearly a resort area, it didn't feel "fake." Everything you need, including a gas station, is in the complex. But, be prepared for high prices. Milk was $10 a gallon, where in Kona it's only about $5, so if you plan on doing a lot of cooking, it may be worth it to skip the local market and drive to Kona for a plain supermarket. You're 20 minutes from the airport, yet you don't see any air traffic. You're 30 minutes from Kona, 1.5 hours from Hilo, and 2.5 hours from Volcano National Park. Rent a car.

Hilton: As a guest at the HGVC, you get to use all the amenities at the nearby Hilton resort (also in Waikoloa). This is totally worth it. The many pool areas are simply amazing, and offer a lot more activities, ambiance, and views of the ocean than the HGVC pool. There is a lot of shopping in the resort, as well as several restaurants. The Japanese restaurant (don't remember the name) looked really really nice, though we didn't get a chance to eat there. The property is huge with a tram and boat to take guests throughout the entire property. There is also a museum walk along the length of the resort, which features art from abroad as well as local artists. There is a ton of wildlife within the resort, which makes it feel very natural, and they do a nice job of keeping the atmosphere comfortable for the local animals and plants. The spa is absolutely lovely, and I would strongly recommend a visit. And the views of the ocean are outstanding. So long as you remember the paper passes you are given at check-in, you can park at the Hilton free of charge and use all the facilities as if you were a guest.

Our biggest gripes were definitely how uncomfortable the furniture was, the fact that the fan in the bedroom made a clicking noise that made it hard to sleep without a sound machine on, and the limited pool options on the actual property. However, none of those things would stop us from staying here again. Overall, we felt the resort was a great value, especially with the access to the Hilton. I would strongly recommend it to anyone looking for a relaxing time in Hawaii. For families with kids, I'd say it may be a bit annoying that you have to pile everyone into the car to get to the big pools at the Hilton, or at least accompany them on the walk over, rather than just letting them go by themselves.

Room Tip: Rooms closer to the main lobby give you faster access to the main road through a "short-cut&quo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Wonderful place to stay as a family. Very convenient and the rooms were clean. Had access to the main hotel (hilton waikoloa) pools.

My only complaint is the pool. It's just basic. Access to the Main hotel pools made up for it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mead, Colorado
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I have stayed at this property several times over the past 10 years, and have not been overwhelmed by any of them. However, I want to say that the last stay there were huge differences. First off there has been a total remodel of the Bay Club. It has resulted in larger rooms, the carpet is brand new and the furnishings have been updated. They have still not corrected the wifi issues they have for the units that are at the end or the back of the property. The signal is barely there necessitating a walk to the front of the building or to the pool in order to get full signal (They say they are working on it) The pools are in great shape, as are all appliances in the units-including the washer/dryer combos included. The bathrooms have all been on the end fo some nice updates-especially the master baths. Very roomy!
I would like to mention the staff, the friendliness of each member and groundskeepers of the resort is impeccable. They are all there to assist in any way they can. If there is an issue inside the unit, as we had with one of the curtain rods being loose, the maintenance people are on top of it immediately. I think the Bay Club is a hidden jewel of the HGVC properties that are all very near to one another in proximity. I highly recommend this to anyone thinking of going to the Big Island. It is also, these days, just far enough out of reach of the vog (volcano fog) that covers the island the nearer you get to the volcano which is very active.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Just returned from a wonderful seven night stay at the HGV Kohala Suites (Waikola Beach Resort). The two bedroom unit had everything my wife and I needed --- roomy, very nicely furnished, super quite and outstanding service from the resort staff. This was our second stay (we used the Bay Club last year) but the first time we took advantage of the amazing facilities at the Hilton Waikola Beach Resort, especially the incredible pools. We were treated as if we were hotel guests and even got free parking. We look forward to returning to the Kohala Suites next year. We also enjoyed some great meals at: Cafe Pesto, Blue Dragon, Merrimans (Wailea) and Sansei Sushi. For an excellent snorkel cruise I highly recommend the Hula Kai and Fair Winds (same company). Aloha!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Grand Vacations Club at Waikoloa Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Grand Vacations Club at Waikoloa Beach Resort

Address: 69-550 Waikoloa Beach Drive, Waikoloa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96738
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kohala Coast > Waikoloa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Waikoloa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Grand Vacations Club at Waikoloa Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly situated adjacent to championship golf courses, the premier location of the Hilton Grand Vacation Club resort provides an unsurpassed vacation setting. Hotel guests have access and charging privileges to the abundant facilities and amenities of the nearby Hilton Waikoloa Village hotel, including an enticing array of restaurants, boutiques, beaches and water recreation. Complimentary shuttle service is available between the Hilton Grand Vacations Club at Waikoloa Beach Resort, the Hilton Waikoloa Village, and area shops. Hawaii visitors staying at Hilton Grand Vacations Club at Waikoloa Beach Resort will enjoy spacious two-bedroom suites which incorporate a casually elegant tropical style, and feature a superb variety of upscale amenities and furnishings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hilton Grand Vacations Club at Waikoloa Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Grand Vacations Club At Waikoloa Beach Hotel Waikoloa
Hilton Hotel Waikoloa Beach
Hilton Waikoloa
Waikoloa Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Grand Vacations Club at Waikoloa Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.