We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Hilton has beautiful grounds” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Waikoloa Village

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Waikoloa Village to your Saves list
Hilton Waikoloa Village
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   69-425 Waikoloa Beach Drive, Waikoloa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96738   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$189 (USD)
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Waikoloa
GreenLeadersSilver level
Dalas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“The Hilton has beautiful grounds”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

The Hilton Waikoloa Village offers beautiful grounds with lush greenery and tropical flowers and trees. The pools are great and there are plenty of activities for the active family. The property is huge and many rooms are located in separate buildings which are located far away from the resorts lobby area so you will either do a lot of walking or need to take the boat or tram back and fourth. The Hilton offers excellent restaurant options right on property. You'll enjoy the stay.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,762 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,820
    1,675
    708
    369
    190
See reviews for
1,733
1,774
67
387
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,224)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

The area is beautiful. The hotel, lagoon and pool area were very nice. It was fun to ride the tram and boat and look at the gardens. Then it starts to go downhill from there. The service was adequate. The restaurants were extremely expensive. Any extras were at a cost, you even had to pay to park. To swim on a beach I had to walk approximately ¾ mile around and past another hotel to access a sandy beach so you would have thought the hotel would have provided a shuttle service, they did not. The hotel was shabby in some areas not as well maintained as you would expect from a Hilton resort. The worst part was the hot tub experience. It was at night and there were 3 of us in the hot tub my husband, my sister and myself the lights started to flicker and I was shocked on my foot near the light, my husband was hit on his thigh and my sister across her arm. I screamed and we rushed out of the water. We could smell something burning. I was so scared, luckily for us it was a mild shock but it really could have been worse. My husband and sister stayed at the hot tub to keep other guests out of the water and I had to find a phone to call the front desk, I explained to the front desk what happened and they connected me to security. When security arrived he was very nice… but nothing was done from a safety perspective to rectify the situation that night. The resort did contact us the next day to see if we were having any problems as a result of the incident but no explanations or assistance was offered. To make a long story short, I am very disappointed with Hilton on this one.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We were in the ocean tower with an ocean view room. The resort is huge. Facilities are good and staff very helpful and friendly. The rooms are far away from the parking lot. Entering and exiting the resort takes away a lot of time. One should definitely have Around 15-20 mins on an avg to go out of the the resort after leaving the room. There is a slow moving tram that helps in transporting ppl from the main lobby to the respective towers.The tours and activities manager helped us out in finding offers and discounts. we attended a Hilton timeshare presentation and availed a (HOLO HOLO) discount card that we could use for many activities. The beach along the resort is super and looks amazing. There is no microwave in the room which becomes slightly difficult for vegetarians like us to reheat food.On the whole our experience was good.The stay is an expensive one, we would get back again only for cheaper rates not otherwise.

Room Tip: Choose a room closer to the lobby , ocean tower is very far from the lobby
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

This hotel has it all. So many dining options on the property and surrounding it as well. Property is very large but very well maintained. There is a tram that you can use. The biggest downfall is not really a beach but Kona is not like the other islands. Taking a drive around to Hilo is a great way to see everything. Had a ground floor room which was very nice. The luau is worth the money great show.

Stayed August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We spent a week there with our 2 kids, and the kids loved the pools, slide, lagoon activities, and snorkeling with the turtles in the lagoon.
The property is gigantic, but tram and boat made it not that hard to move around.
While pricey, the breakfast buffet is extensive; we tried a few other restaurants there, which were all find, except for Kirin!! Stay away from Kirin: food is greasy, tastes bad and with low quality ingredients, they mis-represent fish as well, we were told fish was sea bass, but it actually was tilapia (or some similar cheap fish filet), the restaurant is also old and in need of a facelift to get rid of the greasy smell.
The hotel's room service is VERY slow. We went for a night manta snorkel, and back to the hotel at 9:00pm, so we ordered some chicken noodle soup. It took over 1 hour for them to deliver, by the time the food came, the kids were already asleep.

Room Tip: Ask for the Lagoon Tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

We have stayed here several times and have never been disappointed. This last time we splurged for a suite and it was worth it. Spacious living area. Walk in door less shower. Huge bath tub. Separate sinks in separate parts of the bathroom. Upgraded bath products. Bath robes. Mini matter which rooms we stay in they are always very clean. Great staff. Great food. Lots for everyone to do. Love the breakfast buffet.
Beautiful property. We didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escanaba, Michigan
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

This place is HUGE. It's a nice hotel but it's too huge. The rooms have a smell from the AC and it is really humid in the rooms. It is kinda far from the airport in Kona. The breakfast buffet is ok. There are PLENTY of restaurants inside the hotel. The tram or boat is the best way of transportation around the hotel. If you wake up before 6am, don't expect the tram to be there anytime soon. The boats don't operate until 2pm. The pools are also HUGE. There are 3 pools and 1 adult pool.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Waikoloa Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Waikoloa Village

Address: 69-425 Waikoloa Beach Drive, Waikoloa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96738
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kohala Coast > Waikoloa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Waikoloa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Waikoloa Village 4*
Number of rooms: 1240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Waikoloa Village is located within the Waikoloa Beach Resort area on the sunny Kohala Coast on Hawaii's Big Island - just 18 miles from the Kona International Airport. It is a unique 62 acre oceanfront resort with trams and canal boats transporting you throughout the resort. Enjoy a serene snorkeling lagoon, interactive dolphin encounters, spectacular pools with waterslides, the Kohala Spa, exciting shopping and dining, and golf at one of two championship golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hilton Waikoloa Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Waikoloa Village Hotel Waikoloa
Hawaii Hilton Waikoloa Village
Hilton Village Hotel Waikoloa
Hilton Village Waikoloa
Waikoloa Hilton
Hilton Waikoloa Village Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Waikoloa Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.