We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good, eclectic, with some shaky service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Waikoloa Village

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Waikoloa Village to your Saves list
Hilton Waikoloa Village
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   69-425 Waikoloa Beach Drive, Waikoloa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96738   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$179 (USD)
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Waikoloa
GreenLeadersSilver level
Louisville, KY
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Very good, eclectic, with some shaky service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Was there with another family for several days. Stayed in the Lagoon Tower. I'd recommend you ask for that tower to shorten your walk across this vast property. The pool nearby the Lagoon tower is also the best on the property - large, near water features and restaurants, and easy to get a chair or Casabella cabana.

A few strange things in our experience - we were two larger parties (6 and 4). When checking in, we were told by the front desk clerk that they couldn't guarantee room bed types, so we had to fit 6 people into a room with a "king" (really an oversized queen) and a second room with two doubles. We specifically had asked for two rooms with doubles. Our other party of 4 had to make due with a "king" room only. So they had to drag a rollaway bed in and use the pullout chair bed in the room. Not exactly what you'd want when you travel thousands of miles to get here. Still astounded at the "we don't guarantee bed types" comment from a resort clearly designed for families -aka larger parties.

The statues on the property are out of place - to say the least. They are centered around Asian cultures sigh as China, Japan, and even Thailand. They do cater to alot of Asians here, but wouldn't traditional Hawaiian cultural statues make alot more sense? I think it took away from the feel of the property and became the brunt of our jokes while there - particularly the camels under the waterfalls, the rhino near the orchid marketplace, and the deer in the bushes near the slides at the Lagoon pool. Really? None of them have anything to do with Hawaii. . .

Room Tip: Stay in the Lagoon Tower - but don't mind the screeching birds at dusk and beyond!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,671
    1,513
    635
    334
    180
See reviews for
1,581
1,611
52
355
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,076)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Flower Mound, TX
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We are staying at the King's Land, part of the Hilton Grand Vacation club, however we have full access to the Hilton Waikoloa Village. Overall the hotel itself was very pretty, however as custodians of a natural lagoon with a waterfall where beautiful sea turtles hang out, my family and I were disgusted and in tears. We pulled out three quart empty plastic ziplock baggies, , around 20 empty potato chip bags, 2 plastic wrist bands and several paper products (napkins. Pieces of Hilton hotel brochures, etc). All very dangerous to the turtles who visit there. We wish we had taken a picture of the garbage we found. I believe this a a bad reflection on the hotel and the guests who stay there. Our family tries to be green and kind to the environment , we will probably try to return there a couple of times before we leave just to go back to that same spot and pull garbage out. We will take pictures next time. Or maybe when we return the hotel will have done something about it. We can only hope for the latter. By the way there was a lot garbage in the Dolphin Quest pool too, we couldn't get there to clean that up.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonWaikoloa, General Manager at Hilton Waikoloa Village, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
I’m very sorry to hear that you did not have a pleasant experience at our hotel. Our grounds are normally in pristine condition and I apologize that you found them to be anything less than perfect. We have an entire section of our staff dedicated to cleaning the grounds and water features. Please feel free to reach out to me directly to discuss this incident in further detail, via our special Trip Advisor response account: tripadvisor@hiltonwaikoloavillage.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Had an overall wonderful time! We will stay again, but will ask for room that faces directly out to ocean rather than lagoon. The lagoon view is pretty but because the water is generally standing it had a strong sometimes "fishy" scent.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

If you really like resort vacations, where everything is more like a well groomed and cookie cutter of every other resort, this is for you. It's not a bad place. In point of fact, I found everyone who worked there pleasant and helpful...even going out of their way to accommodate every guest's need. I was very impressed with this. The areas are lovely, and set up with different themes of different cultures (somewhat like a theme park), but it is just like every other resort out there. It could have been in any warm climate anywhere. For families with small children, I can see the appeal.
That being said, I do have a few complaints.
#1....I have stayed at Courtyard Marriott(s) with much nicer rooms....it was kind of "ghetto" comparatively. I expected much more from a Hilton Hotel.
#2....The food from room service and a few other places located within the hotel complex left much to be desired.
#3.....Everything was extra...including pool towels.
If you are looking for the 'real' Hawaii, you will not find it here. However, if you just want to lay about place that keeps the kids busy, this may be your ideal vacation destination.
#4....A little note to our smoking friends out there. There are very strict policies in Hawaii about where you can smoke...which is perfectly reasonable...and have designated areas for smoking. That being said, at this resort they are marked clearly on the map, but not at the actual places where you can smoke. (I found later that where ever I saw small fish statues, that these were in fact ashtrays...but no one at the resort will tell you that outright.)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Five star Hawaiian vacation. Service was excellent. Accommodations outstanding. Food always excellent. An incredible variety of cuisines. Our grandson loved the dolphin encounter. Snorkeling in the lagoon we saw more marine life than anywhere else. Paddle boards and kayaks available. Looked forward to the breakfast buffet when time allowed. Incredible display of Pacific and Asian art throughout the buildings. The pools were outstanding.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Our seven year old daughter loved the kids camp, pools, and Dolphine Quest. The resort is large, and the hotel transportation is super slow so be ready to walk everywhere! The buffet breakfast was good, and a good value for kids that eat, but overpriced for adults. In general, the restaurant choices and quality of food were poor and expensive. We had to fight to get extra towels at the pool and they lack tables to put your drinks on. If you have stayed at the Hilton Grand Wialea or the Hilton Hawaiian Village, you will probably be disappointed. Don't come here if you aren't bringing your children!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonWaikoloa, General Manager at Hilton Waikoloa Village, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We appreciate you taking the time to give us this feedback, as we are always looking for ways to improve our guest services. We sincerely apologize for the inconveniences that you had regarding the restaurant choices as well as the crowds at the pool. Our entire staff strives to provide our guests with the highest quality service including affordable dining options and an abundant amount of warm, fluffy and fresh pool towels, and we are truly sorry that this was not the case during your stay. We would love the opportunity to make it up to you, should you choose to stay with us again. Thank you for sharing your thoughts. We hope to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

I love Hilton Waikoloa. It is large, spacious, has beautiful grounds with water and native plants & flowers. The tram & boat rides add to the ambiance. The luau is one of the best I have attended with a great entertainment program-fire dancing and beautiful costumes. The dolphins provide a great entertainment for families and great fun even for non-participants to watch. The staff overall provide great service.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Waikoloa Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Waikoloa Village

Address: 69-425 Waikoloa Beach Drive, Waikoloa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96738
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kohala Coast > Waikoloa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Waikoloa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Waikoloa Village 4*
Number of rooms: 1240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Waikoloa Village is located within the Waikoloa Beach Resort area on the sunny Kohala Coast on Hawaii's Big Island - just 18 miles from the Kona International Airport. It is a unique 62 acre oceanfront resort with trams and canal boats transporting you throughout the resort. Enjoy a serene snorkeling lagoon, interactive dolphin encounters, spectacular pools with waterslides, the Kohala Spa, exciting shopping and dining, and golf at one of two championship golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Amex, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Waikoloa Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Waikoloa Village Hotel Waikoloa
Hawaii Hilton Waikoloa Village
Hilton Village Hotel Waikoloa
Hilton Village Waikoloa
Waikoloa Hilton
Hilton Waikoloa Village Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Waikoloa Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.