We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hali'i Kai 9C- Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Halii Kai Resort at Waikoloa Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Halii Kai Resort at Waikoloa Beach to your Saves list
Halii Kai Resort at Waikoloa Beach
4.0 of 5 Villa   |   69-1029 Nawahine Pl., Waikoloa Beach Resort, Waikoloa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96738   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sugar Land, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Hali'i Kai 9C- Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Everything I was looking for in a condo in Waikoloa! It was clean, modern, spacious, well appointed and with the most beautiful sunset ocean/gold views from our lanai! We stayed in 9C that was two bedroom and all the comforts of home. Will definitely recommend to all friends visiting the big island!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    43
    14
    10
    9
See reviews for
159
58
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Waikoloa, Hawaii
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

No maid service so clean up is just like home. We were told that our garden view was lovely but cannot see where that came from as we have a driveway to admire. Room is spacious but second bedroom does not have a TV - a must for teenagers! Room supplies are only to get you started, after that you are on your own. I think that for the cost, nearby resorts give you more bang for the buck. No guarantees on a certain room when booking here so keep your fingers crossed. It isn't a gamble I will take again!

Room Tip: Request in writing an ocean view room and all rooms having TV's!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oahu, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

The resort is on the touristy side of the Big Island right next to the Hilton and Marriot. The rooms are privately owned "timeshare-like" apartments and very nicely maintained. When we pulled into the property, my wife and kids treated me like a conquering king. The place is meticulously maintained, quiet, relaxing and clean. This was probably more to do with the fact that we spent the first 3 nights in Hilo at the Volcano/KMC, which was pretty run down.
I would stay again, but def try to get a waterfront or golf course front property. We stayed in 17B and it faced a wall and the street. Not bad, but there are much better places on the property(also a couple stains on the carpet). I'm not sure if we paid less for this particular unit or just randomly ended up with a no-view unit. This only seemed to bother me, so not a deal breaker.
Wifi was everywhere and the unit had a DSL/Cable hookup. I brought my own router, plugged it in and all my devices connected (just like at the house). Nice and easy.
We enjoyed the beach house the most. The pool is fantastic, the nachos perfect and the crowd minimal (we actually had the whole place to ourselves for about 1-2 hours). It felt like one of those Hawaiian vacation brochures...

Room Tip: One note, the master bed was maybe a full size and not the most comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battleford, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We had a very good time and would definitely recommend this resort. The unit(10C) was well situated to enjoy a view of the ocean and beautiful grounds. Upscale décor with all the amenities one could think of. Had great barbecues outside of the unit, ground floor, and could appreciate the beautiful sunsets. Reception staff very friendly and helpful.grounds extremely well maintained and manicured. Would definitely come back!

Room Tip: Ground level so that you can barbeque outside and enjoy the lush lawns.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upland, California
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Had a "Great" time and looking forward to returning soon. We enjoyed everything...the view from the lani to strolling the streets of old Kona. The food was outstanding from the small cafes to "Roy's". Unit 12B has an amazing view of the ocean & sunsets and Halii Kai resort is so beautiful and peaceful and so much more. Unit 12B is equipped with all the amenities from beach chairs to boogie boards, spacious with amazing decor, close to the club house, pool and bar. We have taken some great vacations!! Halii Kai is truly one of our favorite's.,,,,,,,,, Mahalo

Mike & Sheryl

Room Tip: Unit 12B location and view is excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We stayed here in May with my wife, 5 year old son and in-laws in a wonderful 3 bedroom (6G) villa. It had a wonderful living room, spacious kitchen and 2 lanais both with ocean and golf views. Beautiful Hawaiian decor throughout the villa. Had a dining area and gas grill on the lower lanai and an outdoor living room set on the upper lanai for pupu hour. The resort is managed by Castle and they do a great job in maintaining the grounds. The Ocean Club is a nice place to unwind at the pool and during sunset. Good drinks but not much to offer food wise at happy hour. The view is wonderful from there anytime of day. It was a short 5 minute walk from our unit. The higher teen units are closer to the Ocean Club. Waikaloa is a pretty upscale resort. Hilton and Marriott are nearby and there is a trail along the golf course to the Hilton.

Queen and King Shops have lots of options for dining and shopping. Sticker shock at the Gourmet Market at Queens even for us who visit frequently. Discovered the Waikaloa Village Market up the hill about 10 minutes with wonderful pricing and full services (deli, seafood, meat, souvenirs). If you miss Costco or Foodland in town, this is the secret spot to stock up on food and drink. Good dining spots in area include Sansei Sushi and Pesto Cafe. Love the scene at Lava Lava but the food was just OK. In Kona Sam Choys has a wonderful view and great grinds. Kona brew is a great stop too for great beer and pizza. If you have the means, the Beach Tree at the Four Seasons is a great spot of sunset drinks and dinner. For breakfast you cant miss Hawaiian Style Cafe in Waimea for a great locals gut filling breakfast.

Overall, Halli Kai is one of the better condo resorts in Waikaloa. It does get very quiet at night...dark too!! The street lighting is horrible in Waikaloa Resort. Beach is lacking too, but that is common knowledge for the Big Island. Hapuna beach as a short 15 minute drive with lots of parking sand and surf. Waikaloa is a little distant from Kona, Volcano, Hilo, but its a nice getaway for sure.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

From Maui we took the chartered flight to the Big Island.
We were told beforehand we would need to book a rental car and I could see why.
It's called the Big Island for a reason I guess, Waikoloa is about 40 minutes drive north of the airport with nothing on the side of the road other than volcanic rocks. Peaceful drive I would say.
Once you reach Waikoloa, you see a big sign and entrance to the Waikoloa village.
Drive down the road for another 10 minutes, pass the marriott, Kings mall and Queens mall and the big hilton hotel properties, you will see a small sign that says "Halii Kai".
We drove up to the gate and since it was our first time we had no idea you need a code to open the gate. Directory doesn't have front desk either. We tried buzzing different codes with no luck so ended up waiting infront of the gate for 20 minutes until another car drove up and followed it in. (Thought that was very inconvenient, they should have let us know when we were booking)
The front desk girl told us our room wasn't ready for an hour or two so we drove back out to the mall and walked around. Weather was beautiful so we didn't mind at all.
The Halii Kai property is quite big and each building is divided into two/four units (upstairs and downstairs). We checked into Room 19C, and we were taken by surprise. Room was much bigger than we had thought. Two bedrooms and two bathrooms plus a full kitchen and living room. Plenty room for just two people.
Kitchen had everything you would need and more, plates, bowls, cups, pots and pans, knives, cutting board, and other little things we didn't use. So we went back to the mall to the small grocery store and bought water, juice, snacks, and breakfast items.
After dinner we walked to the pool area (about 10 minute walk from 19C) and saw some people relaxing by the pool, hot tub, lounge, bar, etc. The view was beautiful. With the golf course on the left and ocean straight on and to the right. The work-out gym area looked closed so I asked the guy at the bar and he opened the door and turned the lights on for us.
After we went in the hot tub and the floor of the hot tub is filled with some kind of sand, which felt really nice on our feet.
We were meeting some friends at Honolulu so unfortunately my stay at the Halii Kai was short lived. I wish we stayed longer, but I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Halii Kai Resort at Waikoloa Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halii Kai Resort at Waikoloa Beach

Address: 69-1029 Nawahine Pl., Waikoloa Beach Resort, Waikoloa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96738
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kohala Coast > Waikoloa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Waikoloa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Halii Kai Resort at Waikoloa Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Halii Kai at Waikoloa is a recently developed 29-acre oceanfront resort, stretched along Waikoloa's Beach Golf Course and the Pacific Ocean. Spacious two- and three-bedroom villas and townhomes are luxuriously furnished. Amenities include a cascading pool, private restaurant, fitness cabana, walking trails, and a basketball/tennis court. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Halii Kai Resort at Waikoloa Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Halii Kai Resort At Waikoloa Beach Hotel Waikoloa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Halii Kai Resort at Waikoloa Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.