We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great features and convenient for families” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kolea at Waikoloa Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Kolea at Waikoloa Beach Resort to your Saves list
Kolea at Waikoloa Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   69-1000 Kolea Kai Circle, Waikoloa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96738   |  
Hotel amenities
Bay Area
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great features and convenient for families”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2010

Unit: We stayed on a ground floor unit, I think 10D, for 1 week, with our in laws and two young children. The unit was very quiet and a nice layout, where the bedrooms were somewhat separated from one another. We like that so that we won't bother our young children with watching TV, etc.

Grill: one day, our patio grill did not work, so the staff came over to help us light it.

Location:
The ground floor made it really easy to walk to the pool and beach. We picked this unit because it was the closest to the beach, but it was still a 15 minute walk, which is longer with two young children (including a toddler). The pool was very close by, across the street. Also we strolled several times to the nearby shopping center for food and browsing. Very convenient! We also walked to the nearby Hilton for our kids (and us) to experience the grounds, little train, boat and dolphin encounter.

On our stay, the hot tub was much too hot. At first, the staff refused to believe me, but when I insisted that they measure the temperature, they found out it was 130 degrees! Which is completely unsafe, so they closed it, so we could not use it. The pool area was not crowded when we were there, but I agree that it seems small for such a big place.

Beach: This is a pretty calm and not too busy beach. The water is cool, but swimmable. It is pebbly rather than sandy and there is some snorkeling. It was not very clear when we were there. We took the free glass-bottom boat ride, which we all enjoyed.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    13
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
108
19
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2010

We booked through Castle, as part of Expedia package of hotel + flight, and got 13C. It is everything we expected reading previous reviews from other folks who've stayed at Kolea. The location (right on the beach of A Bay), the clubhouse w sandbottom pool and a waterfall for the kids, the infinity pool for the grown-ups, the minimalist but perfectly functional gym looking out to the pool, the sliding glass panel that opens up the kitchen/living room to the lanai. We do not have any complaint and thought for the price we paid for the unit, it is a bargain b/c with three toddlers in tow it would've been crazy hard to relax had we stayed at a standard hotel room, even a luxury one. Our unit is on the top floor, with 3 BR/3BR, and we have plenty of rooms for all (7) of us. We ate in for about 2/3 of our meals, I think we only went out for dinner twice, and lunch twice or so. With such beautiful kitchen and grill on the lanai it would be such terrible waste to eat out, especially with kids eating/sleeping at different times. The appliances are all high quality stuff (Viking/KitchenAid). I used the oven twice but couldn't figure out when it's reached the right temp (there was no ding or reading display), thankfully nothing burned or over/undercooked. Also having a washer/dryer is so great, we only packed enough for 3 days and did laundry pretty much everyday of the week. We were able to travel light (carry-on only) because of it.
There are some areas that I think would improve the experience of renters even more. I think that these "perks" differ depending on the units you get. With mine, we did not get to use a covered parking spot (there is a garage but we didnot get to use it per the management). There was no beach toys of any kinds, only beach towels. Kitchen condiments were the biggest sore point for me since I cook alot and was counting on the place being ready-to-use. There was salt, pepper, some soy sauce, and that was pretty much it. As for pots and pans, I've read that other units have high quality Calphalon stuff. Not this one, there was only a Kirkland set some with missing lids. They worked fine, nothing against Kirkland, but I expected something more to match the appliances I guess.
All in all, we had a great week here, so sad we did not get to explore more.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2010

We stayed in condo 14F, a two bedroom, two bed, third floor condo with a view of the ocean between the two buildings in front of it. The condo is situated about 100 yards from the pool and fitness center. About 50 yards beyond the pool is the sandy beach at A-Bay, a close easy walk for our family. The Hilton and Marriott hotels are nearby but one is not aware of their presence in the condo complex. On the beach is a concessionaire renting boats and other water equipment.

Our condo was spotlessly clean, and the kitchen well stocked with appliances that allowed for home cooking, and the apartment was roomy. The condo complex was blissfully quiet; in fact, it seemed rather empty as we noted less than half of the condos in our building appeared occupied. The Kolea was a five minute walk from King's shopping, an upscale mall notable to our family for Merriman's cafe: a casual indoor/outdoor eatery with tasty food and reasonable prices where we ate several times during our stay.

My one criticism of property 14F was it was advertised as having broadband internet access. This did not seem to function. We received a courtesy call from the rental agency the morning after we arrived, and I reported this deficiency, but nothing was done. Although I was able to use other unsecured networks in the complex, their signal strengths were insufficient to allow me to access my work network (perhaps a blessing which allowed for a real vacation). If you absolutely need the internet, confirm it has been repaired.

If we return to this area of Hawaii, we would definitely return to the Kolea, and if 14F were available, we'd rent it. It was perfect for our needs

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haines, Alaska
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2010

We spent 2 weeks here with two 7-year-olds, another couple and their baby. As soon as we walked in the door, we knew we would have a wonderful time. There was plenty of room, and the condo was beautifully furnished with antiques and Hawaiian themed artwork. It was spacious and comfortable for all of us to enjoy our own space. Each bedroom had flat-screen TVs with separate cable connections. Free wi-fi, nice kitchen with absolutely everything a person might need for cooking or entertaining. All of the appliances were stainless steel and top of the line. With such a nice kitchen, we rarely ate out. The condo was just steps away from the pool area and A Bay. We were just a short walk away from shopping, dining, and the Hilton Waikoloa Village. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, CA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2010

We chose this unit for its proximity to the beach and the reasonable price. The unit does not have oceanview. It is toward the back and very quiet. The condo was spacious. Kitchen was fully equipped and we ended cooking all but a couple meals there. There were even beach towels and beach toys. The pool in the clubhouse is a bit small. We bought a day pass and spent a day in the pools at the Hilton Waikoloa next door. The condo is walking distance to A-bay even with young children. The location is very convenient. There is an upscale grocery/souvenir store in Queen's Shop down the street. We booked through Waikoloa Vacation Rental. The booking was straight forward, instruction was clear and we got our deposit refund a week after the stay.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle area
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2010

Aside from the fact that 1 week is not long enough, it was pretty much our idea of Paradise. This is a premium property, and we would stay again in a heartbeat. All the building is completed, the landscaping very nice and well kept, and we appreciated the gated community more than we initially expected. We used the gorgeous pool and hot tub daily, and never found it over-crowded. Maybe the economy? Our party had 4 adults and two 13-year old girls. The unit that we were in is an end unit on the ground floor, with electronic locks, which worked well for us. The girls were able to use the lawn area for their poi spinning, and we could just grab a drink and walk a minute or 2 to the pool and hot tub, or another two minutes down the mostly sandy path to the beach for sunset. We all enjoyed the lanai a lot, and the grill master loved the kitchen area on the lanai. The living room wall opened completely up onto the lanai; what a great touch. We cooked a lot; the kitchen was well set-up, with Calaphon pans galore and nice appliances. Thanks to other reviews here we knew that Costco was conveniently located. The weather was perfect, in the 80's, not too humid and always sunny, even when Kona was in clouds. When we were there the trade winds were blowing, so we didn't get to the golf course, but we would have been able to use the owner's clubs and would have paid $50/each instead of $200. Our unit faced the A-bay (behind 8 & 10), so was protected from the winds. We appreciated the boogie boards, beach towel, bikes and snorkel gear that the owner provided in the closet off the covered parking area. We also used the wifi and printer (printed our boarding passes), and were able to post photos of our vacation to make all our friends experiencing the wet and cold Northwest winter jealous! What wasn't perfect? It would have been nice to have 2 king beds, rather than one king and one queen (the queen mattress needs an upgrade), and some folks might actually want a TV in the master suite (we hardly used the TVs at all, so much else to do). We're a music-oriented bunch, so we would have loved a stereo system in the living area, but made do with the small iHome stereo. This was a great location for day trips, but there was so much to do in Waikoloa that less adventurous, or less mobile, folks could be perfectly happy just staying in the resort itself.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2010

Wow! That is all I have to say...WOW! What a great place to stay. My husband, myself and my folks stayed at this wonderfully appointed two bedroom, two bath condo in Waikoloa. Great shops are within walking distance, or a short drive away. The Island Gourmet store (run by ABC) had everything you could possibly need for that perfect meal, but Roy's and other restaurants are right there as well. This place is exactly as it appears in the pics. We loved the layout of the condo, the two bedrooms are very separate and offer lots of privacy. A beautiful place - we opened the pocket wall to the lanai every morning and evening to enjoy the ocean breezes. Plenty of room in the kitchen, fridge. Plenty of closet space. Walk across the street to the pool and beach access. I cannot think of anything I would add or change - it was just perfect. We will definitely return again. We wished we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kolea at Waikoloa Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kolea at Waikoloa Beach Resort

Address: 69-1000 Kolea Kai Circle, Waikoloa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96738
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kohala Coast > Waikoloa
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kolea at Waikoloa Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kolea Beach Villas, the only villa resort with direct beach access in the exclusive Waikoloa Beach Resort is reserved for those seeking privacy and privilege while on vacation. Resort amenities include an infinity pool, jet spa, mini-lagoon pool for the kids, Health Hale fitness cabana, and the Kolea Beach Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Kolea at Waikoloa Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kolea At Waikoloa Beach Hotel Waikoloa
Outrigger Waikoloa
Waikoloa Outrigger

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kolea at Waikoloa Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.