We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury in the middle of Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kolea at Waikoloa Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Kolea at Waikoloa Beach Resort to your Saves list
Kolea at Waikoloa Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   69-1000 Kolea Kai Circle, Waikoloa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96738   |  
Hotel amenities
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Luxury in the middle of Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We stayed in unit 3E at the Kolea property in Waikoloa Beach. What an incredible experience!

Waikoloa is about a 25 minute drive from the Kona airport, when you come out of the airport, turn left. The drive is incredible, lava rock, not much vegetation and the most beautiful vistas of the ocean on your left.

The minute you arrive at the drive to Waikoloa beach, you know that you have found paradise. As you turn off the highway, the landscape changes and becomes a lush, tropical garden. You will pass the Queen shops on the left, and the King shops on the right as you drive. The entrance to Kolea is gated, you need a code just to get on the property (huge plus for security). The buildings are well marked and easy to find the unit.

The entrance is fantastic, beautiful metal gate that leads to the entry way. If you are staying on the 2nd or 3rd floor, there is an elevator that only moves when you insert a key. Huge double doors open into each unit. The first thing that you will notice is the view when you walk in, wow.

The rooms are massive and first class all the way. Kitchens are comprised of Viking and Sub Zero appliances, granite and high end cabinets. All bedrooms were large with walk in closets and ensuites. The ensuites were incredible, 2 had double shower heads! There was also a powder room in the unit that we were staying in, making 4 bathrooms for the family.

The deck was the best part, large doors that opened completely up. The deck had a table and chairs, a seating area with a couch and 2 chairs, and a built in BBQ with hood fan, sink and fridge.

The property was spectacular. The pool area was quiet and included tables and chairs, padded loungers, an infinity pool, a gym, a concierge as well as an access down to the ocean.

Our unit allowed us a discount card for dinning at various restaurants around the area. The unit also offered access to the Hilton Hotel. This was a huge plus! it would take a whole different review on that property alone, so some highlights are, swimming with Dolphins, swimming with turtles, riding a monorail, riding in a boat on the property, beautiful pools and waterfalls, 2 golf courses and a whole lot more!

A review can't even begin to describe how incredible this property was. We are already planning on going back next year. If you have the time, are planning a vacation and enjoy luxury, Kolea should be tops on your list.

Room Tip: All the rooms are fantastic, you can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    13
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
108
19
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Redmond, Washington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We stayed for 6 nights during the holidays (unit 9F) and it was awesome. The grounds are beautiful and well maintained, the community is gated, and the pool area is clean. The unit could've been cleaner (floor was sticky when we walked in) but otherwise, it was fine for a family of 5 (we rented a 2 br, 2 ba unit from the Outrigger Condominium Collection).

The beach is not the best, but where else can you see turtles resting on the shores? And the sunsets from the property are breathtaking. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

We just spent a week at the House at Kolea 13 for Thanksgiving. It was, in a word, unbelievable! The house was in immaculate shape, clean, well-kept. There were 8 of us, and we enjoyed the ability to each have our own rooms, yet be able to share meals together as a family. The ability to use the beach club was fantastic, with all water sports available. Also, the golfing at the Resort course was fun and very reasonable.

The best part was Rob and the Waikoloa Resort Management people. They responded to our every need, and were there constantly assuring that the high quality of the experience continued throughout our week there. What a wonderful experience!! Thank you a bunch!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

We stayed at Kolea for a week in unit 15J. The condo and the grounds are beautiful, with everything that you could need - from kitchen gadgets to toiletries, beach towels, boogie boards and sand toys. The infinity pool is small, but was never crowded, only one or two others in it at the same time. It was immaculate. The poolside fitness center was small, but there was never a wait for an elliptical machine. The only drawback was the beach, which was very rocky. We went to nearby Mauna Kea and Hapuna beaches for smooth beautiful sand.
We rented though Waikoloa Beach Vacations and Wendee Aono. When we realized that we had left something very important at home on the east coast, Wendee was very helpful. She suggested that we have it delivered to her office and then she dropped it off for us at the condo. The owner of this unit was also very helpful to us prior to our arrival by giving us some suggestions for restaurants and sightseeing.
The close proximity to the Kings and Queens shopping areas was very convenient.
Would love to go back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hometown
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Kolea is definitely one of the nicest resorts in Waikoloa. The grounds are especially beautiful, and the property is so centrally located that it's just steps to the beach, shopping, restaurants, etc. From the pool club, we walked out onto the beach for sunsets each night and were rewarded with seeing turtles coming up onto the beach to nest for the night. During the day, the view from the infinity pool is beautiful as you look out over the white sand beach and gently swaying palms. There is also plenty of shade at the pool, with umbrellas near the chairs and covered lounge chairs, tables, and seating areas. There's a shallow sand-bottom keiki pool with a small waterfall that is great for very young ones. The exercise hale is small but sufficient.

As far as units themselves, the high ceilings (which means quieter accomodations if you're on the lower or middle floors), higher end appliances and finishes, and the retractable pocket glass doors set Kolea apart from other resorts. The upper units are also quite large and most have nice views. The patios have nice bbq's and outdoor kitchens, which are wonderful for sipping coffee in the morning or enjoying dinner al fresco.

Personally, one of the things that attracted me to Kolea, other than the prime location, was the retractable glass doors. I don't like to use a lot of air-conditioning and wanted to have the open-air feel of being outdoors even when I was inside cooking, eating, etc. Unfortunately, every time we opened the doors, a cute little bird would fly in. The bird would sit on the sofa, the dining table, and head toward the kitchen. We'd chase it out, but it would be back as soon as we turned out back. This happened each day that we tried to open the doors, so we ended up having to leave them closed. Of course, this is just a joy of nature; but the retractable doors were something we were willing to pay extra for and might make a difference in where we decide to stay next time. Overall, however, we really enjoyed our stay and would recommend Kolea.

Room Tip: If you like to be in the center of the things, stay in bldg. 8 or 10, right in front of the pool. If...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Palma, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed here for a week and it was amazing. Too bad i'm back home now ;(...

I booked through South Kohala Management and they were great. No complaints.

The condo itself was beautiful, the complex is small but perfect.

A'Bay not that great! Very rocky. If you stay here just take a drive to Hapuna Beach and you will experience the best beach on the island.

Do no come here if you like the resort experience, cleaning service, big resort pool and restaurants on premises.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

just back from a week on the Big Island...stayed at Kolea unit 9k. Beautiful condo, all the amenities and had a good assortment of beach items as well including towels and a boogie board. The Kolea Beach Club with its infinity pool is gorgeous and such easy access to A bay beach where there are water toys at your disposal (kayak, water bicycles, SUPs). My two 12 year olds and 15 year old had a blast! Also we had a Hilton amenities card through renting at Waikoloa Vacation Rentals which allowed us access to the fabulous lagoon and two pools at the Hilton Waikoloa.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kolea at Waikoloa Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kolea at Waikoloa Beach Resort

Address: 69-1000 Kolea Kai Circle, Waikoloa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96738
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kohala Coast > Waikoloa
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kolea at Waikoloa Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kolea Beach Villas, the only villa resort with direct beach access in the exclusive Waikoloa Beach Resort is reserved for those seeking privacy and privilege while on vacation. Resort amenities include an infinity pool, jet spa, mini-lagoon pool for the kids, Health Hale fitness cabana, and the Kolea Beach Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Kolea at Waikoloa Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kolea At Waikoloa Beach Hotel Waikoloa
Outrigger Waikoloa
Waikoloa Outrigger

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kolea at Waikoloa Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.