We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of the bunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Merriman's Market Cafe - CLOSED

Merriman's Market Cafe
250 Waikoloa Beach Dr, Kings' Shops at Waikoloa Beach Resort, Waikoloa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96738
808 886 1700
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Best of the bunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

If you are looking for decent food in Waikaloa then this is about the best. Yes the menu is limited and used to be better 4 years ago, still it is not too bad. Thier truffle fries are legendary. The fish and chips are soggy. Their sangrea is great. The fish tacos are always good.

The Merrimans up north in Waimea is the bomb; a gourmet delight.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

757 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    239
    285
    136
    55
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, BC
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Delicious Food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

The food and service were excellent. I wish I would have discovered it earlier on our trip as I would have returned for another meal. The coconut lemonade is delicious! We ate outside after dark and there is a weird yellow light that makes all the food look the same color. When we asked about it, the waitress said all the light had to be yellow so it didn't interfere with the star gazing at the Mauna Kea telescope. Interesting!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oahu, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“not the quality I expect from a Merriman restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

we live on Oahu, and often visit Merriman's Monkeypod restaurant at Ko Olina. Never disappoints. We were excited to see another Merriman restaurant on Big Island, but did not enjoy our visit. Our server wasn't very friendly, and food was just okay. I wouldn't return.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful dinner and excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Food was wonderful and our waiter was excellent. Absolutely no complaints. Lovely atmosphere. Definitely will be back!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ohio
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Overrated and under stafffed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

If you are a vegetarian, please find another restuarant that is better value for your hard earned money. The day we went with my family, service was horrible. The waiter said it was due to having only 2 food runners. My kids orders were brought in wrong and I felt that the second time around, quantity of food for the kids were smaller. Dessert was oversold! All in all bad experience. Go to another one if you have a choice!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Merriman's Market Cafe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Merriman's Market Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.