We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did NOT disappoint” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Roy's Waikoloa Bar & Grill

Roy's Waikoloa Bar & Grill
250 Waikoloa Beach Dr, Wiakoloa Beach Resort, Waikoloa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96738
808-886-4321
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Roy's Waikoloa Bar & Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 56 Restaurants in Waikoloa
Price range: $14 - $35
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Casa Grande, Arizona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Did NOT disappoint”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

The menu was varied, the food was excellent from roast duck and filet mignon to the seared ahi. Nice to be offered a choice on portion size. And the chocolate soufflé was simply wonderful. With a lovely pond view and service "above and beyond", it was a near- perfect dinner.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,060 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    525
    295
    155
    61
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, CA
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Above average dining experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

This was our first time dining at A Roy's establishment. We went in with an open mind and were pleased with the overall experience. First off, our waiter, Bryan was extremely friendly, efficient and attentive. He explained the menu/specials etc., and was very accommodative. The food was quite good and some of us thought it was great. A couple of us in our group thought it was just average. It was definitely on the expensive side, but a good experience, nevertheless!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Worst Roy's Ever”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

My family and I went to the big island for the first time and chose Roy's for our first night meal. We always have a great time and enjoy the food and service. We started our evening with appetizers and cocktails in the bar. We closed out with the bartenders and paid our tab which was over $100. We then sat in the main dining room.
At the end of our meal, we paid our server and got up to leave. We were abruptly stopped and told we needed to pay our bar tab. We were then asked for proof of payment and had to hand over our receipt. We were mortified. Really? Dine and dash from the bar when we've been in your dining room for 2 hours? We proceeded to give the receipt to our server and she brought it back. We were livid and explained how embarrassing that is to do to someone. So she gave us a coupon for a free dessert. Really? A coupon that stated we needed to come back and buy an entree to get. No thanks.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, OR
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Roy's: Better than Great Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Just finished a better than great dinner at Roy’s. My wife and I are quite foodies. For our last evening & meal on the Big Island, and after much research & discussion, we settled on Roy’s. Best decision of the week. Slam Dunk, best attention to details, sauces, pairings, quality of food, service, overall food experience that we had on our trip. If you get hung up on ($$)price, the maybe try somewhere else. This is about attention to detail and quality of food. And this was first class!
Best waiter: James. App: Spring Rolls & Pot Stickers. Dinner: some type of smoked red tomato sauce with Mahi-Mahi, and my son had ribs with fire-cracker Shrimp. Phenomenal! And Chocolate Soufflé for dessert . . .unbelievable!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Dissapointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

We were desperate to get out of our resort hotel and try some local cuisine and discovered Roy's... The decor, furniture etc is very low key and dated which came as a dissapointing surprise as it has the likes of Louis Vuitton and Tiffany as neighbours..!?

We ordered the scallops and one of the fish dishes with pesto... Both meals got full marks for presentation and visual appeal, but the scallops were bland / completely tasteless..! My fish was fairly good, nothing memorable though...

If you're looking for mediocre fare in an uninteresting restaurant then this is the place for you... For all others, avoid at all costs..!


    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roy's Waikoloa Bar & Grill also viewed

Waikoloa, Kohala Coast
 

Been to Roy's Waikoloa Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roy's Waikoloa Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.