We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 49 Black Sand Beach

49 Black Sand Beach
Waikoloa, Island of Hawaii, HI
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 31 Activities in Waikoloa
Type: Adventure
Attraction details
Las Vegas
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

We went on tour of the Island of Hawaii and one of our stops was Black Sand Beach. I had never seen a black sand beach so this was an enjoyable experience for me. We were lucky to see a sea turtle sunning himself on the beach. If you are on the Big Island you won't want to miss this stop.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    3
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lawrenceburg, Tennessee
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

We loved the rocky shoreline and the color of the water was gorgeous! We saw three sea turtles, two up on the beach!! Watched a lifeguard open a coconut and he gave us the inside to eat. It was great!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waikoloa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“In Mauna Lani”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014 via mobile

This is not on the way to Volcano as someone earlier said. It's along the Kohala Coast, you enter the Mauna Lani's property and take the first round about to the third (?) exit and drive past the golf course and through a neighborhood until you see a sign on your right that says "shoreline access" and on the left a sign that says 49 Black Sands. You will come to a guard shack and ask for a beach pass, weekdays are less crowded I've noted. The road pretty much dead ends eventually in the parking lot where you find bathrooms. Follow the trail past a tennis court to the beach. The sand gets REALLY hot, and an umbrella is very useful. Snorkeling is great around the rocks on left (south) side of bay, but I usually enter more from the right. Views are beautiful, nice view of their golf course, and a pleasant walk up the hill on a marked trail past some gorgeous homes.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Stunning!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Although the turtles were "hiding" when we went. The views on this beach and the setting are definitely worth the lil drive to get to.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“weird, kind of eerie”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

The sand was black. It really was. There were some beached turtles that were roped off so you couldn't go near them. It was weird to sit on the black sand because it felt dirty. The water was pretty rough so you couldn't really go swimming.
It was just weird.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 49 Black Sand Beach also viewed

Waikoloa, Kohala Coast
 
Waikoloa, Kohala Coast
 

Been to 49 Black Sand Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 49 Black Sand Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.