We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, beautiful atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lava Lava Beach Club

Lava Lava Beach Club
69-1081 Ku'uali'i Place, Waikoloa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96738
(808) 769-5282
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 56 Restaurants in Waikoloa
Price range: $0 - $34
Cuisines: American, Hawaiian, Eclectic, Pacific Rim
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Outdoor seating, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Lava Lava Beach Club is brought to you by the same people who bring you Huggo's oceanfront restaurant in Kailua-Kona , On The Rocks, a casual beach bar in Kailua-Kona, Paradise Gourmet Catering, the Big Island leader in custom events and weddings and Grass Shack Parties & Rentals, the go-to source for all local style affordable parties.
staten island
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good food, beautiful atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

My husband and I went to Lava Lava Beach Club after searching for restaurants with good views on TripAdvisor. It is a bit off the beaten path to find, but I am glad that we did. The sunset view over the ocean was breathtaking. The drinks were very well made. I had coconut crusted mahi-mahi. It was good, but a bit dry. My husband had the burger which he claimed to be very good. They also had a singer and a hula girl which added to the ambiance.All in all, a nice place to go with decent food to witness the beautiful sunset.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,080 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    492
    362
    129
    63
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“You're paying for the view”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Positives: The view really is outstanding. It's hard not to enjoy food and drinks while gazing at the sun setting over the Pacific Ocean. The atmosphere is casual and beachy.
Negatives: Neither my husband or I particularly enjoyed our meals. It was our least favorite during our entire trip to Hawaii. It was also very overpriced for what you're getting (I had a bowl of fried rice with a few pieces of shrimp on top for close to $30).
So if you're looking for a fun place to have a few drinks and watch the sunset, I would recommend. If you're looking for a good meal, I'd say skip it.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Beachside dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

My wife proclaims this as her best meal in Hawaii. She had the steak and it was large and cooked to perfection. I had a very enjoyable seafood dish. We were entertained by a Hula dancer. The waitstaff was courteous, despite being very busy. We stayed to enjoy some drinks in the beach chairs. Waikoloa's best dinner option.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Even the view can't save it”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

First, the view - truly outstanding. The sunset is spectacular.
Unfortunately that is the only reason to even think of going here. The food is average and extremely over-priced. Be prepared to pay maximum coin for food you can get at any chain of family restaurants.
Sadly, it was also some of the worst service I have ever experienced.

Bottom line - save yourself the frustration and watch the sunset from the public beach.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great view but overpriced average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Went here with my wife and two friends. Not too busy at the time so got a great table. Most of the seating is right on the beach. The view is outstanding with a fine ocean breeze. Sunset here was the best we saw on our stay. Our server was friendly and nice. Food was good but my steak was overdone. My wife really enjoyed her fresh fish. Cost of the food was definitely higher than elsewhere we ate and that's the reason this didn't rate 4 stars. Glad we did it though because of its location and view.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lava Lava Beach Club also viewed

 

Been to Lava Lava Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lava Lava Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.