We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific experience, coming back for dessert” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lava Lava Beach Club

Lava Lava Beach Club
69-1081 Ku'uali'i Place, Waikoloa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96738
(808) 769-5282
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 56 Restaurants in Waikoloa
Price range: $0 - $34
Cuisines: American, Hawaiian, Eclectic, Pacific Rim
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Outdoor seating, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Lava Lava Beach Club is brought to you by the same people who bring you Huggo's oceanfront restaurant in Kailua-Kona , On The Rocks, a casual beach bar in Kailua-Kona, Paradise Gourmet Catering, the Big Island leader in custom events and weddings and Grass Shack Parties & Rentals, the go-to source for all local style affordable parties.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Terrific experience, coming back for dessert”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Went for a sunset dinner sitting, great creative cocktails, great outdoor setting, great appetizer and awesome entrees. I'm going to need to come back to try the desserts, they sounded terrific, and the lunch menu looked fun.

Sunset got the energy of the crowd up, and the cameras clicking, then the winds started, but quieted shortly after.

Don't miss this place, make a reservation.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,079 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    492
    362
    129
    62
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Relax & Enjoy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

We were here on a Saturday evening without reservations. We were able to get seated right away as long as we didn't mind sitting up on the deck area. We each enjoyed a beverage while watching the sunset, listening to live music, and waiting for our food to come out. The food was as good as it needed to be with the location and setup like they have. I'd go again, at least for Happy Hour.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hockley, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Relaxing on A-bay Beach with the love of your life, your favorite beverage, good food & great service by Mykel... Can't ask for”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Our last day here & we decided to try a new place to eat & relax before heading back to the airport. Lava Lava Beach Club did not disappoint. Good food & cold Kona beer on an open air veranda, with the beach 50 yards away. Add excellent service by Mykel & our last afternoon was complete. Only wish we could have stayed for the fabulous sunset here.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing View, Don't Bother Eating”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

We were pretty shocked that although the reviews are stellar, our experience was not. Yes, the view, the music and the ambiance are tough to beat. The beach was beautiful -- perfect setting. However, the food the drink did not match that perfection. The drinks were mediocre at best, the shrimp appetizer was bland and tough (what garlic & lemon?), and two of the four entrees were poor. The pineapple fried rice was bland and barely edible. We would never recommend this restaurant to anyone.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick R, Director Of Operations at Lava Lava Beach Club, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Aloha and thank you for your feedback. I am so sorry that you didn't experience what thousands of others have, which is an unforgettably wonderful meal. The recipe for the Shrimp Appetizer you mentioned was modified today based on this review and a blind tasting, for that I thank you! I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your cocktails, we create one of a kind, specialty cocktails that you can't get anywhere else, at a price you can't beat. If you wouldn't mind, please shoot me an email with a description or a name of the drink you had so I can research and adjust if needed. Once again, mahalo for your invaluable comments.

nick@lavalavabeachclub.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Best sunset Maitainon the island, not food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

We went there a few times, great setting to watch the sun go down but we had dinner there one night and server were confused, my NY strip was probably a piece of NY asphalt and my spouse fish was just ok... They at least took of the steack of the bills! But go there for appetizers and Mai tai

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick R, Director Of Operations at Lava Lava Beach Club, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Aloha and thank you for your repeat business! I am sorry that your steak was tough, NY strips are a very hearty, lean cut of meat, that really isn't known for it's tenderness. I'm glad that the management team did the right thing by adjusting your bill accordingly, as guest satisfaction is a top priority. Please accept my apologies and I hope to see you back on your next visit. Aloha!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lava Lava Beach Club also viewed

 

Been to Lava Lava Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lava Lava Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.