We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good drinks” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lava Lava Beach Club

Lava Lava Beach Club
69-1081 Ku'uali'i Place, Waikoloa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96738
(808) 769-5282
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 56 Restaurants in Waikoloa
Price range: $0 - $34
Cuisines: American, Hawaiian, Eclectic, Pacific Rim
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Outdoor seating, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Lava Lava Beach Club is brought to you by the same people who bring you Huggo's oceanfront restaurant in Kailua-Kona , On The Rocks, a casual beach bar in Kailua-Kona, Paradise Gourmet Catering, the Big Island leader in custom events and weddings and Grass Shack Parties & Rentals, the go-to source for all local style affordable parties.
Richland, Washington
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Good drinks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

We came to Lava-Lava from Hilton nearby for drinks. Drinks at the hotels are overpriced and watered down. Here though they do nice pours and they never skimp on the alcohol, even during the happy hours. so, don't waste your money on the hotel bars. Your bucks will last longer here. We did not try food, except for appetizers, and they were fine.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,075 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    490
    360
    129
    62
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

A lovely restaurant in an incredible setting with live music on some nights. Go, relax and eat great food.....

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waikoloa, Hawaii
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Lunch at Lava Lava”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

This was my second visit for lunch with the same friend. Our first visit was not impressive but we decided to give it another try. We live here so are aware of the options on-Island. First off, I have to say I don't understand the seating policy. We arrived just after noon & waited for 20 minutes. There were plenty of tables available (they were not filled even after we were seated). Our food took 30 minutes to arrive & was barely warm when served. I ordered fish & chips, my friend ordered pork quesadillas. Fish was good but not hot, fries would have been good had they been hot & the coleslaw was buried under the fries. Service was not up to par for the type of restaurant this advertises itself to be. All in all, a disappointing 2nd experience. If you go strictly for the view, it's an outstanding location right on the beach..

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenwood, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lava lava has gotten better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

I have had a few bad experiences at Lava Lava since they opened but we decided to give it another try today. We only went for cocktails during Happy Hour, but were pleasantly surprised to have a waiter who actually seemed to care that we were there. His name was Remington and he has given me renewed faith that I can bring my guests to Lava Lava.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous place to pass the afternoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

My husband and I were staying at one of the vacation clubs nearby and were looking for a place to hangout. We had lunch here one afternoon (get the amazing ice cream sandwich and extend your lunch some) and another night we stopped in after a day at the beach for the sunset and a beer. We ended up staying for dinner at the bar, owing to the very pleasant bar staff and the great company seated on either side of us.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lava Lava Beach Club also viewed

 

Been to Lava Lava Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lava Lava Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.