We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, iffy service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lava Lava Beach Club

Lava Lava Beach Club
69-1081 Ku'uali'i Place, Waikoloa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
808-769-5282
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 52 restaurants in Waikoloa
Price range: $0 - $34
Cuisines: American, Hawaiian, Eclectic, Pacific Rim
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Outdoor seating, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Nibble & NoshThe restaurant features 140 seats in an open air setting with seats on the lanai or directly outside on the beach. Drawing upon an open air ambiance, swaying coconut trees, stunning sunsets and tropical trade winds, the restaurant features “relaxed island cuisine” and a varied menu with options for light dining on fresh fish tacos and burgers as well as the Chef's creative preparations of steak, Hawaiian seafood and more upscale options. Sip & SavorNot only does the bar feature innovative beverages, further reasons to stay and enjoy a libation include tiki torches, live music and couches in the sand. Nothing really compares to wiggling your toes in the sand and watching the sun go down.The only restaurant and bar on the beach at Waikoloa Resort. Come live lava lava and you may not ever want to leave.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great location, iffy service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

I ate here 4 times last week and loved it except for my last visit last night. Their website said they were open until 11p and we went in at 9:20p and got the whole, Oh our kitchen closes at 9:30 so you can eat if you want...blah blah blah. It was the only place around so we sat at the bar and had terrible "I'm so over it" service, even tho I closed out after we ordered to let them finish their banks. Then, the staff stood right in front of us at their service well and talked crap about the place and ignored us! Super tacky ending to what had been a great week there. I will also add, we scarfed our $100 meal for two, left an undeserved 20%, and were out by 10:10p. Sorry to have kept you.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick R, General Manager at Lava Lava Beach Club, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Sorry for the confusion with our hours, our actual website states our correct hours, which are that we close at 9 PM, however, if you navigate to us through Google, the info that THEY provide is inaccurate. We are working on this today with Google to ensure that this problem gets resolved. Mahalo for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

830 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    386
    265
    106
    46
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Fantastic sunset destination”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Great view, an absolutely fantastic Mai Tai, live music, happening bar, family friendly and all right on the beach. Sit at the bar, in the restaurant, or dig your toes in the sand - it's up to you! It's maybe a bit pricey, yes, but not out of the norm for what's inside the Waikoloa area. Staff was good-natured and laid-back. It sounds silly to recommend French Fries, but the shake-em fries disappeared in a heartbeat! This wasn't in any of the guidebooks we read...maybe 'cos it's new?

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Michigan
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“OMG! The view!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

What a setting! We walked up to this place and thought "forget the food, the setting is to die for"! Located on the beach in a quaint setting.... Beautiful sunset, sand in your toes if you have a table on the sand, trees, pure heaven! We had an outside table for 6 with a beautiful view of the sunset and a ukelele player and a hula dancer within view. Could not have been more perfect. Not a 5 star restaurant for the food, but I'd give the food a solid B. Definitely worth the view/setting and the Mai Tai's were fab as well!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaska
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lovely setting, average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

I'd heard this was a great place to watch the sunset and have a drink, so stopped by for a late lunch. Overpriced hamburger was good, but nothing special, quinoa salad was terrible, beer was cold. Great view of the bay, but overpriced food.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Charges four-star prices for coffee shop service and hit and miss food.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

I don't like writing bad reviews but I felt this merited it. Great setting, right on the beach but they are charging $35+ for entres that I'd say should be around $20. Our server was late with everything and had to be asked multiple times for even the basics. All forgiveable, but not at these prices. Spent about the same at the Kamuela Provision Co. For a much superior meal. Sorry Lava Lava, you won't get my repeat business.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lava Lava Beach Club also viewed

 
Waikoloa, Kohala Coast
Waikoloa, Kohala Coast
 

Been to Lava Lava Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lava Lava Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.