We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A slice of paradise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lava Lava Beach Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Lava Lava Beach Club to your Saves list
Lava Lava Beach Club
3.5 of 5 Ranch   |   69-1081 Kuualii Pl, Waikoloa Beach Resort, Waikoloa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96738   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
New Orleans, Louisiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A slice of paradise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

We discovered Lava Lava on our first trip to The Big Island and knew we wanted to come back and stay in one of their amazing cottages. Well we did and got married there as well! The view, serenity, service, ambience and vibe were nothing short of phenomenal. Just imagine waking up to the most amazing view, strolling out to your chairs on your own porch while drinking complimentary Kona coffee, heading out to your private outdoor lava rock shower, going about your day after that...strolling upon sea turtles sunning themselves at the water's edge, renting a kayak or paddle board down the beach, etc. You come back in time for the most spectacular sunset I've ever seen to have a staff member bring you complimentary hors d'oeuvres and cocktails for you to enjoy on your porch.
Nick, Jason, Brytt and team all went above and beyond at every step of the way and made our wedding and start of our honeymoon something for the movies! Sound too good to be true? I assure you Lava Lava is amazing as I have described it!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
33
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Pearland, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Lava Lava Beach Club has the most unique accommodations we’ve ever enjoyed on the Kohala coast. We stayed in our own private cottage situated steps from the most beautiful unspoiled beach in Waikoloa. It was so nice not being in a crowded resort hotel. The cottages are definitely designed for comfort and relaxation, with the most incredible sheets you will ever sleep on. Other special amenities included a refrigerator stocked with complimentary beverages, a relaxing daybed in the front room and my favorite way to start the day …a Keurig coffee maker with an eco-friendly reusable pod with fresh ground 100% Kona coffee. There are even sweeping views of the coastline directly from the bedroom, and the private outdoor shower is definitely a unique touch not to be missed. We never even used the indoor shower. At 5:00 pm….there was a delicious appetizer and cocktails delivered to the cottage that made watching the sunset even that much more special. Before dinner, you MUST…MUST enjoy the best cocktail you will ever have…the Gilligan’s Girl .....Your welcome!
Walking along the beach we spotted what appeared to be old Hawaiian petroglyphs carved into the rocks,as well as five sea turtles sleeping on the rocks. Even they know this beach is the best place to relax and chill.
The restaurant at Lava Lava Beach Club offered many selections that incorporated the local flavors like mango, coconut and pineapple into their dishes. We ordered the fresh catch of the day, mahi-mahi, with the mango lime sauce and the coconut shrimp, which were enormous. Both dishes and the service were superb. . The staff could not have been more attentive and friendly at both the cottage as well as the restaurant.
Lava Lava Beach Club is not just a place to stay…but a place to be experienced.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
connecticut
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

First of all, this is a SMALL establishment with only four cottages. But, what great cottages and what a great location. Check-in was so casual and relaxed that it was somewhat unreal. We had rented two of the cottages for a family wedding event to be held right on the beach in front of the cottages. The manager walked us over to the first cottage showed us around, demonstrated the coffee maker. He also informed us the wines, sodas, fresh fruit and even the sarongs (called lava-lava's) were complimentary. He showed us the indoor shower and the outdoor shower and stated we probably wouldn't bother with the indoor shower because the outdoor shower (completely enclosed) was so pleasant. He was right. Trees and plants grow in the outdoor showers and the experience is heavenly. Their is a small kitchenette, a more than adequate bathroom a completely comfortable bed and a front porch to drink wine and watch the beach.

Staff from the associated restaurant next door would occasionally walk by and make sure we had everything we needed. Talk about relaxed! They would deliver the food to the front porch and made sure we had whatever we needed.

The cottages were built a couple of years ago and are maintained perfectly. Nothing was worn, faded, scratched or looked anything other than perfectly new. We even had bunch of fresh bananas hanging from our front porch. I'm not talking about the bunch you might buy at a grocery store I'm talking about the bunch a banana picker might shimmy up a tree to pick. Bananas at the top of the bunch were ripe, toward the bottom still green. Also surprising to be was that there were no bothersome insects. Anywhere!

What was nearby were sea turtles. Lots of them. During the day we could snorkel with them right off the beach and in the evening they came up on the beach to sleep. Wonderful sight. There was also live music in the evenings at the restaurant and from our porch we felt like we had premium seating. The musicians were better than average and changed each night, sometimes during the the dinner hour a new group came on. Music was heavy on the Hawaiian theme, but not in a way that got tiring at all.

My only regret was not booking a longer stay at the Lava Lava Beach Club. A few days was not enough. A week would have been wonderful.

Room Tip: The last cabin is quietest and has a productive banana tree growing in the outdoor shower. The first...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

I cannot say enough about this property. I would give it 10 stars if I could. From the prime BEACHFRONT property of the insanely gorgeous, beach chic, modern cottages (good luck getting that at the neighboring Waikoloa mega resorts) to the attentiveness of the friendly staff, the Lava Lava Beach Club surpassed every expectation. We felt like family by the time we left - and were so sad to leave that beautiful place. Daily fruit delivery, stocked fridge with cold beverages, and nightly happy hour??? We never wanted to leave. It is SO unlike staying at the nearby mega resorts because you truly feel like your spending a holiday in your very own Hawaiian cottage. And not in a tiny, overpriced hotel room thats a 10 minute walk/elevator ride to the ocean. And this is coming from someone who used to work for Starwood. You wake up in the morning, brew yourself a cup of Kona from your in-room Keurig, walk outside…and the ocean is literally steps from your door - and be sure not to disturb the sleeping family of turtles on your way to shore. At night, we loved hanging out on our porch, enjoying our daily delivered cocktails and appetizers listening to the lovely sounds of the local musicians. The food was fantastic - we weren't disappointed by a single dish, and we ate there almost exclusively apart from our sightseeing days. We loved how the servers treated us like family when they knew 'cottage 1 & 2' were dining in house. Management stopped by daily to chat with us and to address every need. Shout out to Brytt and Jason! You guys truly are the best. After staying in luxury resorts across Hawaii, I wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else when returning to Big Island. Which, I hope, is very soon!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermosa Beach, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Private, quiet, beachfront cottages. The cottages at the LAVA LAVA BEACH CLUB have held my heart hostage. Undecided if it was the sunset views, the private outdoor shower or the ALOHA that the staff surrounded me with. The second your toes hit the sand and you realize this is your home for the next few days your mind surrenders. The cottages beach themed interiors are well appointed and the bed and linens are super cozy. Everything you need you will most certainly never want to leave this seaside gem!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

I had the most wonderful 5 days at this resort right on the bay.
Relaxing, great food and cocktails from their restaurant next door, great low key wonderful service.
The second shower outdoors was fantastic!!!
Turtles on the beach enjoying the sun.
Sunsets, swimming, snorkeling and music at night.
The cottage was so comfortable with everything provided.

Great! Great! Great!
I will be back.
Thank you for such a wonderful 5 days.

Room Tip: Every cottage is in a wonderful position right on the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We decided to get married on the Big Island. Our vision was just the two of us on the beach somewhere followed by a romantic, fun and relaxing week to celebrate. We started to search for the best ceremony locations as well as resorts to stay. Having stayed at the Hilton Waikoloa the year prior we knew that experience could easily be duplicated at a number of mega resorts on the island. Then I stumbled upon a Huffington Post article about Lava Lava Beach Club and the cottages there. The photos and reviews looked incredible (almost too good to be true), but it seemed like the exact experience we were looking for. Booked it. Anticipated it. And then...BLOWN away by it.

We found not only the perfect place to stay, but the perfect place to get married. We literally got married beneath the trees half way between our cottage and the ocean and will cherish for years to come being able to return to what is now a sacred place for us. We said "I do" there and then later danced our first dance beneath the same trees with the ocean waves in almost perfect sync with the live music from next door. It really was magical and this place made it easy.

This isn't a hotel. Very different from B and B's we've stayed. This is an escape to your own little island cottage where the ocean water is 40-50 feet from your private lanai. We would wake up early to what seemed like our own beach where we would be just two of a few people on paddle boards on a glass surfaced bay watching the sunrise take over Waikoloa as turtles, fish, and manta rays glided beneath your board. Followed by breakfast on the lanai as we watched the beach slowly come alive with locals fishing and visitors snorkeling. Next up a shower in the outdoor shower (the inside one never got used) surrounded by beautiful plants, seashell kissed lava wall and the occasional gecko to keep you there just a little longer. Minus one day into Kona to finalize wedding details and one day driving to the village of Hawi we really didn't want to leave our slice of paradise.

The cottage is fun elegance. Modern yet so comfortable with premium everything. The bed was AMAZING. Linens and towels are all luxury quality. (My now wife says nothing better than Turkish towels!) The kitchenette was perfect for making simple fruit and yogurt breakfasts, coffee and tea, and the refrigerator was always kept full with water, sodas, wine, and daily surprises.

By mid-day the beach club picks up speed with the Lava Lava restaurant and bar (did we mention it's right next door to the cottages) serving lunch through dinner and everything in between at a quality and value not to be beat anywhere we've experience on the island. Live music starts around 5pm and goes until 9pm. From the cottages you get the backside view of the live music which makes the volume level from the lanai absolutely perfect. Also around 5pm exclusive cottage guest appetizers and cocktails are delivered to your lanai or placed inside if you are out and about. The proximity of the restaurant and bar added a fun atmosphere at the right times without every taking away from the relaxing and romantic experience.

Special shout outs to Brytt who coordinates all things cottages (She never turned down a request we made), Jason who is one of the restaurant managers (Not one day went by without him doing something extra for us), Marlo who with her staff cleans and replenishes the cottages (we always looked forward to talking with her and her daughter), and Scott who is one of the owners and does an amazing job of orchestrating hospitality beyond none other...from the bottle of sparkling wine waiting to the gift as we walked away. Every member of the staff always went the extra mile to create the perfect stay, the perfect meal, the perfect day, the perfect trip, the perfect experience.

This is the type of place that is so special you want to keep to yourself while you are there, but can't help telling everyone about when you leave...Cheers!

Room Tip: Would recommend the third or fourth cottage furthest away from the restaurant if available, but hone...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lava Lava Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lava Lava Beach Club

Address: 69-1081 Kuualii Pl, Waikoloa Beach Resort, Waikoloa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96738
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kohala Coast > Waikoloa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Waikoloa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lava Lava Beach Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay and Play in Style and Get Some Sand Between Your Toes! Our four contemporary Hawaiian cottages were individually designed, constructed, and decorated for the distinctive, laidback luxury lifestyle you’re looking for. Offering your own slice of the beach right on Anaeho’omalu Bay and one of the most beautiful shores of Waikoloa, you’ll be able to sleep to the sounds of the surf or spend hours swimming seconds from your doorstep.Lava Lava Beach Club is the premier destination for guests who want freedom to step from bed to the beach and the beach to the bath! Each cottage is free-standing and beachfront! It’s the newest, most individual island experience available and gives you all the comforts of a private home, the convenience of a beach front hotel, and excitement of a surf shack.These beach frills have flair! Our cottages have personality and are adorned with relaxed “New Island” décor and decorated with the vibrant colors of coconut fronds, ocean and sunsets. Artwork celebrating the water sports of Hawaii complete the look. Find your laidback luxury lifestyle at Lava Lava Beach Club. We have a feeling you’ll be back before you know it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Lava Lava Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lava Lava Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.