We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast on the 18th Green” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kings' Grille

Kings' Grille
600 Waikoloa Beach Drive, Waikoloa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96738
808 886 7800
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #41 of 58 Restaurants in Waikoloa
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Description: The Kings' Grille is located at the Kings' Course within the Waikoloa Beach Resort.
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
635 reviews 635 reviews
463 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 156 cities Reviews in 156 cities
537 helpful votes 537 helpful votes
“Breakfast on the 18th Green”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

This restaurant has been around awhile. It's situated overlooking the 18th hole on the Waikoloa Kings course. We are close neighbors at the HGVC Waikoloa and so we stopped by one morning.
This looks like the grill on a golf course. The menu is basic Hawaiian breakfast with Loco Moco and plenty of rice options vs potatoes. The rice is better because the potatoes are cooked in a nasty grease and have little flavor. My BW had the open-faced breakfast sandwich which consists of scrambled eggs, ham, and cheese over English muffins. No sauce which would have improved the sandwich. I had the omelet which was average. It came with bacon and toast. We had trouble getting the bacon extra crispy.
Our server and greeter was a fellow named Howard. Howard is fairly efficient until he gets slammed and suddenly he has eight tables and he's been left all by himself.
I asked Howard if he has any help, the answer was no. He has to work by himself all day.
Restaurant management should be aware that service suffers here with just one guy serving.
Overall this is a good place nearby and prices are reasonable.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    10
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Top Contributor
236 reviews 236 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Our visit here for lunch this time did not go very well. The service was friendly enough, but the food was not very good.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caldwell, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Nice Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We were staying at the Marriott and went to Kings' Grill for breakfast.

There were only a few patrons in the restaurant so it was nice and quiet.

The food was very good and the prices reasonable.

The service was so-so but is was a nice meal.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

My party enjoyed a very good breakfast at the Kings' Grille. Our meals were reasonably priced. The service was excellent. The grille is part of the Kings' Golf Club at Waikoloa, Hawaii.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Creston, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

Had breakfast here once. It was strange. Our server seemed distracted somehow. Two of our kids ordered the fruit plate. Our daughter is allergic to pineapple so we asked that her plate not have any. Server said no problem then delivered a plate of nothing but pineapple to our daughter and a plate of nothing but melon to our son. The description on the menu listed multiple fruits so this was a surprise. We asked for the plate of pineapple to be replaced, reminding her of the allergy problem, and the server took the plate away only to return with a plate of pineapple and cantaloupe. She also could not remember to bring coffee, milk for coffee, or refills once we finally got our coffee. Our other son ordered a side of bacon which was very slow in coming. The rest of our food was just ok. The bill arrived promptly but it was the wrong one! Good thing my husband checked or we would have paid for the next table's sandwiches. All in all, a forgettable experience. The servers and cook may just have had an off day but at the prices being charged ( not outrageous but not cheap either) we were not willing to give them another try.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kings' Grille also viewed

 

Been to Kings' Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kings' Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.