We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cocktails and whales delivered!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Sports Whale Watch Adventure

Ocean Sports Whale Watch Adventure
69-275 Waikoloa Beach Drive, Waikoloa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96738
808 960 1376
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Germantown, TN
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
45 attraction reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Cocktails and whales delivered!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

Four of us went on Ocean Sports Cocktails and Whales and it was amazing. This company is very professional yet also friendly and welcoming. It was a class act from start to finish. We saw so many whales and while the catamaran was a bit difficult to move about, every seat in the house was perfect for whale watching. Cocktails or your drink of choice was delivered so if you felt a bit unsteady, no worries. A great way to spend an afternoon. Highly recommend.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawaiiOceanSports, Marketing Consultant at Ocean Sports Whale Watch Adventure, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Aloha,
Thanks for taking the time to review the Ocean Sports Whales & Cocktails Cruise. We're really glad you got to enjoy the whales, and we appreciate your kind words about our crew and your experience aboard.
We hope to see you again on another adventure with us next time you're in our neighborhood!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    16
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Breakfast with the Whales”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

We did the Breakfast with the Whales cruise yesterday. It was perfectly planned and orchestrated by the crew at Ocean Sports. The catamaran was lovely. The staff were very friendly and seemed to really enjoy their jobs.
There was a lot of whale activity near our resort the entire time we were there. When we went out on the boat, we got an excellent view of the whales breaching, flapping their arms and tails and even got to listen to the Whale's Song with an underwater microphone.
The price is expensive but we felt like we got more than our money's worth.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawaiiOceanSports, Marketing Consultant at Ocean Sports Whale Watch Adventure, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Aloha,
Thanks for taking the time to provide us with feedback about your experiences on the Ocean Sports Breakfast with the Whales Cruise. We're really happy that you enjoyed yourself and got to see (and hear) lots of Humpbacks. We appreciate your kind words about our crew (and you're right - we really do LOVE our jobs), and we'll be sure to let them know to check out your review so they can know their efforts are appreciated.
We look forward to seeing you on another adventure with us next time you're on the Big Island!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mildura, Australia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Great crew on board the boat, very friendly and informative. Whales were spectacular and the school of dolphins that joined us was just spectacular, totally recommend

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawaiiOceanSports, Marketing Consultant at Ocean Sports Whale Watch Adventure, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Aloha,
Thanks for taking the time to provide us and the Trip Advisor community with feedback about your Ocean Sports Whale Watch Adventure. We're glad you had a good time and got some good encounters with the Humpbacks. And getting to see dolphins too...what a great bonus! We hope to see you again on another adventure with us next time you're on our side of the world! Mahalo from the Ocean Sports Crew.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Well worth the trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Excellent trip,staff very helpful,lucky to see plenty of whale activity close to boat. Would definitely recommend this trip.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawaiiOceanSports, Marketing Consultant at Ocean Sports Whale Watch Adventure, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Aloha,
Thanks for taking time to provide us with feedback about your Ocean Sports Whale Watch Cruise. We're really glad you had a good time and got to see some great whale action! We appreciate your recommendations too (as a locally owned and operated business, we rely on word-of-mouth recommendations from our guests)...
Hope to see you again on another adventure with us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elora, Canada
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Great crew, great service, and great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Okay - it didn't hurt that our "Whales and Cocktails" cruise had (in the words of all crew members on board) the best experience they've ever had on a whale watching expedition. Of course, when three whales circle around and under your boat for 15 minutes everyone is going to be impressed.

But aside from the whales themselves, I think it is worth noting that all crew members were very friendly and accommodating. We absolutely got our money's worth from the open bar (cold beers and a selection of cocktails that were mixed the way you hope a bartender will mix a drink!), and we found the informative "lecture" that took place until the whale melee started to be very interesting and entertaining.

We felt that the crew put in a great effort to make sure everyone had a fun cruise, and no one was disappointed. The boat itself was in great shape and was very pleasant to sail on.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawaiiOceanSports, Marketing Consultant at Ocean Sports Whale Watch Adventure, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Aloha,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us (and the Trip Advisor Community) with feedback about your Ocean Sports Whales & Cocktails Cruise! We remember that particular cruise - when the Humpbacks find us the object of their curiosity, it certainly makes for a memorable evening!
We appreciate all your kind words about the boat, the crew, the bartenders and the naturalist's interpretation, and we'll be certain to pass that along to our team!
We hope to see you again on another adventure with us next time you're on the island!
Mahalo from the Ocean Sports 'Ohana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocean Sports Whale Watch Adventure also viewed

 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Ocean Sports Whale Watch Adventure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Sports Whale Watch Adventure, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.